Beauty of Perspective Event
skip

Reviews for "Almost Given Up"

Almost Given Up
by Loveshadow
Recommends (74)
Sat, May 15, 2010 @ 5:20 PM
 
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, May 15, 2010 @ 7:11 PM
Sublime. Truly.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 4:03 AM
Thanks, I can’t for the day when you turn around. :-)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 7:37 AM
Literally or figuratively? :-)
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 9:51 AM
Pictorially.
essesq
.
permalink   Sat, May 15, 2010 @ 7:36 PM
Very nice mix. Professor Spinmeister has done a fine job complimenting your track - so I’ll just say…yea.. like he said.

Now I think I better go do some more processing :-).
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 9:01 PM
Have to admit I didn’t quite appreciate this mix in all it’s finery until I listened to the original track Emily uploaded, which is stellar in it’s own right. This has a lot of elements (vocal fx, synth voices, etc) of my favorites amongst your back catalog, at least one of which probably landed you this Ed Pick :-). Even you should be proud of this one :-). One of your very best.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 3:42 AM
I am proud of all my babies. This one especially as the aim was to marry a lyric which is about hope to a positive sound. Almost given up means , its not over yet, not ended. There have been some great mixes of this, as was to be expected, but they are melancholic and i don’t see these words that way.

Making a remix for me is not about getting something to just fit, it’s about reflecting the sentiment of the song.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 7:13 PM
well deduced, Ms. E! :-)
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sat, May 15, 2010 @ 7:43 PM
as i was watering my tomatoes, onions and herbs in my garden today i had the very strong, clear thought (more than a few times), “i would really love it if Loveshadow mixed Inside Outside.”

is this manifesting our own reality? i just came back in, and here i’ve been gifted with this INCREDIBLE mix.

Jeff - your talent is not of this world. it is an honor to be part of your sonic palette….

i love the arrangement. love how you took the various parts and cut them, making them more meaningful, more poetic, more….

thank you.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 9:19 AM
I just realised looking at your uploaded lyrics that i missed the `wandering the galaxy’ two lines out and have copied the part over. So i will work them in and replace.

I think its great you are tasking your self with a song a week. However being true to you is more important so if they don’t come then take your time. Lyrically here there is a truth and mysticism in the words that feel personal and yet are `open ’ to interpretation. They are right up my street as they say and i challenged what i wanted to happen by what you had written.

You have the voice, musical education, ability, and sensibility in your writing to make something special.

If you deliver the rest with as much quality as you have done here there i will take a shot at them all. Style wise ( IMHO )i think i know where you should be, it will just be whether i can sonically make that happen.

Thanks for the fish
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 3:12 PM
thank you…and excellent advice that i will truly take to heart. your words fill me with courage.

i do trust you know where i should be….thank you.

i would be incredibly honored if you ‘take a shot at them all’ - gives me a reason to push and yet also be patient.

so long and thanks for all…
CLIPtar
.
permalink   Sat, May 15, 2010 @ 8:52 PM
Very nice. I’m new here, but impressed with how good the remixes are in such little time.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 3:43 AM
Nice to be your first review. There is a lot to find on here so happy hunting.
VickyDan
.
permalink   Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 3:04 AM
Very excellent job …. I am under the spell of harmony
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 3:44 AM
Spin’s right, there is magic here worked by you, Emily and airtone. It flows along in a crystal stream of sound that makes me think of petals falling like snow in a glade, and shooting stars crossing a night sky. Maybe I need another coffee? Anyway, this is lovely. xxxx (Galaxy Quest is one of my favourite films.)
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 3:48 AM
It’s a fantastic movie that just has the lot. Totally underestimated in its content. I have seen it so many times and yet still cheer when they beat the baddies. ( its all about you isn’t it ? )
Songboy3
.
permalink   Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 4:50 AM
Ahhh…another slice of ethereal grooviness from the master. It’s like Kate Bush wanted to shimmy her groove thing for our enjoyment! Nothing extreme - just a bit of head nodding creaminess! Mmmmmmm…tasty!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 4:02 AM
`It’s like Kate Bush wanted to shimmy her groove ’

I would still pay to watch that..whats the term they use Milk or something ????
 
.
permalink   Songboy3 Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 4:27 AM
LOLOL! Yer loco, Dude!!!
beckfords
.
permalink   Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 4:53 AM
really feelin this,
error404
.
permalink   Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 7:56 AM
Wonderful harmony, as always
Congratulations, very, very fine music
airtone
.
permalink   Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 12:21 PM
excellent mix, well structured and very well produced
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 3:35 PM
You’ve got it going on, LS
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, May 16, 2010 @ 5:15 PM
Smooth…and mesmerising!
colab
.
permalink   Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 8:06 AM
Very nice. Very true to both snowflake and to your style.

(I absolute love that synth “guitar” sound of yours - I wish I could remember where you used it before - one of the RWR tracks?)

Terrific track.
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 9:09 PM
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 3:33 AM
Well done it is indeed the same as EVP and it’s reincarnation.
It’s a favourite from the Korg Legacy VSTs.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 3:41 PM
Simply masterful and brilliant.
AT
.
permalink   Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 4:48 PM
Heavens this sounds good. Brilliant work. I’m not going to be able to get the Kate Bush shimmy images out of my head now.
 
.
permalink   Songboy3 Thu, May 27, 2010 @ 9:46 AM
Ooops! I done did it now! LOL!
wellman
.
permalink   Wed, May 19, 2010 @ 1:59 PM
Excellent production! Love how well you managed this soul-electronic style… Would like to learn to do music as you do :-)
timberman
.
permalink   Wed, May 19, 2010 @ 10:21 PM
Wasn’t impressed from the start. Thought it was very well done but a little bland. Have played it in the car a couple of times now and for me it’s a true grower. Can’t get it out of my head now. Honestly.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, May 20, 2010 @ 1:52 AM
Well that’s great of you to say. I still don’t know why certain tracks work and i am always surprised at the ones that do.

However there is a secret audio message mixed into this track that makes you send a cheque for a 1000 bucks to me and then has you forget all about it. I got yours this morning, so thanks again. :-)
 
.
permalink   timberman Fri, May 21, 2010 @ 1:51 PM
I”m afraid I have to send another 1000
AndreasF
.
permalink   Sat, May 22, 2010 @ 6:30 AM
Last saturday has been a good day, too!
copperhead
.
permalink   Tue, May 25, 2010 @ 2:13 PM
Smokin’ remix. The vocal really shines crisply. I especially like those little thingies you created! A+
jonpet55
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 2:03 AM
Wow! I was thinking of doing a remix of Inside Outside myself, but after hearing this one I just lost my hope ;) I don’t see how this track could be made any better; it’s simply perfect. Extremely well produced, everything just blends perfectly in.

Btw, I’ve remastered my remix of Goodbye Shadows, hopefully to the better. I would appreciate to get some new feedback you. Just some comments to help me in the right direction for my next remixes :)
salvatore_j
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 20, 2010 @ 8:09 PM
lol— before loosing your audience, I recomend planting some errors to pick over!!. always good!!
Snowflake’s VOX is terrific. soon, something gentile but faster, shorter this time!!
My best—
medicisoundsystem
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 1, 2011 @ 9:01 PM
A production both I and my wife could enjoy, thank you for that.

John