Firefly Secret Mixter Remixes!
skip

Reviews for "She Will Rise Above"

She Will Rise Above
by spinmeister
Recommends (25)
Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 3:05 AM
 
Scomber
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 3:24 AM
Great tune Spin.
Laid back pop at its best with some tasty electronica.
Good to hear you back mixing up a storm.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 10:11 AM
Thanks my fine finned friend! One of the cool things about ccM is, that even when you upload in the middle of the night (3am) your local time, there’s a good chance that one of your musical friends is still/already awake. Your comment showed up within minutes of my upload!
drive on the wayside
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 3:31 AM
WOO! Now that is coooool. That intro is killer. You’ve really taken the electronica vibe to the next level.

The breakdown at 1:52 is SWEET! I am honored my friend. Love it!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 10:22 AM
Thanks J! I hope you’ve read some of the compliments about your lyrics in the other comments by now. Well deserved and coming from some very fine lyricists/poets amongst our midst. And please give a big “thank you” hug to Natalie for her lovely vocal performance! I envisioned her singing this with one of those classic old microphones under a solo spotlight in a long sparkly gown on stage at “ Milliways”.
+++ A.M. mews by MommaLuv +++
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 5:13 AM
excellent lyrics!and absolutely Hot instrumental.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 10:30 AM
thanks for your kind words A.M.m.! The lyrics and melody are written by my good musical friend Jeremy Osborn (the driving force behind Wayside Drive), who is a great singer in his own right, but on this most excellent song they are delivered by his lovely and talented cohort in Wayside Drive (and beyond).
colab
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 5:37 AM
Hey now - this is an utterly pleasant treat. I think everything you’ve done here (instruments, production techniques) works together to support the vocals - and it works wonders.

I like.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 10:36 AM
Thanks Colab! You may not realize it, but your work has been influential to me. So your kind words are much appreciated.
panu
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 6:27 AM
REALLY good work, oh spinning one. the writing & pell are super good as is the finely-crafted BT. this ol’ country boy is pickin’ up a strong I-85 truckstop vibe. i know when i pull in with this blastin’ on the subs, they’re gonna say: who dat is on da radio?
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 10:43 AM
Thanks so much for your kind words, P.M.! I wrote a bit of an explanation for the source of the song/lyrics in my response to a previous comment. The truckstop could maybe be the one called Milliways, where Marvin the paranoid android serves as spaceship parking attendant? :-)
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 7:06 AM
Well this is lovely, spinmeister, and perfect for chilling out at the weekend. I don’t know about I-85 … I’d play it in an open top car, wind whipping through my hair, heading down a country lane to Lulworth Cove.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 10:49 AM
Thanks so much for the flattery, Ms. CB! Driving an open top car to this place sounds like a fine idea indeed!
And the good thing about driving on a narrow country lane is, that it doesn’t matter so much, if you’re used to diving on the other side of the road :-)
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 1:11 PM
How lovely that you’ve gone to the trouble of looking it up! It’s even more beautiful in reality. Maybe we should organise a ccMIXTER party down there? x
Anchor
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 7:35 AM
Very Nice - love the free and easy feel - gets ya’ hooked from the start. Loved it.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 10:53 AM
Thanks A.M.! Sometimes I wish more things were free and easy ;-)
Subliminal
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 8:35 AM
It’s not that often that we can enjoy something new from you (ah, I see I have missed one), but when it happens it’s always very good.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 10:57 AM
Thanks, oh sublime one! Yes, it always takes me quite a while to develop and execute the concept for a remix. Endless hours of jamming along to the vocals - in this case I even messed with the song structure a bit.
essesq
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 10:12 AM
Nice work Mr. Spin. I like the edge on this one…are you growing a beard now too :-). And I can totally relate to those lyrics. Thanks for bringing the track more closely to my attention. I’ll have to drop the Osbornes a note … let’s just hope they don’t start a reality TV show :-).
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 11:06 AM
Thanks Ms. E.! Yes, the Osborn’s did a mighty fine job on the songwriting (and the original version is great!) - and it sure was a pleasure to get my hands on a vocal track by the other half of the team, after having had the privilege to work with J. on so many occasions.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 7, 2009 @ 4:59 AM
Poptastic (I’m aware that’s no longer a cool word to throw around these days, but I’m ok with it ;-)

LOVE the gating in the middle section, great clean sharp synth and rhythm slice up.

As always, I enjoy the melodies you bring into your tracks, they make sense and sound great.

Well done squire, really got into this tune… Poptastic. There… i said it again.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, Mar 7, 2009 @ 9:33 AM
Thanks SA! It’s always ok with me to throw around formerly cool words. :-)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 11, 2009 @ 3:39 PM
ha, that intro carried me back to the days of Thriller…. :)

nice vintage techno 80’s sound here, and man, those vocals (especially in the chorus) remind me of somebody really familiar…natalie merchant!
anyways, great stuff. all the parts seemed made to fit.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Mar 11, 2009 @ 4:55 PM
Thanks MCJitB! … hehe - guilty as charged! It was a good decade for synths and the beginning of my love affair with those strangely addictive machines.
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Wed, Mar 11, 2009 @ 8:22 PM
Natalie Merchant! that’s who that vocal track reminds me of. damn if that’s not her double singing the chorus… :O
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Mar 11, 2009 @ 9:26 PM
one good Natalie deserves another :-)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 6, 2009 @ 3:50 AM
Spin!

What can I say? I am a bit puzzled not having reviewed this great opus. 3 months delay,…shame on me!!

Scott Altham already said it: this is dangtastic pop music. I don_t know if it was intended, but your bass sound and line are total George Duke style!! You should have a listen on his tracks around 82-83 and you will see what I mean.

Pop music is melody, chords, a good groove and a solo. There is all in here.

Your remix has a 80s flow but very cool wrapped into a 21st century dress. This is one of your top works.

Recognizing now that there are some more uploads from you that will be reviewd soon, as I am as mostly on the run;-).
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, Jun 6, 2009 @ 6:51 AM
What a wonderful start to my weekend! Thank you so much for your kind review, TJ! And thank you for the George Duke comparison, because I know how high your regard for George Duke is! :-) I hope that “on the run” means that life is going well for you!
Jacob Nowak
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 11, 2010 @ 2:12 PM
Mr. Spin. I am Impressed. Very good synh works. Great vibes. Stimulating:)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sun, Jul 11, 2010 @ 2:18 PM
Thanks for your kind words, SV! I love my synths! :-)