Catalyst-RSVP Virtual Meetup
skip
Home » People » HaveMercy » 4chen » Reviews

Reviews for "4chen"

4chen
by HaveMercy
Recommends (15)
Sat, Dec 26, 2009 @ 6:56 AM
Play 4chen

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
essesq
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 26, 2009 @ 9:41 AM
Welcome aboard at last! Impressive debut (not that you’re a rookie or anything). I think you’ve matched the intensity of the vocal with your added elements and you used just the right amount of fx to pull it all together. Neat track and nice to see you.

…P.S. Love the avatar :-).
 
.
permalink   HaveMercy Sat, Dec 26, 2009 @ 1:00 PM
Thanks essesq. And thanks for saying that about the amount of fx, cos i thought i’ve overdone them three of four times.
Donnie Drost
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 26, 2009 @ 10:12 AM
The beginning is a bit weak, in my opinion.
But the refrain really rocks like hell!
 
.
permalink   HaveMercy Sat, Dec 26, 2009 @ 1:05 PM
Hmm, sorry about the intro then. Must admit i’m afraid i know what you mean and with that learning every day. Thanks for taking the time to listen & review.
 
.
permalink   Speck Fri, Jan 15, 2010 @ 6:52 AM
For what it’s worth I thought the intro was a highlight and a perfect set-up. Much more rewarding than just going straight to the climax.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 26, 2009 @ 11:04 AM
Great when the drums kick in! Wow! By the way, Kristin Hersh is the lead singer for The Throwing Muses — they’ve been around a while.
 
.
permalink   HaveMercy Sat, Dec 26, 2009 @ 1:08 PM
Quote: SackJo22Kristin Hersh is the lead singer for The Throwing Muses — they’ve been around a while. Don’t want to give away to much of my age, but i have a feeling i’ve heard her before The Throwing Muses era. Of course i did a brief searching on the internet and saw cd covers for the 4AD label which made the bells ring even louder but still no definite recognition.
Thanks for your review, much appreciated.
colab
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 26, 2009 @ 5:04 PM
Ehi amico mio. Very glad to see you post a track here.

I have zero issues with the intro - I love the build-up - it really helps make the transitions more powerful when they happen.

To my taste the guitars are a bit too hard - but that’s hardly a complaint as you’ve pulled it off beautifully with excellent production - crisp and clean.

Hope you had a terrific Christmas and that your family is doing well. Ciao.
 
.
permalink   HaveMercy Sun, Dec 27, 2009 @ 2:29 AM
Quote: colabEhi amico mio.
Where did you learn ‘Ehi’? You’re waaaay to international. :-) Thanks for your kind words. Downloaded some of your piano stems a long time ago but hesitating to have a go at them. Hope your family is doing as fine as mine or even better!
 
.
permalink   colab Sun, Dec 27, 2009 @ 6:27 AM
You taught me that. Sigh. You are getting old, aren’t you? :)

My advise - don’t hesitate. If I ever did that I would never upload anything. :)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 28, 2009 @ 1:53 PM
Hmmmm….., I remember a musician and remixer who had a very unique style. Not possible to compare his music with something in the existing world. A real individualist! This remix reminds me very on this person and well, at least it is the same person as I have to realize now ;-)

Welcome Mr. Mercy! Most of your remixes on another remix site have been inspiration and a reason to have a second and a third listen.

It is nice to see you here!

Happy New Year!
 
.
permalink   HaveMercy Mon, Jan 4, 2010 @ 2:32 AM
Quote: TheJoe A real individualist!
Haha, that might be a very elegant way to say something compleletly different! But i have a feeling you mean it the nice way so thanks for that.
Quote: TheJoe It is nice to see you here!
Likewise! Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to listen and review. And a very happy new year to you too.
synthetic1
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 29, 2009 @ 2:38 AM
Well I like this very much, it sounds like Peter Gabriel might have influenced some of the arrangement. I like the subtle intro because it is similar to some of Kristin’s solo work, and nicely contrasts with the “smoking” arrangement that follows.
 
.
permalink   HaveMercy Mon, Jan 4, 2010 @ 2:34 AM
Actually i had to kick Peter out, he wanted to take over completely and he ate all of my cookies. For my cookies i was too late, hopefully not for this remix. Thanks for stopping by.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 29, 2009 @ 11:50 AM
To my ears this is the musical equivalent of a timeless story told in a new, refreshing setting. The intro makes entirely sense to me as the gentle beginning of a journey building up to incredible drama and mayhem. Well conceived and pulled off!
 
.
permalink   HaveMercy Mon, Jan 4, 2010 @ 2:36 AM
Thanks a lot for a very nice review, much apreciated. And a Happy New Year by the way.
tethia
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 4, 2010 @ 2:26 AM
Sorry to be late, anyway….you did a fantastic work!
Liked it a lot, full of energy, that is what I need after eating/drinking too much panettone and spumante :-)
 
.
permalink   HaveMercy Mon, Jan 4, 2010 @ 2:47 AM
Glad you liked it Tethia, i am happy to hear the energy outburst sort of worked then. Thanks for your comment e non vedo ‘l ora for your first work/remix here.
(Niente panettone qui quest’anno, unbelievable but true).
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 15, 2010 @ 6:48 AM
Incredibly well developed. Seems to be constantly morphing and to say you’ve worked ‘with’ the vocal is very very true. Nicely done.