Perspectives Playlist at Art Gallery Oct 12
skip
Home » People » Speck » Creep Beat » Reviews

Reviews for "Creep Beat"

Creep Beat
by Speck
Recommends (22)
Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 6:15 AM
 
timberman
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 6:52 AM
There was a period when I often listened to your mixes in the car in rush hour traffic and I remember how I thought they added a very interesting surrealistic dimension to getting home from work. This is one of those mixes that would be perfect in the car. As a bonus it also makes me happy.
septahelix
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 8:02 AM
i was hooked from the beginning. i liked how the different instruments came in. very calculated, yet spontaneous, which is really hard to do in a studio setting.
 
.
permalink   septahelix Wed, Sep 21, 2011 @ 4:36 PM
creep beat is actually the name of a sample: http://ccmixter.org/files/l...

i thought you used it, hence the title. interesting coincidence.
 
.
permalink   Speck Thu, Sep 22, 2011 @ 5:15 AM
Did not know that, like that sample though. The beats here are all from djrchive’s .zip as well as a couple synth loops he called creepy, ergo…
 
.
permalink   septahelix Thu, Sep 22, 2011 @ 9:28 AM
just a wild coincidence. like the time a friend and i said Al Roker at the same time out of nowhere. what are the odds?
Hans Atom
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 8:10 AM
I am always in awe of these totally “Kitsch”-free and abstract and beautiful Speckisms and love your work! And it feels great to be a part of your royal orchestra! Thanks for that!
 
.
permalink   Speck Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 3:05 PM
Adding your piano was when I went ‘oh yeah, now it’s good’. So thank you.
Zep Hurme
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 8:18 AM
Very gripping painting. I second to what Septa wrote above.
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 10:43 AM
Yes. Makes me happy. Very good way to put it. Makes me very happy to listen to.

This is just fantastic. You’ve hit that sweet spot of restraint/going balls-out, and it works miracles.

Thanks for sharing.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 12:20 PM
Part way through I thought of the Pink Panther… then I had this visual of a creepy Pink Panther slithering about… Made me smile. Thanks. I like this a lot.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 20, 2011 @ 8:15 PM
I really enjoyed the music. I also really enjoyed reading everyone’s reviews. Accolades are all well deserved.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 21, 2011 @ 7:06 AM
This is an interesting piece, I thought it would be solely focused on the trumpets, but then it breaks away from them entirely. I can see why you include “beat” in the title, though, as underneath it all it stays unrelenting until the last bar.
annabloom
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 25, 2011 @ 3:35 PM
sounds like a good movie.
djolliej
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 27, 2011 @ 1:17 PM
Listening to this is like a bad dream that I’m happy to wake up from. Excellent!