Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "In My Dreams (SoftSheets Mix)"

In My Dreams (SoftSheets Mix)
by PorchCat
Recommends (7)
Thu, Oct 5, 2006 @ 5:06 AM
 
BUNNIES GONE BAD
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 5, 2006 @ 7:14 AM
Woa! I was writing you a pm when I got noticed about your upload. Well,…very very very nice to listen. Very very smooth…remarkable the way you used the FXs!!!!
 
.
permalink   PorchCat Thu, Oct 5, 2006 @ 12:27 PM
As soon as I downloaded your sample pack, I knew that symphony loop had to put to use as part of an intro. :-D Thank you for the kind comments! I am glad you enjoyed the mix.

*meow*

P.S. The track must of been one heck of a distraction! :-)) You never did write me that PM.
tripledoubler
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 5, 2006 @ 1:51 PM
this is a very nice work, but one thing you could improve, I think, is the sound of the bassdrum, which could be much deeper and more hitting
 
.
permalink   PorchCat Fri, Oct 6, 2006 @ 12:10 AM
Thanks for the feedback. I understand the urge to have harder hits in a mix. I often feel that way myself. I experimented with a deeper sound to the drums and I felt they just sounded better with the lighter/snappier approach. Of course, it’s all a matter of personal taste.

*meow*
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 5, 2006 @ 6:19 PM
this is very cool. very effective coupling of the vocal tracks with the minimal beats and drones, and gurdo, your drones on this are awesome and compliment this perfect in my opinion.
 
.
permalink   PorchCat Fri, Oct 6, 2006 @ 12:12 AM
Thank you!! I usually create very dense and large mixes. I needed a change up and this was the result. Are not Gurdonark’s drones king of all drones? :-D

*meow*
teru
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 6, 2006 @ 12:40 PM
Good stuff PC. Lovely build-up. Cool beat.

One tiny nit, the hi-vocals seems to come in 4 bars early.
 
.
permalink   PorchCat Fri, Oct 6, 2006 @ 4:43 PM
Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it. The out of sync hi vocals was user error. :-P I thought I have uploaded a “corrected” version after I realized I used the out-of-sync version of the combined vocals. Guess I didn’t. :-D That’s been fixed, but because people did seem to enjoy it even with the hivox coming earlier, I left that as a secondary file.

*meow*
 
.
permalink   tacet Sat, Oct 7, 2006 @ 2:38 PM
Hey, don’t mess with the mix ;) This is most definately the “experimental” mix of In My Dreams….that is until Gurdonark does the “drone” extended mix! :)

Unfortunately you giving such open-air to the harmony (hi vocals) made me write a note to myself to sing them better next time! ;)

Nice one porchy! :D
 
.
permalink   PorchCat Thu, Jul 12, 2007 @ 1:59 AM
Nah, you did most excellently! It was wonderful. I’ve kept the “out of sync” version as the primary. Happy accidents are always the best kind.

*meow*
minimal_art
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 27, 2006 @ 2:48 PM
It is fantastic electro version
Your drums stuff is great
Thanks! I enjoyed it
 
.
permalink   PorchCat Thu, Jul 12, 2007 @ 1:58 AM
*bounces around to electro beats*

*meow*
Nickleus
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2007 @ 11:18 AM
the fixed sync is wicked! great mix! how do i add the fixed sync and not the original to my favs? 5 stars. the lyrics were cool too.
 
.
permalink   PorchCat Thu, Jul 12, 2007 @ 1:57 AM
Thanks! I’m not sure how to add the fix’d sync version to your list. However, I’ll ask if the wizards that run the place can accommodate somehow. :)