Break the Silence Event-extended!
skip
Home » People » Subliminal » Desert Song » Reviews

Reviews for "Desert Song"

Desert Song
by Subliminal
Recommends (23)
Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 11:24 AM
 
essesq
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 11:37 AM
Very very cool Sub. Great development. The music really works with the words it isn’t just one pasted overtop of the other.

Thanks for making me part of this. I had a couple of “useful” reviews on that sample, glad to see it really was to someone.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 9:06 AM
I like your piano piece and it deserves to get a proper treatment, for I only used the first eight bars to create a backdrop for the spoken word piece. Thanks for stopping by and your kind words.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 12:19 PM
Great work Sub.

Great balance of sounds - that intro lead atmosphere is soothing to the lugs. Sounds like the intro of a mumblecore movie (a genre of film I’m a fan of).

So you’re working with enigma these days? ;-)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 9:09 AM
Maybe I am (an) enigma…Mumblecore? I am afraid to ask…Thanks for the comment.
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 12:38 PM
Nice, subtle build under spoken word into a powerfully chill and very funky instrumental section - that’s a recipe for a great song if I’ve ever heard one :D

Very well-executed and pretty - great job!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 9:11 AM
Thank you very much!
wellman
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 1:24 PM
A very nice mix Sub… As Esseq saids, the music works in a very special way with the voice… A very nice composition indeed!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 9:12 AM
Thank you, Wellman!
Scomber
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 4:18 PM
Typical high quality track. Definitely not “sub” ;-)
Great elements and build
S
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 9:16 AM
I am just trying not to get in the way of the great samples. The next one will again have guitars in it, so stay tuned…and thanks for the continuing support.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 5:29 PM
Some great tones in this that work so well with the vocals.

The spoken word when overlaid on a backing track can sometimes sound artificial but here you have blended the two in a wonderful combination.

to the girls for providing the words.
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 5:37 PM
Credit where credit is due..this time only one girl on the words…that would be Snowflake.
 
.
permalink   radiotimes Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 7:00 PM
Well I could have sworn I heard you mumbling something about what do you do with these black notes!:O)

OOPS!! My mistake I should have said words and piano!

Nice piano by the way!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 9:45 AM
And let us not forget AT’s splendid percussion. It’s all in the great source material. Thanks for the comment!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 8:34 PM
Wow and aaah! Commitment from the first note to the telling of this story. This is the desert, at times vast and soothing, and at others sharp with unexpected beauty. I love the desert.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 9:48 AM
I am not familiar with the desert (although I am familiar with dessert). There is just too much rain here for that. But I tried to let my imagination lead me. The next one is about a heat wave. It might be of interest to you…;-) Thanks!
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 8:18 AM
This was a happy surprise. The build-up and evolution is beautifully done.

I get Scott’s enigma reference because of the flute - but they could never create rhythms like this.

I like this space you’re in - there’s distortion and noise, but it’s subtle and adds warmth to the track rather than just being harsh.

I like it a lot.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 9:54 AM
Thank you! Enigma is not completely unknown to me, but it was not an intentional reference. I just thought that the flute sound fitted AT’s percussion and Snowflake’s spoken word piece rather nicely. And there you have it. Enigma could never create rhythms like this. And me neither. But thank goodness we have AT.
 
.
permalink   AT Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 8:23 PM
Im kinda thinking thank goodness we have Subliminal to make AT sound so nice :)
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 3:15 PM
Sub…..
I have long enjoyed your ability to create atmospheric pieces, this one is no exception. Wonderful use of samples and a rich, even exotic palette of sustaining music you created.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Jun 24, 2009 @ 12:22 PM
Thanks, Anchor. Always nice to read that something of mine pleases someone of your musical taste.
AT
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 8:20 PM
This is really cool Sub—-I used to go to school with Anna Nigma—-lovely girl she was. But again really very well done—love those grungy-wah wah fxs. Thanks once again for making my offerings into something so great.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Jun 24, 2009 @ 12:25 PM
And thank you for the nice words and the even nicer rhythms. Unfortunately, the Eros Lies beats did not go well with that other tune I was (and still am) working on, but I will save them for later use.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 9:56 AM
Late am I!

Some people mentioned Enigma. Indeed it has elements of it, but the good ones. Sort of world music beat and the mentioned flute. In comparision to Enigma, yours sound more individual (never liked so much this ethno flute thing on Enigma) also regarding the ending for the e-guitar(?).
Great composition and again a great sound!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 10:06 AM
Thanks! Actually, the e-guitar in the end is Essesq’s piano through lots of guitar-y effects.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 10:10 AM
Piano,…mmmhhh?

Should I consider myself a stupid or should I say that I love surprises like these?? ;-)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 10:13 PM
If I hadn’t created this piece of music I too would have thought that it was a guitar. So, no reason to consider yourself stupid.