Break the Silence Event
skip

Reviews for "Big Sky (Abandoned Mix)"

Big Sky (Abandoned Mix)
by Kaer Trouz
Recommends (20)
Fri, May 16, 2008 @ 3:05 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
gurdonark
.
permalink   Fri, May 16, 2008 @ 5:02 PM
In New Mexico, not that far from the vantage point from which you can see the bats streaming at twilight from the caverns at Carlsbad, all the world is a dead sea bottom, with the former reefs in the surrounding hills. The scrub and desert plants remind one of some science fiction lost world, a Barsoom or Arrakis, except that the reminder is misplaced, because all the great desert planets evolved from the shared memory we all have of desert.

In these dried ocean-floor valleys, broken by raised dead coral ridges, there’s a kind of loping, lovely beauty that fits a certain kind of solitude like the warmest glove on the coldest day.

You drive in this desert landscape as if you lived in bleak serenity itself, a minimalist’s delight.

In the middle of nowhere, or rather in the center of everything, you come upon an oasis called Sitting Bull Falls. Around a corner you did not know existed, in a pocket canyon you could not see (or dismissed as a sun shimmer), you come into a place of flowing streams and green desert willows. In the streams, pupfish and mosquitofish thrive. Birds over-winter here. There’s a deep good here, a good that has been part of these streams and the hint of algae for ten thousand years.

When I hear the powerful deep register of your voice, recounting the drive from the urban desert of
failed relationships into the comforting landscapes of the west, it’s as if I’ve found that oasis.

This is a very creative use of the samples, and a very good understanding of what you bring to a song and how to make it work.
The way the delay fx are used on the vocal gave me pause, not because I mind fx (obviously), but because your voice can do so much that I think you can let it run more dry (though I would never run it entirely dry here). But you know what your “sound” is, and it’s far from me to pretend to tell you how to change it. Kudos to neurowaxx for a great sample, and kudos to you for making the most of it.
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Fri, May 16, 2008 @ 5:26 PM
I am completely honored to get one of your impeccably written scenes, as I have been reading them in other reviews with great admiration.
I really thought quite hard about the delay FX- it is run through a doubled track with a 3 eq, the high & low turned off and mid range almost at full. I used reverb on the main vocal track because I wanted the steely loneliness of reverb and I thought it made sense.
I tried the vox nearly dry at first and it didn’t quite convey the sense of far awayness that I wanted, but perhaps I was too heavy handed about it.
As always, a review from you is thoughtful, beautiful and leaves something on which to chew. Thank you.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Fri, May 16, 2008 @ 9:40 PM
I dig yer deep voice girl…..perfectly suited to this one. Have to differ with Gurdonark on the delay though…’cause I’m feelin’ it. Sad and lovely
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 8:30 AM
Thank you mr FB
spinmeister
.
permalink   Fri, May 16, 2008 @ 10:57 PM
wow - you sure know how to amaze. I had to listen twice to make sure it was really you! Love it, when you show off your versatility like this!

And to my speakers and ears the effect on your vocal really works. It’s subtle enough not to overpower yet creates that sense of desert canyon loneliness which Gurdonark so perfectly describes. Damn - that man can write!!!
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 8:41 AM
I must admit vodka may have been involved (from the night before, something I rarely touch) to add an extra alto to the whole picture. Whiskey and cigarettes may have been more apropo, but I don’t do that stuff either.
Anchor
.
permalink   Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 12:00 AM
Kaer
gripping lyrics…full of pathos and honestly sung, as can only be sung by someone who has experienced loss. Delicious vocal melancholy however…floating gently on the selected bed of music. Takes one right away to quiet, meditative place in the heart.
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 8:44 AM
The infant in the song will be 13 in three weeks- a strapping handsome and tall young man, a burgeoning artist himself (textural painting and drama). He won’t ever hear this one and besides right now it is unbearabley uncool that I sing, although his friends think its cool I mix.
kulimu
.
permalink   Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 12:58 AM
Difficult to write a meaningful review after Gurdonark, but this is very beautiful indeed!

About the effects, I understand what Gurdonark is saying : with such a nice voice, you can afford a drier setting (wet reverb has a kind of levelling effect on vocal quality). However, I also think you might loose some of the beauty of the track with drier settings.

So I’d say : keep the drier settings for another track and keep this one as it is! :)
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 8:45 AM
thanks K, yes hearing it again I may agree with G about the delay though. I am thinking about turning it down just a bit.
Lasswell
.
permalink   Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 10:31 AM
Beautiful work Kaer. Keeping the vocals dry wouldn’t work for me. I like the FX on the vocals. It adds ambience, depth and a sense of dreaminess. Touching lyrics as well.
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 11:23 PM
Thank you oh the double editor’s pick and talented Laswell. Mainly we all defer to your skills.
shimoda
.
permalink   Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 7:47 PM
I had meant to drop a review by on this the other night, but caught up with so many other things. Glad I came back by. Sometimes, I download something I like and don’t get around to hearing it again until it passes through my ipod or tunes. This gives me another chance to listen and delve into the spirit of steam rolling along concrete floors in parking lots not so well lit that look out on somewhere between the ocean and a desert. The flashing of lightning belies the fact that the clouds are sparse. The sparseness is just right and your feel for fleshing out yourself through this atmosphere feels so real I can almost feel the weight of your shoulders leaning into my side, pointingly heavy yet almost surreal. Keep it up Kaer, your stretching into the ethereal.
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 11:25 PM
It’s an ‘almost in the mental institution’ song. But I am still free- for now….
vo1k1
.
permalink   Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 7:51 PM
Wonderfully dramatic and cinematic. Your literary references in the comments are nice – the motivations are very informing. Related, the song really evoked images from early Jim Jarmusch films or maybe Bagdad Café, for me.
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 11:24 PM
2 of my absolute favorites JJ and BC. I hadn’t thought of that particular film in awhile- they don’t seem to be interested in making films like that anymore.
narva9
.
permalink   Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 9:44 PM
Oh I love this. It’s so pure and the word are a wonderful, angsty, angry, hopeful and poignant. There’s so much beautiful space in between.

PS - you’re lower register is simply gorgeous. I say hooray to vodka. I’m so jealous right now…I’ve always wanted to sing it down low. :)

n9
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 11:22 PM
its interesting- this is the register when I think I am the least compelling as a vocalist, but I think we are all led to believe that unless we are having one of those big blasty celine-dion-chest-beaty moments, it sucks. Thanks Narva, although honestly I still feel hungover from that vodka, 3 days later. Yuck.
 
.
permalink   narva9 Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 11:52 PM
Three days. I feel your pain. Hey at least something beautiful came out of it. Most of us just feel like crap. Oh to be young, stupid and resilient again!

ps- On behalf of all Canadians, I apologize for Celine Dion. :-)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 11:09 AM
Haven_t read the previous reviews, but all I want to say now is, you should remember what caused your “fat” voice. It seems to be “miracle medicine” that adds a wonderfull colour to your already great voice and ability to interpret extraordinary music. Sort of lost but secure feel about it overall.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 6:33 PM
Great vocal work and whilst I liked the approach to the song I would have liked to have heard a litle more variation in the arrangement sounds.

Despite my reservations this is once again a classy piece of work with oodles of feelings throughout.
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, May 21, 2008 @ 5:27 PM
Wow KT, I don’t know how this one slipped by me, but I’m sure glad I caught up finally! Powerful stuff as usual- nice to hear you go a little lower range-wise. There’s a steel behind your melancholy that reminds me a little of Aimee Mann; great work!
slumberlords
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 6, 2008 @ 3:30 PM
brilliant sample and brilliant use of this sample. all works
myvanillaworld
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 27, 2012 @ 7:29 AM
absolutely delighted to stumble upon this gorgeous track. and, i am four years late! amazing voice and lyrics.
 
.
permalink   Numeron Tue, Jul 10, 2012 @ 1:44 PM
And thanks to looking to see what tracks you have reviewed, I have now found it 4 years later too! Isn’t ccMixter just perfect?! Amazing song