skip

Reviews for "Forgotten Dreams"

Forgotten Dreams
by gurdonark
Recommends (13)
Sat, Mar 29, 2008 @ 3:15 AM
 
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 29, 2008 @ 6:41 AM
Dreamy sci-fi soundscape. Like it a lot. That poem is sweet too.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 8:53 AM
Thanks, Fireproof Babies. If I could play Fripperguitar as you can, I’d no doubt have laid a languid guitar drone on top. On the other hand, the main section of the whole thing is a guitar drone, remorphed in a softsynth, so perhaps I already have.
shimoda
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 29, 2008 @ 8:44 AM
You have talked about your weird soundscapes, but this mix takes to to a place where ‘new age’, ‘industrial’ meet ambient in a different zone. While some remixes sound like remixes of compositions, this sounds like more like a composition of remixes. It’s a download, it’s a playlist, it’s a gin and tonic on the porch at dusk. Kudos!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 2:10 PM
Thanks for the kind words. I do not see myself so much as a remixter, as compared to the really talented people here, as a person who uses samples to create new songs. The distinction is fine, but it exists in my mind, anyway, and I’m glad to hear you express it in that way.
FGrn Grn
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 29, 2008 @ 9:52 AM
Really cool abstractness.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 2:10 PM
Thanks. I love non-linear narrative in song.
Lasswell
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 29, 2008 @ 11:19 AM
I really like this! The atmosphere is superb! : )
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 2:11 PM
Many thanks. Atmosphere is always my favorite thing about a song, whether ambient or traditionally melodic.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 29, 2008 @ 12:21 PM
very nice instrumental - you do paint a picture with the sounds. Also thanks for the “How I did it” - reading it adds to the appreciation of the final result.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 2:12 PM
Thanks for reading the “how I did it”, because I always enjoy writing those. I didn’t put in all the steps about taking 10 seconds of the original source and sequencing out the original 15 minute piece, which made my March really fun, as draft after draft had to be retuned and redone. I love that our mutual hobby can provide so much relaxation in search of sound.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 29, 2008 @ 6:58 PM
You have a great ear for combining sounds to create something very interesting and this is no exception.

If I may add a little something and this is really just personal taste but I would like to see a slightly more aggressive approach on some of the sounds. By that I mean get some of the sounds to have a more edgy impact so they stand out in the crowd. Maybe some more bass sounds would help or even sub bass. I’m talking generally here and not just this remix.

As I say just a personal view but not taking anything away from someone who creates very interesting pieces.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 2:16 PM
I’m grateful that you add your personal taste, and I think you’re making a good point. One of the “rules” of the remixing project which generated the source ambience is that the track be ambience rather than noise. Yet in this remix I think that a bass end which is a bit more raucous would work, or perhaps even a bass drone to follow the neurowaxx percussion section. I had hoped the brilliant orange object/sleepless industrial section which bottoms the last third of the piece would be “enough”, but I think that more heft in the form of a bass would do wonders. I have done a noise piece or two in my time, but as someone pointed out once in a review of a release of mine, my work tends not to paste anyone to their chair like “real” noise music does, but instead to have a quiet about it. This one might have roared a bit more—thanks for sharing your idea on it.
essesq
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 29, 2008 @ 7:38 PM
Great job on this one! I really appreciate the use of all the space in the stereo field. Sonically this is completely three dimensional. I like the choices you;ve made in choosing and processing these sounds because they are both blended and distinct so that the mind can travel to follow the ear and attention never drifts away. If I still had a “Star’s End” playlist to make, this one would definitely be on it. :-)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 2:21 PM
You know, “star’s end” is high praise indeed—right up there with being a “hypnos secret sounds” release or being a Webbed Hand artist. This one evolved from sequenced melodies that were more conventional, and yet it continued to change until it reached this abstraction. For some reason, I’ve always had this tremendous fondness for Sleepless/Brilliant Orange Object’s little buzzes and burrs, and sample his work often.
It was great fun to combine his work with a morph of neurowaxx’s work to try to find some balance between the rather abstract ambience of my original piece and a more robust sound to come from this mix. Thanks for your kind words—much appreciated.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 6:27 AM
Gurdonark you really stand out in a crowd.

I have decided in future to present a picture on my reviews instead of a critique.

The third section of this reminded me of an internal connecting flight i once took on prop plane after a very long & tiring international flight.

Drifting into half sleep with the drone of the props and cups and stuff clinking amongst fragments of foreign conversation.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 8:51 AM
I like your picture approach. Although I am never shy about giving my thoughts about a mix, I appreciate the problem inherent in such critiques, and word pictures have a lot to be said for them.

By coincidence, I created my own picture the evening after I finished this mix, and now use it, for the time being, as a user icon.
It’s not as abstract as it appears, as in my mind the central section is a welding torch flame.

I was on a flight on a 727 recently which was very noisy.
I forgot to bring my mp3 thing that cancels noise, rsulting in ambient music and airplane ambience merging together in delightful ways.
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 8:47 AM
Luscious and scary too. I am downloading mixes to bring on the airplane tonight, but as well done as this one is, it is too scary for night flying! I like the new tag, weirdbient, that’s awesome- is it already in the lexicon and I am under a rock?
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 8:54 AM
I have always used the term “weirdbient” to describe my ambient-related music, largely because it is not from a purist’s point of view “ambient” music in the curious “strict” genres and sub-genres. I know one French netlabel, now defunct, also used this term, but I’m not sure how much currency it has these days.

I must admit that I am far from having my own Ramones moment.
fourstones
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 12:11 PM
this one totally works bob, great job.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 2:22 PM
I really appreciate you saying that Victor. This Vuzh/C. Reiter piece has been great fun for me to remix, and to have this derivate get such positive feedback here had doubled the fun.
AT
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 6:29 PM
Very nice, you do have a great way of making people create images in their heads, I think LS comment on posting pictures is a great one, certainly would be easier for me.
A great creation.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ 4:02 PM
Thank you for the kind words. I thought LoveShadow’s idea about posting pictures so good that I have written a fair number of reviews lately based on this notion.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 1, 2008 @ 1:59 PM
I wonder what it would have sound if you muted the “distorted” drums. The soundscape that you have created with these pads and the reverbered percusiion would have been enough for my taste. I would have like to listen to the spheric sounds only, because they inspire to make an undisturbed travel through “space”.
But overall a real “spaceshuttle” soundtrack! :-)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Apr 5, 2008 @ 1:21 PM
I think you’ve made a very good point when you wonder about muting the distorted drums. Like a lot of people who like “traditional” ambient music, I tend to discount the use of traditional percussion as too “easy”. When I put drums in here, it’s to cut against this pre-conception that I bring to music that “beatless” is better (more properly, that rhythmic elements will be expressed more subtly than in traditional percussion). Theorems by an amateur non-musican such as myself are less important than the sound, though,and the sound here might work better “beatlessly” rather than worrying about “cutting against my grain” to stretch. Thanks for the review, it’s good for me to think that kind of thing through.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 5, 2008 @ 5:09 AM
Nicely done.
Geert Veneklaas
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 2, 2008 @ 5:22 PM
Nice atmosphere Robert. I like the way the glassy pad and the robotic drumpatterns represent the conflicting dimensions of timeless dreaming and dreamless timing…