Ocean Dreams Music Event
skip
Home » People » CiggiBurns » Emily » Reviews

Reviews for "Emily"

Emily
by CiggiBurns
Recommends (28)
Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 6:54 AM
Play Emily
This upload might be Not Safe For Work

Samples are used in:

 
SackJo22
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 7:34 AM
You are a terrific story teller, conveying deep emotional issues with artfully phrased lines — lyrically and melodically. Love how you used Colab’s terrific bt and, as always, your voice sounds fab! (I particulary enjoyed the harmonies!) Loved listening!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 3:52 PM
A lovely review from a truly lovely lady! Thank you, SJ, you are a darling. x
panu
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 8:43 AM
Ciggi, this is some powerful & beautiful stuff. the writing is in a class by itself & melts into Co-bro’s BT seamlessly. it’s you all the way & impossible to miss who the artist is. bravo!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 3:56 PM
Crikey, Mr Moon. I could get used to this very easily. Thank you. x
colab
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 8:45 AM
Ahh now. Thank you for using my track for this - this is a beautiful addition.

I really, really like the vocals. The melody and resulting harmonies are light and beautiful, which is a great contrast to the dark words.

To my ears the final mix is a bit loud on the vocals - but that’s a pretty easy tweak.

This track gives me ideas though - so thanks for uploading the vocals separately - and thanks again for using my upload.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 4:00 PM
I’m so pleased it gets your approval, as I’d have hated to have mucked up your divine b/t. My head’s huge now. I’ll do some tweaking tomorrow - thanks for the tip. My equipment’s rather basic (no jokes, Colab. I know you’re above that!) x
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 10:05 AM
Hello Cool Colab, it’s me again. I’ve tweaked as suggested and quietened Emily down. Hope you approve of the result but if it needs more, let me know. You’re the expert and I’m here to learn.
 
.
permalink   colab Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 10:11 AM
Quote: CiggiBurnsHope you approve of the result but if it needs more, let me know. You’re the expert and I’m here to learn.
First off - what you believe to be expertise is just me being opinionated. :)

Secondly - this is absolutely terrific. Thanks for doing this. I really, really like your vocal addition, and this change just brought it over the top for me - so thanks. Means a lot.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 10:28 AM
Excellent. xx
Speck
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 9:05 AM
You paint a portrait with your words, giving a sad tinge to the electro pop backing, which could do well for so many different moods. Excellent piece. The back up vocals are a nice touch.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 4:01 PM
Thank you very much, Speck. Your review means a lot to me and I promise I won’t make any more personal comments about your outfit.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 12:36 PM
indeed a powerful and tragic story, one that replays itself in too many lives often cutting them woefully short. A reminder of the fragility of emotions and thus our humanity. Maybe the true miracle is that the complicated chemical factory in our heads ever works at all.

The vocal delivery is precious CB at her finest. What can I say? I’m a fan! And add my for the added harmony vocals. I think, it takes your work to the next level.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 4:07 PM
What a thoughtful and very special review, Spinmeister. Many, many thanks. x
oldDog
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 1:51 PM
I love the way that the sweetness of the vocals and the (great) backing track lull you, so that the impact of the subject matter is all the more disturbing.

One of your very best in my humble opinion, and your voice gets better and better.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 4:10 PM
Ohhh … Thank you, oD. You may see me walking around the house so conceited I can barely get over myself. Just trip me up. xx
logos
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 3:04 PM
What a great choice!I really like the combination.Really good adaptation.Great voice!Nice song!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 4:12 PM
Thank you, Mseq, and I’m so pleased you dropped in to listen! x
radiotimes
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 5:31 PM
Not bad not bad! Infact very good very good.

My verbally sensitive bioryhthms are still to the fore so the F word spoilt it a bit for me but I’m sure I’ll get over it!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 1:07 AM
I promise you, rt, I did actually think about you disliking the ‘f’ word turning up again but it was the only one that felt right to me in that context. However, I’m truly sorry it spoilt your listening enjoyment. Thanks for the nice review, anyway. x
opus_opium
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 23, 2009 @ 8:52 PM
You have that Musical Mojo working dig that vocal harmonies and that psychological analyistic espee-ala-dosis synopsis, i always thought of what i would be like if we were all the same not interesting but total equality…i could make melodies people could sing to! Beautiful Work C&C Music Factory!! Bravo!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 1:09 AM
Thank you very much, Chuck. And you do make beautiful music! x
J.Lang
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 6:41 AM
Beautiful vocals, great backing track and one sensational mix.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 7:41 AM
Ohhh… thank you, Jay. Now my glass isn’t just half full, it’s overflowing! xxxx
VickyDan
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 2:21 PM
A musical collaboration, which borders on perfection. the combination of two great performers …. A great lesson for me ….
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 2:25 PM
Thank you very, very much, Vicky. And I love your sweet avatar!
 
.
permalink   VickyDan Fri, Jul 24, 2009 @ 2:28 PM
Love of a dog, my great passion and tenderness ….
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 25, 2009 @ 10:00 AM
You really have a unique way to sing. Exceptional..and rare..Thanks to be there..(and thanks for the lyrics, it’s easier for me to understand what you tell)
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Jul 25, 2009 @ 10:19 AM
Many thanks, DD. I’m glad you could follow what I was saying. I am just hugely impressed that you, Vicky and Per (to name a few) are so very good at English. Unfortunately, it just makes us lazier about learning other languages! xx
 
.
permalink   ditto ditto Sat, Jul 25, 2009 @ 1:53 PM
When i was young, i had a fiancée who lived in Finland, at Helsinki (but i had met her in Brighton..do you believe it..?). So, i’m gone to see her in her town, and i’ve been very surprised that everyone, over there, spoke, or english, or french. But she told me that, if they didn’t learn our language, who is going to learn the finnish..?
Euhhh..that’s true..!
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 25, 2009 @ 6:15 PM
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jul 26, 2009 @ 4:18 AM
Oh nice one! Really enjoyed watching it. I thought the ladies in crinolines and bonnets looked as if they were illustrations from ‘Gone With The Wind’. Thanks for this. x
 
.
permalink   jobobarikan Mon, Jul 27, 2009 @ 6:44 AM
You are welcome!
I collect old postcards around my area. These cards are from Cypress Gardens. They still have the same southern belle girls in the crinolines standing around and greeting the tourists I will take a movie next time I see them.
Niemandsland
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 26, 2009 @ 2:55 AM
Very nice song. The voice is warm and soft and safe.

cordially
Jürgen
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jul 26, 2009 @ 3:03 AM
What a pleasure to get your review. I know about you through Per and I know you write beautiful music and words. x
timberman
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 27, 2009 @ 4:10 PM
Colabs bt is really ubercool. Congratulations to the choice. A bit like Sly and the family stone, Mellow yet funky. The tension between the mellow/funky, the strong lyrics and your voice is whats makes this mix so fantastic. Very creative and intelligent, Cig, for me, one of the ten best songs here this year so far.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Tue, Jul 28, 2009 @ 6:36 AM
Per, what an ubercool review! Im thrilled. And youve managed to stir up English and French hearts over on Vickys page!! You are a dark horse (or a fair one).
 
.
permalink   timberman Tue, Jul 28, 2009 @ 1:01 PM
I am always fair, Cig. In war, in art and in love. Thought you knew that.
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 28, 2009 @ 12:55 PM
At Last! i get to listen to this….1st time at computer in a week or so Mdear!
The lyric is so well conceived and well delivered too….nice melody and great harmonies!!!!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Tue, Jul 28, 2009 @ 1:11 PM
Thank you, Anchor darling, lovely to get your review. Youve got the right idea steering clear of your computer from time to time. Were all too obsessed with them. It must mean youre having a good time doing something else - I should follow your example! xxxx
TheJoe
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 9, 2009 @ 2:31 PM
I was sure that I have written a review to your remix already. What an mistake and a shame. I already had a listen to this two weeks ago or so.

I love the bt of the genius colab. His bts are sometimes for melting away.

Your vocals and lyrics do top this and if I din_t knew it better, this seems to me the original composition.

For some reason this all sounds a bit like a very modern version of “She_s leaving home” from the Beatles.
And this is by the way a very good thing for me!!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Mon, Aug 10, 2009 @ 5:48 AM
Thank you for such a terrific review, TJ. It was worth the wait! xx