Waiting Remix Event
skip
Home » People » CiggiBurns » Night Nurse » Reviews

Reviews for "Night Nurse"

panu
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 7:53 AM
Ciggi as ‘nurse perfect’ is no stretch of the imagination. just at the right time too since i have a pretty serious condition that requires immediate attention. your writing & performance are simply tops on this. i’m likin’ the mix, too. p
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 10:47 AM
Well I’m likin’ you, Mr Moon. Thank you very much for your sweet words. Now I’ll just pop this thermometer in …
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 7:55 AM
You are going to set all of us on fire with your delivery on this song. You always sound splendid but your performance on this song — the melody, your phrasing, the quality of your voice — you’re going to make all the boys call in sick just so they can be treated by you! And this is a terrific arrangement! Kudos on your first “long form” remix.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 10:49 AM
What a lovely review. More than I could’ve hoped for or deserve. You are a very special lady and friend. x
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Jul 4, 2009 @ 9:46 AM
I just have to reiterate — this song is terrific! Love your voice and your mix is awesome!!!!!! Yay Ciggi!!!!
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 8:00 AM
Brilliant Ciggi. Soft and delicate and just what a Sunday afternoon needs. Seem’s you are a multi talented contributor to CC.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 10:51 AM
Thanks, Scottie. Your review’s just what my Sunday afternoon needs!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 8:52 AM
Who cares what those mega-mixers think when something is this good. Great vocals and a backing track with the right ambience.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 10:53 AM
What a charmer. I think I might get you moved onto my private ward …
oldDog
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 10:51 AM
I can’t bask in reflected glory on this one, because it’s all Ciggi’s work, but it does mean I can review it:
sexy, witty and musical - what more could anyone want? (that’s the song and the songstress)
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 10:55 AM
Someone with a pleasant disposition who can cook? I might just try for once since you’ve given me a really fab review. xx
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 12:49 PM
lol - those lyrics might have got you an appointment with your neighborhood judge as recently as 1964. :-)

The “anything but …” message delivered in the package of your innocent vocal delivery is …eehhmmm… delightful. ;-)

On a musical level I think it’s great that you (composed and?) arranged this in the context of a remix (i.e. pre-defined musical components). Expressing one’s own creativity within a set of chosen guide-posts and boundaries lifts that creativity from being a wild flower into a beautiful garden setting. Well done and I hope there will me more!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 2:12 PM
Ahhh, Spinmeister, you’re my gentleman hero, as I hope you know. I’d smooth your brow and plump your pillows any time. xx
fourstones
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 5:10 PM
oh man, I really want to remix this pell - if I don’t it was because my life ran out of time, but know that I’m really inspired by it.

meanwhile, yea, it’s just awesome that you’re (re)using samples (and I’m not just saying that because you used mine ;) — I love how you and narva are taking existing works here and wrapping songs around them, which in turns yields a pell for us, and on an on… it’s nothing but goodness. Thanks!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 12:24 AM
Wow! Your review is nothing but goodness and more. My Monday morning just got a whole lot better. Thank you. xx (I’d love it if you did get time to remix me one day but I know you’re buried under other commitments.)
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 6:28 PM
Just a great example of what music is about.

Touching the human spirit all the way.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 12:29 AM
Thank you, rt. I hope you were wearing those shorts when listening to this (I can’t seem to forget about them …). I think Nursie needs to find a different path and you’re the one to show her the light! xx
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 7:14 AM
a whole new vista of Madame Ciggy is opened up to we the viewers (listeners) -
wonderful lyrics M’dear.
Sensitive application of technis to mix and most of all very entertaining.
The thermometer better be taken out of me mouth now, ‘lest it ‘splodes!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 10:01 AM
Thank you, darling Anchor. Yes, let me have that thermometer now because I certainly wouldn’t want you involved in any nasty accidents. xxxx
Briareus
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 5:35 PM
Gorgeous! Absolutely! Leaves me needing medical attention just listening.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 2:50 AM
Night Nurse is on her way to you right now! xx
Scomber
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 6:35 PM
Whoa….Ciggi, urgent Medivac required downunder.
The sultry tag says it all, although you could have used the tag “sponge bath” also.
S x
Nurse!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 2:52 AM
Oh no, Nursie isn’t falling for that one. You’re far too much of a handful!! It’s Matron who’s coming to deal with your needs, Scomberoonie. xx
narva9
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 10:54 PM
What a lovely naughty little song. Very much in the Cole Porter vein… not so much with the homo erotic subtext…more little kink applied by a velvet voice :-)

You go girl! n9
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 2:55 AM
Cole Porter + velvet voice … that simply bowls me over! Thank you, Narva. Don’t tell the boys that at daybreak, Day Nurse comes on duty and she is cruel. They’ll soon learn.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 10:20 AM
I have no idea what kind of time machine you have to keep slipping back into the 50s and 60s but can i book a seat, as there are a few things in my murky past i would like to sort out.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 11:54 AM
Come this way, sir, and I’ll strap you in nice and tight. Vodka and tonic?
Chuck Berglund
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 9:18 PM
I wonder if i let the Nurses here listen to this would i be get into any trouble good not so good?..their all married!…nice track..was that olddog snoring at the end?…i though you did a great job Singing/Playing/Mixing this, those “Mega Mixers” might of added abit to much and the felling of the calm and sensuality of the night might be lost abit.. I have not had a rubdown in years…Bravo Ciggi
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Wed, Jul 1, 2009 @ 6:20 AM
I think you’d get into a lot of trouble with those married nurses! But glad you enjoyed the listen. That isn’t oD at the end by the way - it’s a secret guest artist. Thanks, Chuck, for coming and visiting my nursing ward. x
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 1, 2009 @ 5:15 AM
Wow !!!
Nice Nice Mix. Vocals are So sweet on this.
Loving it.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Wed, Jul 1, 2009 @ 6:28 AM
You’re sweet, Mr J.Lang. Many, many thanks for your review. It is definitely much appreciated. x
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 2, 2009 @ 10:11 AM
Late to the party but wow. This has the modernity of Japanese nursing fetishes paired with soulful jazz twilight music a la Julie King & Kylie Smith. What a wonderful twisted thing you have created!!!!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 1:52 AM
You might be a late comer, Kaer, but I’m really pleased you dropped by. Thank you so much for your review - a bit of dark wickedness does a woman a power of good now and again! x
TheJoe
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 11:25 AM
Have heard your voice already in a view remixes, but this remix has some special magic.
A mermaid like song, for sure it has some flavor of a 40s song and for my taste also some Joni Mitchell flavor qwhich is a good thing.

Really great song!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Jul 4, 2009 @ 3:26 AM
Thank you for all those lovely compliments, TJ. I’m a woman who can never have too many and yours are truly welcome. x
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 4, 2009 @ 5:10 AM
There is a swing and a musicality in your voice absolutely irresistible..Delicious..really..!!!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Jul 4, 2009 @ 6:31 AM
How fantastic to find your review waiting in my Inbox. You’ve made my Saturday perfect. Thank you, thank you, DD! xx
timberman
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 9, 2009 @ 1:17 PM
Mmmm…Really soft and smooth with fantastic and witty lyrics to match. This song is almost like a Bond movie song. You know…midnight, stars, that beautiful russian female spy. She is giving mr. Bond some shoulder massage while slowly singing this song. Romantic and sexy at the same time. Not a bad combination….
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Thu, Jul 9, 2009 @ 2:21 PM
Here you are on my nursing ward at last! I’ve been keeping the bed by the window for you. Favouritism? You betcha. Thanks for the lovely review, Per. xx
 
.
permalink   timberman Thu, Jul 9, 2009 @ 10:16 PM
Should have checked in earlier, Love but I am on travel to distant places.
No wireless Internet on cheap french hotels…
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 14, 2009 @ 8:14 AM
http://jobobarikan.devianta...
used it

thank you
jb
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Tue, Jul 14, 2009 @ 9:17 AM
Oh excellent! Thank you. I’ll be using this to quieten down my patients when they get restless. Usually I just hit them round the head with a bed pan. xx
 
.
permalink   jobobarikan Tue, Jul 14, 2009 @ 12:00 PM
I had a night shift nurse for a roomie. I see now she is raising
a son at +60 Her parents were not
aboriginal.
MiElle
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 22, 2009 @ 5:46 AM
Bravo ! your rmx makes me think about old movies, that I love so much… With a beautiful actress, singing, dancing, so smart and so…sexy… En français: “une femme fatale”…
Poor men… I think, they can’t resist ;-)
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Wed, Jul 22, 2009 @ 11:13 AM
Merci beaucoup, MiElle. I love old films too, so am very thrilled by your sweet review. I’ve always wanted to be une femme fatale! xx