Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » Help » Can I get the rights myself?

Can I get the rights myself?

Haze
permalink   Thu, Apr 21, 2005 @ 6:15 AM
I was wondering about the ODB remix project because you state that I can submit a song using a sample IF it is cleared for use by me… So how can I clear a sample from an old JB’s forty-five? It is a short sample but it makes the entire track if you know what I mean.
Also, if I am able to clear it how would I submit sufficient proof along with the uploaded song so as to not have it disqualified?? Word.
admin
permalink   Thu, Apr 21, 2005 @ 6:32 AM
I’m not a lawyer however I’ll take a swing:

The short answer is: you probably won’t get anywhere if you don’t have a lawyer who specializes in securing rights.

Here’s what you have to do (at least):

you have to contact the owners of rights (this is rarely the artist) to the sound recording of the 45.

then you have to contact the owners of the rights to the SONG, completely separately from those from the sound recording.

From BOTH you need to secure the rights fo (at least) sample, remix, post to the web on a non-profit site and none of that will cover the case if you win and actually get your song on the Dash record in which case they would have to waive the rights to any royaltees. In many (most?) cases the rights holders don’t own WORLDWIDE rigths so you have to go through all this for every country the contest might have an impact.

In my experience it is rare that one entity owns all the sound recording rights, usually it’s a group of people and each group has a group of lawyers. Double that for the song/composition. So you have multiple sets of lawyers, ALL of which have to agree to ALL terms. If ANY of them don’t agree and you use the sample anyway then you are open to lawsuits from ALL them not to mention (in the US) federal criminal prosecution.

The BBC posted this:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1...