COVID-19 & Us Universe Secret Mixter
skip

Reviews for "One Mass, Many Voices"

One Mass, Many Voices
by gurdonark
Recommends (7)
Sun, Mar 16, 2008 @ 8:50 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 17, 2008 @ 11:33 AM
your unique style always makes me wonder, whats next!! very laid back
this is like a soundtrack for “thinking” type scene..
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Mar 21, 2008 @ 2:44 AM
Thanks for the review. “What next” is always a function, I think, of when an idea and a melody come together. I like that this one seems a bit thoughtful.
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 18, 2008 @ 2:54 PM
This offering is a perfect example of what your description presages. Loved the vocals..almost like a Greek Chorus. Excellent vision and production too!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Mar 21, 2008 @ 2:44 AM
Thanks for the review. I liked these vocals, and wanted to make them all ooe vocal.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 19, 2008 @ 12:00 AM
this reminds me of the brief period in my youth when I was into DXing - I remember even receiving a QSL card or two.

The amazing sensation of hearing radio stations from near and far, in many different languages, all these voices saying something. Sometimes a voice was on the same frequency as some music (or close enough to interfere). Who would have thought, that in a funny way we have become some of these voices as we turn the dial from url to url.

Oh did I mention - I really like this remix? :-)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Mar 21, 2008 @ 2:46 AM
It’s funny that you say that, because shortwave radio has been on my mind a lot lately. I like the way that even before the internet, little DX listener communities created these international niches of friends—really the best precursor, other than perhaps mail art, to niche collaboration world-wide.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 20, 2008 @ 6:52 PM
the lilting backing mix, while repetitive, is a very effective backdrop to as you put it “world of interesting voices”. great idea and very well executed. there’s something that feels very sad about this. maybe it’s just the minor key of the mix. ok, you make me finally nit pick and question the abrupt ending.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Mar 21, 2008 @ 2:47 AM
I think it would have been better with a coda that switches the melody a good bit rather than the abrupt ending. Whenever I do anything non-ambient over 3 minutes, I always want to get it over with, but I agree with you it’s a bit abrupt here.