Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » DIY » Drums and programming

Drums and programming

shimoda
permalink   Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 7:32 PM
I’ve asked a few mixers out there about how they go about dealing with drums. I’m sure it’d help if I was a drummer, but I’m curious about the programming and software aspects. I have Reason 4 and Battery, though Battery is more of a host for samples. I also have FL7 and have done some beat programming with that and Reason, though not much yet.
Several of the mixes I’ve heard which have great sounding drum lines make me wonder how much looping versus/including straight bar programming is going on. Some make me think the entire stretch has been programmed and for seasoned producers who can do this with greater efficiency and speed, I feel not jealous, but a bit of wonderment. I get stuck when working with these aspects of songwriting and haven’t really explored them too much. I’ve set down several patterns in Reason, but am still on the learning curve there.

The two programs I’ve noticed specifically mentioned otherwise are BFD and Groove Agent, which spinmeister used on Unforgiven. Do these tools make setting up drum sequences and tracks smoother, easier or quicker than step programming? Is there something I am missing? Or is this just an issue of spending that much time on that aspect of production? This is not a plea to get out of investing time, just wondering if focusing in certain areas will provide what I’m looking for without pushing through the learning curves of several systems before finding one that works decently?

For example, say I want to program a pretty basic medium jazz kit, I’ve got all the samples I’d need to do this, and loops and what not, but the programming sticks me. I’m looking for opinions on Reason and Fruity for these purposes and whether I need to look into something else for this matter. I’d rather not get stuck on this and have it be the wall between my songwriting/remixing and nothing.