Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip

Reviews for "Pequennas Alas (PC/TA mix)"

Pequennas Alas (PC/TA mix)
by duckett
Recommends (11)
Fri, Mar 7, 2008 @ 6:38 PM

Samples are used in:

 
misterC
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 8, 2008 @ 10:06 AM
Nice man, I definately feel what you were feeling. Glad that my sample was put to use :) Thanks
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Mar 8, 2008 @ 10:53 AM
Thanks! It just seemed to work, so I went with it ;-)
Kwame
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 8, 2008 @ 10:33 AM
Wow! This track is beatifull (dont know if I can use that word here but you’ll understand lol), I love the synth and the drums with the shaker it reminds me of some Indian music.
Realy nice.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Mar 8, 2008 @ 10:56 AM
Thanks! Glad you like it… feel free to use that word when reviewing my tracks as much as you like ;-)
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 4:42 AM
Nice mellow track
simple with something to say also!
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 5:35 AM
Thanks! Like I said in the description, I wanted to capture a mood, before it ecaped :-)
s.c.mixer
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 7:56 AM
You certainly were right with the feeling: “Pequeñas alas de mariposa = little butterfly wings”…

The track mood is nice, I like it; specially the piano/pads line, I like the tension it builds.

The percussion is fine but I wish I could heard some breakdown or variation at some point. Also, I’d rather start with the instrumental layer instead of the percussion, and introduce it later; that’s because the percussion alone does not define the mix mood.

The vocals need a separate comment. As a native spanish speaker, I notice many off-sync places. I know; it has never been easy to remix Silvia’s pellas :)
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 10:26 AM
Thanks for listening/commenting- sorry to hear that it’s off-sync in parts, I had thought the staggered effect against the straight rhythm was forgivable, but I guess not. If you were to email me a line-by-line translation, I wouldn’t complain ;-)
It might help version 2 fall more gently on the ears!
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 12:47 PM
I’m sure Silvia will post the lyrics sooner or later, but here you have.
Not a perfect translation, you know :)

——

pequeñas alas de mariposa
desaparecen bajo mis pasos
y me devuelven trozos de ayer
a dónde irán ahora que ya no estás

pequeñas alas de mariposa
que el viento empuja hacia el olvido
y me sorprenden pensando en tí
a dónde irán ahora que ya no estás

pequeñas alas de mariposa
a dónde irán ahora que ya no estás
ahora que ya no estás

—-

little butterfly wings
dissappear under my steps
and they bring me back pieces of yesterday
where will they go now that you are not here

little butterfly wings
that the wind pushes into the oblivion
and they catch me thinking of you
where will they go now that you are not here

little butterfly wings
where will they go now that you are not here
now that you are not here

—-
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 1:58 PM
Much obliged to you, sir :-)
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Mar 14, 2008 @ 4:50 AM
hope you don’t mind - I’ve quoted this translation on the page with my treatment of the poem!
- OD
shagrugge
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 9:54 AM
Definitely has that Phil meets Tori feel. Nice work putting this arrangement together.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 10:27 AM
Thanks, glad you liked it!
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 10, 2008 @ 11:25 AM
Very beautiful atmosphere.
And the rhythmn of those percussions is perfect with the flow of the Silvia…Super “swing..”
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Mar 10, 2008 @ 12:38 PM
Thanks! I’ll probably end up posting a slightly different version using “Add Files” at some point, glad you like this one :-)
Anchor
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 13, 2008 @ 2:19 AM
a restrained and elegant beauty…
really beautiful…..
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Mar 13, 2008 @ 8:15 AM
Thanks! Three reviews now, using the word “beautiful”? I’d better not let my ego hear about this, it may run amok!
;-)
oldDog
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 14, 2008 @ 4:45 AM
I really like the atmosphere on this.
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Mar 14, 2008 @ 10:27 AM
Thanks! That’s quite the compliment, coming from someone known for their proficiency in “atmospherology” ;-)
magmavander
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 15, 2008 @ 4:00 PM
Hi duckett, I can feel the PC feel here :)
Great use of the drums and percussions, it was not that obvious to use it with this pella.
I liked a lot the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. This is very well done and enjoyable. Thanks to share!
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Mar 15, 2008 @ 4:14 PM
Thanks! I’ve still got work to do on a version that syncs up more straightforwardly with the pella, but it’ll be an “add” rather than a replacement- the feel of this wouldn’t survive well, with everything in lockstep.
vo1k1
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 17, 2008 @ 7:48 PM
Wow, your muse is exceptional. Such a feeling of “place”, Your muse is something else, I’m wondering what would have made it perfect?! (I like the PC/TA designation)
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Mar 17, 2008 @ 8:08 PM
Thanks, very nice words indeed! For me, often it seems best to get a sort of musical “polaroid” before the moment is gone- that “wow” moment when you hear something nice, and it sparks up ideas in your head :-)
SilviaO
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 18, 2008 @ 12:34 PM
Sorry for the delay, I was a little lost in these new CCMixter ;-)

I love the percussion… the sense of travel, you make very graphic the internal voyage proposed by the lyrics.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Mar 18, 2008 @ 1:57 PM
Thanks! It’s always gratifying when the original artist has nice words :-)
teru
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 2, 2008 @ 11:12 PM
Whoa. That’s really nice.
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 12:34 AM
Thanks! Though I don’t speak Spanish, my take on the feeling behind the words drove this remix’s direction.
furkosbot
.
permalink   Tue, May 13, 2008 @ 7:43 AM
i see, you like this sample. yes, i know: i’m a great shaker player. muhahaha! XD

thanks man, i like to be in your songs.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, May 13, 2008 @ 12:10 PM
Yes, it’s my favorite shaker sample, apparently ;-)
I’m sure other samples of yours will end up in future remixes…