Mixing Mode
skip
Home » People » Speck » I Need Something » Reviews

Reviews for "I Need Something"

I Need Something
by Speck
Recommends (20)
Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 4:24 AM
 
debbizo
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 4:34 AM
Most unusual and unique! Thanks for using Weird Midi.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 5:11 AM
Cool. You’ve added this to your growing collection of intricate and exotic soundscapes. This one sounds somewhat like reports of an invading army of robots on the short wave radio. :)
 
.
permalink   Speck Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 5:40 AM
I was going for that feeling of lack of passion I thought you were singing about with such great passion. The dichotomy of what you were saying and how you were saying it. So, ‘robotic’ sounds but really rather expressive. By the way, clearly you were singing as another, your music always belies your lyric “I never feel a thing”.
 
.
permalink   Admiral Bob Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 5:54 AM
You’ve absolutely understood the intended dichotomy of my vocal. Wow, I’m very impressed, and I understand your work as a much more profound thing now.
panu
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 5:46 AM
proving that it’s possible to freak out & still emerge okay. the indistinct tempo is one of the best hooks i’ve heard in a long time. yup!
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 6:07 AM


The two quiet-ish sections that start about 1/4 into the track is just about the best music I’ve heard.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 9:26 AM
Wow… I needed a good industrial pounding today. Reminds me of my job: Metal Works; When all the machines are blasting at the same time. Fantastic madness, this song! Thank you for using my samples :)
Darkroom
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 10:20 AM
Beautifully chaotic!
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 10:42 AM
a musical/psychological cry in the wilderness.
excellent addition to your arsenal of pieces with unique verve.
Donnie Drost
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 11:42 AM
Hmm, cannot write a review for this weird, cool stuff. I guess, I join to Darkrooms “Beautifully chaotic”.
timberman
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 1:55 PM
So impressed! This organized chaos is brilliant.
The big mistery with your composing for me, is how you manage to make music as experimental as this and still it’s catchy and quite accessible and the production is always top notch. I could easily play this on my mp3-thing on a beach this summer. No joke.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 1, 2010 @ 9:54 PM
“You must have chaos within you to give birth to a dancing star.” - Friedrich Nietzsche
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 2, 2010 @ 2:42 AM
This filled me with pleasure, it’s so violent and satisfying - particularly the combination of AB’s strong yet emotional vocal with all that relentless grinding and hopelessness. xxxx