skip
Home » People » essesq » The Guitar Speaks » Reviews

Reviews for "The Guitar Speaks"

The Guitar Speaks
by essesq
Recommends (19)
Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 3:13 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

Video: we by tracy ewan
 
gurdonark
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 4:29 AM
I think a tremendous virtue of a remix is when the remix makes the listener want to use the samples remixed. Your remix accomplishes that great virtue, as I’d not heard these lovely kthugha samples before, and I think they’re really good.

The spoken word track is very good, as well, and would be fun to remix.

The technical issue with the joins at the loops does need a workaround. I think the workaround I would have selected might have been the simplistic one of just using/pasting the sample over and over, with fade in and fade out, rather than bother with true loops.
I probably would have experimented with a little multi-track pitch shifting on some guitar lines, to vary the melody a bit, and I would have put amother guitar sample in the middle as a kind of break. But on the other hand, I might have done it just how you did it.

This is a great listen—you really highlight a mixter, and you create a great spoken track in your own right.
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 4:56 AM
Thanks Gurdonark. I appreciate both your kind words and your suggestions for improvement. I am probably a person who should not sign up for the Secret Mixter because for me to do my technical homework takes me a very long time. Part of the whole loop thing here is tied to the peculiarities of Garageband, whether they are the true nature of the program or just the way I perceive them. Had I done this mix in my old program of Cubase LE I could have done things differently quite easily with the joins but the vocal production, etc might not have been the same.

And yes, my musicianship needs lots of work too. :-)

Live and learn…live and learn.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 5:00 AM
You definitely should sign up for secret mixter, because this is a really fun mix! Also, I have to look and see if you’ve posted that pella!

If I used the “should not post” rule for myself, I’d never post anything.
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 8:33 PM
I’ll post that pella in the next few days. You want it with or without the fx?
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 8:41 PM
The fx are cool, but I want it dry.
But why not post it both ways?

What fx did you use on the guitar to get that cool sound?
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 8:50 PM
The fx on the guitar were one preset on GB called “warm strings” and then some reverb and other stuff…I’d have to look. GB is weird in that there are so many presets that you just need to run a plain language search for what you need and it’s bound to be there. I will run outside the obvious, however, like using a string setting on a guitar.

The reason I asked about the fx is that the second time the spoken bit comes in there is a lot going on. The track is doubled and is staggered slightly with different fx on each track. I can render it dry for you though. Thanks for all the interest. Makes me smile :-).
Pitx
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 5:10 AM
I sing your soul
But you write my song

Pretty words. If my guitars could speak I hope that these were their words.
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 8:35 PM
Thanks Pitx. Maybe you should talk to your guitars ;-).
AIR_LOMEG
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 5:13 AM
A timeless and unique piece. beautiful in its simplicity and weirdness. i enjoyed listen to it. b.k.
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 8:36 PM
Thank you. Simplicity and weirdness, these are my codewords :-). Glad you liked it.
Tenny
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 5:32 AM
This is pure raw beauty. I love how you put it together and some of the ‘flaws’ make it more real. You did a great job of portraying emotion to the listener.
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 8:38 PM
I’m glad you said that Tenny. Coming from me it would have sounded like an excuse, but hey the listener don’t lie. The emotion was the point… I wish it could have been a bit better technically, but that wasn’t critical.

I appreciate your listening and your comments.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 6:06 AM
E. this is just so incredibly beautiful on so many levels. How you used the samples. How you thought about the samples. Your words. Your intention. The completed mix. Ahhhh. Just so, so lovely.
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 8:39 PM
Thank you SackJo. Your way with words is equally breathtaking :-).
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 10:23 AM
technical issues can be always be overcome. The fact that you persist in your creative efforts be it mixing, writing or recording ensures your soul unfolds.

It will have its way with you, you know :-)
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 8:41 PM
It’s having it’s way already but I do wish it would fold back up in the morning as I am tired of tripping over it on the way to the shower :-).
spinmeister
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 12:49 PM
There’s an emotional warmth and intimacy you’ve been able to create here that belies the scientific coldness of the underlying bits and bytes. A genuine essesq and very touching work.

p.s. after your tweet last night I did some serious googling, and was quite flabbergasted to find that indeed GB doesn’t have a basic crossfade feature and people have to fake it on split tracks with fade ins and outs respectively. Quite surprising with an otherwise very competent DAW.
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 12:54 PM
Thank you, and trust me, you weren’t half as flabbergasted as I was. It also doesn’t do vertical zoom in the editor or right clicks. There are some days I really miss my Cubase.
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 1:03 PM
I think this is my favorite ccmixter secret-mixter event to date…it seems everybody has out done themselves…
Yours too is evocative, personal and quite appealing - excellent job M’dear….
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 8:42 PM
Thank you dear Anchor. I strive to be appealing :-).
Snowflake
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 2:47 PM
this really moved me, particularly after reading your notes about the connection between musicians. it is extraordinary, especially here at ccmixter.
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 8:44 PM
Thank you Snowflake. If we cannot move each other we have nothing to give. It is what sites like this offer that other artistic opportunities do not.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 10:54 AM
amen! i’ve been so moved by all of these secret mixter remixes…awed by what is happening through all of us, together. something extraordinary i wager! xxxxx
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 8:14 AM
What beautiful and truthful intentions are contained in the words and music. An utterly enthralling piece, E. xxxx
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 8:21 AM
Thanks very much Ciggi. Were your ears burning just now because I was, honest, just thinking how I must sit down and do a marathon listen to your stuff. I do these from time to time. Be prepared for an onslaught of commentary in the next few days :-).
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 8:27 AM
How lovely. Thank you very much, E, much appreciated. I shall really look forward to that. xxxx
kthugha
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 7:15 PM
E,

I apologize for the delay in listening to this - my last two days have been stress-ridden and sorrowful. As synchronicity would have it, you have put together a piece here which I really needed to hear. Your poetry is elegant and moving, and this track, while raw, is really beautiful. This is inspiring. Thank you so much.

K
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 7:23 PM
…exhale…relief…..

I know both stress and sorrow a plenty. They are guests in my life that I wish would leave already. Thank you for your review and your beautiful playing. I had deep regret that I couldn’t use all three segments of the file and that my software lacked some basic engineering ability that I really needed to polish this rough diamond.

In this and my last secret mixter mix, I intentionally sought out samples that my assignment had reservations about. If you are inspired to do more then I feel complete. I hope you have some calmer and sunnier days ahead.
Niemandsland
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 4, 2009 @ 12:09 AM
I am guitarist and this text is very moving. warmly J├╝rgen