skip

Reviews for "Set music to the moon"

Set music to the moon
by _ghost
Recommends (18)
Fri, Jun 30, 2006 @ 12:45 PM
 
Tapsa
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 30, 2006 @ 2:50 PM
Really nice remix. For my taste it is bit too loud for this style. I suppose you use some kind of mastering limiter. My suggestion is to set threshold higher for improved dynamics, and maybe bit easier on sub bass department. It is a matter of taste afterall.
I like it a lot.
 
.
permalink   Tapsa Fri, Jun 30, 2006 @ 3:17 PM
I have a habbit to cut everything out below 30:ish Hz ;)
 
.
permalink   _ghost Fri, Jun 30, 2006 @ 3:20 PM
Thanks for advice. I think you have right. This track has some mistakes in mastering and could be to loud too. I use some cheap (I mean < 25$) consumer headphones (thomson hed450) and they just love to lie;-). And sub bass department is nightmare (often nice on headhones and than distortion on speakers). but of course I must still learn a lot about mastering. How to get warm sound instead sharp an harsh…sadly theory always was quite boring to me;-)
 
.
permalink   Tapsa Sat, Jul 1, 2006 @ 5:34 AM
Recommended reading:
Har Bal mastering tutorial (Pdf-file) is focused on Waves plugins and Wavelab, but idea stays the same, whatever plugins, or DAW You use. Im learning this myself ;)
http://www.har-bal.com/ipw-...
sunbyrn
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 2, 2006 @ 9:42 PM
Simply amazing piece of work. The title fits the song well, and it kept me interested the whole time.
 
.
permalink   sunbyrn Tue, Jul 11, 2006 @ 7:39 PM
Man, after listening to this some more this past week(and right NOW), I am blown away even more…
How did I forget to mention how that ILL drum loop(a la Shadow)floored me when it came in and left just as quick???
the piece is just bananas, man…
 
.
permalink   _ghost Thu, Jul 13, 2006 @ 10:49 AM
Quote: sunbyrn ILL drum loop(a la Shadow) hehe, I see that my inspiration is quite obvious;) I always try to develop my “drum skills”. I combine “mouse - click”, drum machines programing, and midi keyboard to create drum track. Lately I started to read some “real drums” theory and it helps too….. Thanks for review
gurdonark
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 4, 2006 @ 7:20 AM
Dynamic, cinematic.

It’s like a movie without film. A celluloid-free story. A radio play :).
 
.
permalink   sim winter Wed, Jul 12, 2006 @ 5:10 PM
Just the words it was looking for.
A Mind Movie :)
SilviaO
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 30, 2006 @ 1:16 PM
Really interesting! You left me singing at your music… Let’s see if I can make an idea I have now.

Felicitaciones, _ghost.
audiomesh
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 1, 2006 @ 9:39 AM
tapsa was propaply right about the limiter but still this mix sounds awesome, cool and does not get boring for even a second.
eq-ing is great i think but a low-cut might help the mastering issue.
still coolest sounds, and creative as ….
shockshadow
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 1, 2006 @ 10:18 AM
very nice ghost. good chillin music.
:)
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 2, 2006 @ 5:46 PM
greAt
Thoth
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 12, 2006 @ 6:55 PM
Wonderful! It makes one contemplate things.
And thanks for the philharmonic resource, I didn’t know about it.
tacet
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 26, 2006 @ 6:05 PM
Excellent and obscure, as always :)

I enjoyed this very much, it’s careful crafting and it’s “shiny” keyboard improvs. Always moving, never boring, another fine composition and a worthy ed pick :)
tenda
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 29, 2006 @ 7:40 PM
Man, this is some good stuff. :) It has clear mixing and not too loud for my ears though i can hear some distortion on that pad in the beginning and the base distorts the sound at some parts later on. Maybe by dropping the limition by 1 dB would handle this problem. This track is interesting all the way to the end and has nice rhythms. Good harmony and some creative melodies. I like it and will listen to it again. 5 stars!