Waiting Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "beautiful paranoia"

beautiful paranoia
by urmymuse
Recommends (22)
Thu, Jul 15, 2010 @ 2:34 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Jacob Nowak
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 15, 2010 @ 2:43 PM
I was charmed from the first seconds. Refined mix. Good work
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 12:45 PM
Cheers! glad you liked.
DeBenedictis
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 15, 2010 @ 3:10 PM
As always, I think you’re awesome. I knew this song had “power ballad” potential but didn’t have the chops to do it myself. I love it. My vocals are a little buried, but it doesn’t really bother me - you seem to arrange your songs like I do, really textural, with lots of pretty layers and I often make the vocal too soft because I’m hearing it like another instrument. In this case, it’s like hearing someone talking to you as you’re falling asleep. The only thing I might suggest it maybe running my vox though a filter to make it a little brighter.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 12:42 PM
Hi Lisa, thanks again for your great pella. Glad you like my treatment. Yes i love to layer those textures! When i first heard “Sleep Lightly” i was half awake / asleep so maybe that explains my treatment of your vocal (lol) I have loaded an alternate mix with a filter and the twaeked the leves a bit to allow for extra clarity (thanks for the tip)but hopefully still got a waking dream feel to it. Thanks for listening and your review.
Anchor
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 15, 2010 @ 3:23 PM
Love it - the whole sense of drama - the intensity of feeling. Great backing music you created.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 1:35 PM
Cheers, i was looking for intensity of feeling so glad you liked.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 15, 2010 @ 6:29 PM
Great guitar work, and a great reworking of the melody by using slightly different changes. It really is a great piece, with both atmosphere and power.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 1:37 PM
Cheers Admiral. Thanks for lietening and your review.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 4:29 AM
Very tasteful Robert Smithish guitars, with an overall Cure sound to my ears. Have to agree with DeBenedicts about the vocals, though. If they could cut just a bit more; It would be perfection to the aural senses. Great song!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 1:41 PM
Thanks FPB. I was a big Cure fan back in my formative years. (Also appreciated R Smiths work with the Banshees) I have uploaded an alt mix with the vocals tweaked up a bit. Thanks for the tip.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 4:31 PM
The alternate mix is sublime! I was and am a big Cure fan. Have you ever seen the live show in Berlin from the early 2000’s? They do 3 albums in their entirety: Pornography, Disintegration, and Bloodflowers. It’s worth checking out.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 3:56 PM
Thanks for having another listen , re Berlin gig , i’ll investigate
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 7:51 AM
Ooooh, I hear “Def Lepppard” and yet there’s a certain melodic quality that’s not quite them. The moment the guitar chords came in, I went all goose-bumpy (the only way that power rock ballads can). I’m not sure how many times I’ve given a 5 thumbs up. This one is my visceral reaction to your remix. If you ever upload the guitar stems, I’d humbly try to give it a go.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 1:47 PM
Hi Ivan .. Def Leppard are from my old home town of Sheffield. They were a big noise when I was a kid … my sister claimed to know their drummer (lol) Really glad you liked - i will upload the stems. Also have done an alt mix with Lisa’s lovely vocal tweaked up a bit .
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 8:08 PM
They certainly went from ‘noise’ to Big. I look forward to your stems (sounds too formal, eh?) But I do look forward to them. In fact, I think I’ll enjoy your instrumental version just as well.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 3:58 PM
Hi Ivan I’ve uploaded the stems, enjoy!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Jul 19, 2010 @ 7:38 PM
You really are my muse, LOL (yeah, cheesy comment, I know…) Really appreciate the individual stems. BTW I discovered yet another unintended Def Leppard link: part of your song title sounds like their “Pyromania” album title.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Thu, Jul 22, 2010 @ 1:59 AM
cheers Ivan
wellman
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 11:33 AM
Great Guitar work man!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Fri, Jul 16, 2010 @ 1:48 PM
Cheers!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 2:58 AM
Stellar power ballad guitar and effective mix. Would like to hear Lisa a bit more. Good job, urmymuse.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 3:58 PM
Cheers!
debbizo
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 6:13 AM
Very effective tension between the b/t and the vocals…gives that beautiful paranoia feel, although as others have already said the vocals are a little low. I’ll make sure I listen to the alternative version.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 3:59 PM
Thanks for listening and your review.
 
.
permalink   debbizo Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 4:39 PM
The alternative is superb
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sun, Jul 18, 2010 @ 10:25 AM
Cheers, thanks for having another listen
copperhead
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 8:19 AM
Fantastic backing track to Lisa’s Pella. I would have liked to hear the vocal a bit more in front and brighter .
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 4:01 PM
Cheers, i’ve done an alt mix with lisa standing out more. Thanks for listening and reviewing
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 10:02 AM
Your guitars are powerful, beautiful, piercing and the entire mix is incredibly effective. I wanted to keep cranking up the volume. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sat, Jul 17, 2010 @ 4:02 PM
Thanks Susan, glad you liked.
timberman
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 19, 2010 @ 9:46 AM
You’re so good with your guitar sounds.Agree with FB, a lot of Cure in here, not only soundwise but also in the drive, like pushing the song forward.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Mon, Jul 19, 2010 @ 11:38 AM
Cheers! thanks for listening and your review.