Sign up! Waking Dreams Secret Mixter
skip

Reviews for "Scene 2 - The Burning Of The Books"

Scene 2 - The Burning Of The ...
by Subliminal
Recommends (13)
Fri, Feb 27, 2009 @ 9:47 PM

Samples are used in:

 
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 28, 2009 @ 12:06 AM
A literary musical extravaganza!!

I liked the introduction of the heavy metal guitars and how on earth did you manage to record Anchor in the shower!!:O)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Mar 1, 2009 @ 11:21 AM
Let me tell you one thing. It’s pretty hard to hide a compressor in that shower…;-)
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 28, 2009 @ 2:22 AM
dood, this is a MIX! really outstanding blend of samples to create a dark & engaging tale.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Mar 1, 2009 @ 11:28 AM
Thanks! The original idea was in a way even darker. But when I noticed that the sample that I wanted to use had disappeared, I thought that it was probably deemed inappropiate. I remembered having Scomber’s intro still lying around in my Things To Do playlist and things went their own way from there.
ScOmBer
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 28, 2009 @ 5:44 PM
Gee thanks Sub for using my Scene 2 voiceover. Nice elements and FX with a cool rolling beat.
The CCM musical project is not canned, just sleeping temporarily while a playwright friend that knows much more about musical theater than I writes the script.
I agree with RT though, Anchor in the shower reminds me of that famous scene in Psycho except I suspect he doesn’t look too much like Janet Leigh.
Love your Anthony Perkins avatar makeover ;-)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Mar 1, 2009 @ 11:35 AM
Well, I thought let me photoshop myself into a better looking bloke. And in the meantime you have answered my question about the status of the CCM musical before I could actually ask it.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Mon, Mar 2, 2009 @ 6:28 AM
I think the actual shower scene was from the film “A Lonely Sailor” - X rated of course…
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 2, 2009 @ 6:30 AM
Sub
I love your sense of style and drama. This is a great piece of audio-storytelling and really does conjure up some visual images as well.
super work, my friend.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Mon, Mar 2, 2009 @ 8:43 AM
Thanks, Anchor. And now further with Days And Nights.
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 2, 2009 @ 2:46 PM
Hey I usedyour tune remix here
http://jobobarikan.devianta...
yowza!

jb
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Mar 3, 2009 @ 9:09 AM
That was pretty cool! Especially considering the subject matter of the song. Thanks again!
essesq
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 4, 2009 @ 10:14 AM
Sorry I’m so late to listen/review … I was afraid to ;-). Now I am looking over in sadness at my English degree (or at least that’s what I think it is, damn thing’s written in Latin), poor old poets and writers.

Nice bit of story telling here and thanks for picking my stuff up.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Mar 4, 2009 @ 10:20 AM
Thank you! And keep the stuff coming. Why not a full remix? ;-)
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Mar 4, 2009 @ 10:48 AM
I am a very fussy person. For me to do a full remix means a lot of work, way more, I suspect, than a lot of people around here have to do to get something usable. I’m working on a winter themed thing now which may have to be cut short because my snow is melting and it will be 60 degrees here this weekend. Once the mood is gone, the mood is gone :-).
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Mar 5, 2009 @ 10:30 AM
60 degrees sounds awfully hot, but it’s probably fahrenheit. ;-) Ayway, join the club. Most of the time it takes me a month before I have something half-decent, and sometimes even longer. Not that I am working 24/7 on one song, but still…very frustrating.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 7, 2009 @ 5:03 AM
Real nice use of that sample of mine, with the slow chords, they work together a treat. Enjoyed this one Sub, has some great ideas and air of intensity.

The intro of the rock guitars… ace

Nice beard by the way…
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sat, Mar 7, 2009 @ 8:46 AM
Thanks (also for the compliment on the beard…). I recently discovered that you have uploaded a new batch of tasty drum loops. I guess that one or two will end up in one of my tunes.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 16, 2009 @ 10:34 PM
what a great ride! However wouldn’t it be dangerous to play a stack of Marshall amps near the shower? :-)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Mar 17, 2009 @ 8:38 AM
That’s why I let someone else play the guitar. ;-) Thanks!
AT
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 22, 2009 @ 7:11 PM
this is really well done—-insanely good idea.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Mon, Mar 23, 2009 @ 7:33 AM
Thank you!
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Fri, May 1, 2009 @ 7:09 AM
Love the heavy distortion guitars! Excellent build-up and arrangement
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, May 1, 2009 @ 9:43 PM
Thank you very much. It’s actually mainly Virtual Guitarist 2 and a little bit from me.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, May 3, 2009 @ 5:54 AM
Virtual Guitarist is new to me. Googled for it and learned more about it, so thanks for that info! Anyway, it doesn’t take away my original statement that the distortion guitar part rocks! Nicely done by you in any case.