Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip
Home » People » State Shirt » Gaslighting » Reviews

Reviews for "Gaslighting"

Gaslighting
by State Shirt
Recommends (36)
Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 2:39 AM

Samples are used in:

 
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 3:09 AM
Hauntingly beautiful, sounds like The Crystal Method hooked up with Tangrine Dream and Depeche Mode! It’s awesomesauce.
 
.
permalink   State Shirt Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 10:54 AM
Wow I didn’t see the Depeche Mode connection but I totally hear it now. Thanks for the kind words! :)
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 4:12 AM
That’s a nice, propulsive melody and beat to fit the vocal,
7OOP3D
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 4:33 AM
Well… a cool retro 80s feeling is comming up here.
Ethan, this is an awesome perfect one!

Stems please.

 
.
permalink   State Shirt Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 10:56 AM
Glad you dig it! I’ll try to get some stems going for this one. All of my vocals were recorded with a ton of delay so it might not be the best for remixing, but I’ll see what I can do! :)
Doxent Zsigmond
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 4:43 AM
Very nice laidback 80s to 90s kind of sound. Downloaded.
 
.
permalink   State Shirt Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 10:53 AM
Glad you like it! I’ve been in an 80s mood lately :)
keytronic
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 5:12 AM
aaaaaaahhhhhh….just wanted to start writing the review…and at about the 2/3 of the track you placed such a wonderful moment…..

Overall a very original track - brilliant use of the stems
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 6:20 AM
No thinking involved. Finger is already on autopilot over to the download button. Stellar.
 
.
permalink   State Shirt Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 10:52 AM
Thanks man, glad you like it :) :)
Clarence Simpson
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 8:32 AM
Great, thick production with meticulous usage of those extra vocals. Very nice work!
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 8:55 AM
Sometimes you forget something is a remix and you just settle for it being a great song. This is that.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 11:52 AM
Fantastic work. Ed picked. Once again, reminded of your talent. (you’re in LA too, right?)
 
.
permalink   State Shirt Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 4:18 PM
Thanks so much!! :) :) Yes I’m in LA… just spent this afternoon in traffic!
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 12:27 PM
Outstanding. That is all. :)
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 1:01 PM
Just wow! Epic!

I love how you’ve wrangled rather different pieces of the raw materials into a cohesive musical context and made your own thing out of it.

The lyrics put this a bit into territory of very disturbing/depressing scenes painted in pretty and catchy songs (Boomtown Rats and Foster the People came to mind).

From songwriting and vocal delivery to (re-)mixing and production values, this is a sonic tour-de-force of superior talent, skills and craftsmanship.

Thanks for this great musical present, because that’s what it feels like!
 
.
permalink   State Shirt Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 4:19 PM
Thanks very much, that means a lot. :)
 
.
permalink   State Shirt Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 4:26 PM
And of course thanks for the great source material which is the foundation and inspiration for the whole track! :)
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 2:55 PM
i LOVE your voice. delicate and strong at the same time. the vocal parts and harmonies and their placement in the stereo field is nothing less than brilliant. the editing and inclusion of the female vocals throughout is magical and Patti in the chorus gives this track a Dido feeling. and of course the musical arrangement and treatment is perfect. the entire bridge section is absolutely amazing and the transition back to the chorus. wow. i’m honored to be part of that last chorus! so happy Sackjo gave this an Ed Pick. amazing work. your vocal stems oh please? :)
 
.
permalink   State Shirt Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 4:35 PM
I appreciate the kind words! Started with some great source material… And Patti’s lyrics and delivery really inspired my vocal parts. The ed pick is awesome :) Will try to get the vocal stems up here soon!
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 16, 2014 @ 6:31 PM
I heard Dido in here too. Man this is the shit. A Haunting, compulsive sound trip.