Catalyst-Extended!
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Smile » Reviews

Reviews for "Smile"

Smile
by gurdonark
Recommends (7)
Sat, Jun 24, 2006 @ 2:20 AM
Play Smile

Samples are used in:

 
teru
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 25, 2006 @ 12:56 PM
Amazing mix but when the track ends I still hear the birds, wind chimes and ambient noise outside my open window. It’s kind of freaking me out a bit. ;)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Jun 25, 2006 @ 1:18 PM
Thanks, teru! I thought that the Atlante Symphony is a wonderful piece, and was glad to find it a “remix home”.

If you like birdsong, then come take a hike with me by going here:

http://www.youtube.com/watc...
 
.
permalink   Marcos Oliva Mon, Jun 26, 2006 @ 12:17 PM
Hi Gurdonark, I’m smiling. ;-)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jun 26, 2006 @ 12:55 PM
Hi Marcos:

I am glad you are smiling. I have wanted to use your sample ever since I heard it, and I was glad to find it an interesting home.
shockshadow
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 25, 2006 @ 4:59 PM
This has a magical feel to it. Not complex, but light and unhurried. I like it. (by the way, that video is cool too. i think it would be awesome if you did a photo/video gallery like that while touring across some old nuke testing sites in New Mexico or Nevada)
:)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jun 26, 2006 @ 12:56 PM
I try to “cut against the grain” of dark ambience, and do lighter videos, but it might be fun to find some Creative Commons desert scenes and military/industrial scenes and take a darker tint on things! :)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 26, 2006 @ 12:42 AM
wow, this was great gurdo. my only complaint would be that i got so entranced in your mix of the chimes, the field recordings, and the strings that i’d just daydream off and lose track of the speaker and what’s going on.

one very cool thing about this track, is how your mix could be used to score a film. this started out making me think of something out of bridget jones diary.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jun 26, 2006 @ 12:57 PM
I think that “Atlante Symphony” should be someone’s soundtrack music, for sure! Thanks.
audiomesh
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 26, 2006 @ 3:50 AM
I stumbled across this at breakfast and it´s a nice and dreamy way to start the day.I really enjoyed the mix of bells and field recordings with orchestral sounds. great job!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jun 26, 2006 @ 12:58 PM
Thanks for the kind words. I love bells and birdsong, and love to fit them together.
p
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 30, 2006 @ 2:23 PM
!!!:) Chucks, thank you so much. So nice hearing what it was mixed into:)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Jul 8, 2006 @ 10:50 PM
What a great sample you created! I am glad you like the remix, because I am glad I found your spoken word track to use.