skip
Home » People » Subliminal » The Heat Wave » Reviews

Reviews for "The Heat Wave"

The Heat Wave
by Subliminal
Recommends (20)
Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 12:06 PM
 
spinmeister
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 12:18 PM
Thanks for finding my little CC0 contribution and including me in your mashup. I think the heat is coming from Edwin’s smokin’ solo! Please pass on my compliments to him as well!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 1:16 PM
I have. And thanks again for the quality material.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 3:02 PM
This song is like summer — comfortably warm, until before you know you are blast with heat that knocks you off your feet. Great use of samples and original material. The smooth sax giving way to that burnin’ up guitar solo that is surprising and heavy and beautiful and just perfect! I really appreciate being part of this terrific mix! Thanks.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 9:42 AM
And thank you for your kind words and personal message.
Quantum Theor(y)
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 4:51 PM
Nice use of that guitar track… Definitely what I had in mind when I recorded it.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 9:44 AM
I am glad you like it. Your guitar track, together with Spin’s drum track set the mood for the song in which SackJo’s spoken word piece and Edwin’s lead guitar have found a home.
Scomber
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 5:35 PM
Please send Edwin down to Oz on the runout tide.
Great use of Neurowaxx’s guitar theme, and SJ, well she’s just the icing on the cake.
And spin’s gift to the world, well, I stayed up late last night working a pella around it, but I just seemed to keep on singing Hotel California (the extended intergalictic version).
Need to let it rest for a few days or Don Henley will send the boyz around.

MASTERCLASS IN REMIXING SUB
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 9:46 AM
Thank you very much, Scomber! Edwin is a great guitar player and even better composer. Unfortunately, the only time he seems to make music these days is when I beg for another solo.
panu
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 6:02 PM
perfect instrumentation, sound, pace, and mix. expected, yes, but never taken for granted. beautiful track your Sub-ness.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 9:49 AM
Thank you, Sir Moon. Expected? I always hope that people expect the worst, so things always turn out better (or less bad). ;-)
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 3:06 AM
A fabulous, hot mix into which you’ve poured the flowing, cool voice and words of SJ to float and then blend - making the whole listening experience hit a gorgeousness rating of 10+.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 9:51 AM
I have never got a 10+ before, so thank you very much for that. You’re too kind.
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 1, 2009 @ 11:50 AM
Very nice Sub - has that feeling I call “sad and happy, happy and sad” -
you’ve done a great job - sounds and vox equally supported. yes!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Jul 2, 2009 @ 7:50 AM
Thanks, Anchor. It was starting to head off into a too happy direction, so I tried to balance that with the middle part. We can’t have all that happiness in music. ;-)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 10:51 AM
You could not better have choosen this title in these (hot) days.
Great combination of samples and tell your friend Edwin, that he is a hell of guitar player!
The mood of your song has some lazy, lethargic feel, very suiting for these warm summer days. Writing this sentence the first thunder is on it_s way…
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 11:39 AM
Thanks, Joe. Send some of those thunder storms west, because we surely could use some rain to cool things down a bit.
wellman
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 10, 2009 @ 8:02 AM
Wow… IM really amazed of how well u produced this track based on pure stems.. Usually I produce by myself every sound in my tracks, but I will start working with otherĀ“s people sounds and stems.. u inspired me!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Jul 10, 2009 @ 11:59 AM
Hey Wellman, thank you very much for your kind words. It’s not that I didn’t use anything from myself, but a lot has indeed come from other people. Initially, I also used just the pellas (at least most of the time), but in time I incorporated more and more diverse sources, sometimes even creating remixes only with stuff from other people.