Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "The BEST Damn Heart"

The BEST Damn Heart
by Loveshadow
Recommends (39)
Mon, Mar 5, 2012 @ 6:11 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Snowflake
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 5, 2012 @ 6:20 PM
we must be meeting in the subconscious ether :)

beautiful — production, lyrics, vocal, arrangement. i feel this song was written just for me ;)

stems & pell please?
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Mar 5, 2012 @ 6:21 PM
oh, love the new avatar!
 
.
permalink   Songboy3 Mon, Mar 5, 2012 @ 8:39 PM
Yes - that new avatar is CRAZY!!!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 9:34 AM
After years of the glitter ball these will change as often as my under wear. Twice a month. !
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 9:34 AM
Working on the idea of a Gif pop video. :-)
essesq
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 5, 2012 @ 6:49 PM
Really…would you quit watching while I type this review ;-)…(I should explain for the time travellers of the future who find this review long after we are gone..there’s a picture of the artist looking at me in that little boxy thing over there).

Ok so this song…a bit sad really, perhaps it’s occupational hazard but I hate to see relationships that actually have something going for them fall apart, but I also root for everyone who tries to make it work.

I like hearing you in this lower register, and the production is what we’d hear on the radio if anyone on the radio knew what the hell they were doing.

Rock on…the Universe is listening :-).
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 9:38 AM
Really ?.. it’s not sad,everything ends ,just make it as good as it can while it lasts.

Thank the Universe for me :-)
Javolenus
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 5, 2012 @ 10:47 PM
Man, how do you do this?! The drums sound fantastic. Overall, this is the kind of production and creative realisation that absolutely hits the sweet spot. Just a massively good track and, sincerely, a pleasure to listen to.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 9:36 AM
Hey thanks, I guess I just have fun and don’t think too hard about what it should or shouldn’t be. :-)
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 2:23 AM
HQ Rock
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 9:41 AM
HQ Rock is sweeter than the Brighton kind.
Dysfunction_AL
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 9:05 AM
very impressive arrangment. Big sound and beautiful song.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 9:46 AM
Thanks for listening and your comment DA. I must go to Altrove one day.
TheDICE
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 9:15 AM
i listened to this yesterday night, was incredibile. A remarkable production. And a very nice pop song!!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 9:40 AM
Thanks, Hope it sounds like it does in my cans, sometime I wonder. :-)
 
.
permalink   KungFu Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 10:23 AM
I listened to the mp3 through some KRK Rokit 8’s and the mix sounds pretty damn good :) Well balanced and clean. Wanna upload a flac of the mix and we’ll give it a real good listen? :)
Cheers!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 11:51 AM
Ok I will do that in a day or so.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 10:43 AM
It sounds great in my sony headphones. May i ask what software or hardware you use for making those great mixes? (i know that 95% is due to your skills, Sir Loveshadow :) )
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 11:50 AM
It’s all PC based Ableton Live 8. No effects other than those supplied in the software. Lots of different VSTs of course and then a final squeeze of the master Wav in Soundforge.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 2:26 PM
Thank you very much, Loveshadow.
I’m here in ccmx to learn, this informations were useful.
KungFu
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 10:25 AM
Great track, solid production! What do you start adding to the mix first?
Cheers!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 11:47 AM
Interesting , I dont think anyone’s ever asked me that. Often I dont begin with the intention of a remix at all. I just make something. In this case it was listening to a remixer called Clams Casino who does some simple things but creates a solid feel and atmosphere. :-)
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 10:43 AM
Quite apart from the obvious all-round quality of this track, it’s no mean feat of breath control and timing to sing those verses. Perfection. [I like this version of your avatar - it’s wonderfully disconcerting!]
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 12:41 PM
Thanks for noticing. I wanted to be able sing it as full verse before I recorded it so picking the intake at the right point took some working out. I write the lyrics as I record them a line at a time. Then go back and re-sing them. It’s like a book you never what’s going to happen on the next line. :-)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 11:41 AM
Ditto to the above praise… All I can really add is DAMN this is CATCHY! Great songwriting, LS!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 12:43 PM
Going to have to remix you soon. :-)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 1:57 PM
Well, that’s something wonderful to look forward to… :D
AndreasF
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 11:44 AM
Since 2006 your music is the soundtrack to my life!! Damn those radio stations for not playing it at all.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 12:44 PM
Is it really 6 years DAMN ! :-)
 
.
permalink   AndreasF Sun, Jan 7, 2018 @ 1:00 PM
I listened to this one on the replay of a ‘famous’ german radio-show tonight. It’s definitely a hit. And it’s still a shame, that it isn’t.
Jeris
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 12:21 PM
The BEST damn mix!!!
Thanks for showing us what Ableton is capable of in the right hands too!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 12:46 PM
Thanks J. I Don’t think anything compares for vocal manipulation alone and as an all round tool.
copperhead
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 6:43 PM
This is my favorite vocal by you so far. It’s probably a combination of many things and your treatment is perfect. Radio ready hit!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 1:36 AM
Ok Thanks, I may do some like this then. :-)
 
.
permalink   copperhead Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 4:42 AM
Did you ever try the melodyne? I was just wondering the comparison to the vocal treatment you used. Thanks.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 9:09 AM
I did, I had and early non VST version that I could not get along with. I only just got how to control Antares via midi in Ableton. The few things in here are on autopilot but there seems not to be any chart track out now without full on Antares vox effects.
Nethis
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 7, 2012 @ 11:36 PM
wow nice sound
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 1:37 AM
Glad it’s workin for ya :-)
Clarence Simpson
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 6:43 AM
Really great stuff here. I’ve been glad to hear you producing in all these different styles lately. From when I first joined ccM I always knew your productions were great, but I admit that back then I had prematurely classified you as “the four-on-the-floor guy”. :)

I’ve enjoyed being proven very wrong.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 9:19 AM
I know there’s a lot of mixes to go through to find them , but some of my favourite stuff was often overlooked. Horses for Courses.:-)

http://ccmixter.org/files/L...
VickyDan
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 29, 2012 @ 7:15 AM
The “game” of the voices is amazing and of quality. You put, here the bar very high. Congratulations for this amazing job.
I am impressed ….
sleeperspaceborn
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 4, 2012 @ 1:30 AM
well, shit. this rules.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sun, Jul 8, 2012 @ 6:57 PM
makes my day when you turn up. :-)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 4, 2012 @ 4:23 AM
First let me say, You got me with the new Avatar.
Ha ha Very Funny….
What are you using on your vocals? Typical LS. Top notch productions.
You never disappoint.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sun, Jul 8, 2012 @ 6:56 PM
Wow didnt know you picked this thanks J. By Vocals do you mean the effect ones ?, if so they are just equed then down sampled and pasted back in.

All the FX , compression etc are Abletons no other plugins.
 
.
permalink   J.Lang Tue, Jul 10, 2012 @ 3:33 PM
I didn’t realize this was done in March. Never the less, it’s awesome.