Perfect Harmony Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "It Is the Hour (Get Up)"

It Is the Hour (Get Up)
by Snowflake
Recommends (45)
Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:01 AM

Samples are used in:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:07 AM
A real time review: OK, I like all the clocks and muffled knock percussion, and the Plantesque bg vocals mixed in with Calling Sister.

Now its getting upbeat, but still like a ticking clock. There are some cool-ooh-ahhs singing a melody, and some phrases from “I will be Waiting” step in. Now I get what that meant, and I got a chill from it!

The spoken word mixes with Calling Sister again, “Get up!” A heartbeat thumps in the bg.

The breakbeat that sounds like a clock is back, and the synths are doing cool things, and calling Sister says, “move along.” Well I’m definitely moving!

And now we’re down to just an intimate piano phrase of “Garden” and, that is a nice lingering way to end it.

They shoot, they score. yep - definitely like this!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:10 AM
thank you for this real-time review - i’m so honored!

i take great pleasure knowing we’re all uploading music in the middle of the night, across this wide continent (and different time zones beyond!). :)
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:25 AM
ha, real time reviews are the only kind I do. :P
 
.
permalink   Admiral Bob Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 9:27 AM
My second listen: there was a lot of good (extraordinary) stuff, but I think this and Scomber’s fembot song were the real standouts for me from this mixter.

How can I know? Still humming them a day later. A reviewer can get all wordy about why they like a song, but that’s what it comes down to: are you still humming it when it is done?

Yep.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:18 AM
Great transitions! Wonderful layering of sounds, voices, textures. Top notch production. Once again, I’m totally impressed by your musicality, but not at all surprised! Bravissima dear Snowflake!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:22 AM
thanks Susan! you give me such encouragement that i truly appreciate. i can’t wait to hear yours!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:25 AM
Nice wall of sound production, with your own adds making it unique that really identifies as you.

It’s cool to see how ambitious you are with your remixes now. You’ve always had the chops but initially I think you stayed within your own self imposed conventions, and now you mix like a bird out of the cage.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:30 AM
you’ve made my smile grow three times larger! thank you for noticing. while i still have much to learn, i am spreading my wings. this is all in gratitude and thanks to everyone here at ccM that gives me the tools, motivation and courage to do so. :)
rewired
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:35 AM
I can’t stop stomping with my feets. Great tune to dance to!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:11 PM
thank you! glad it worked :)
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:20 AM
You’re a goddess of sound. I’ve been waiting for your next mixter project since the last one blew me away. This is simply a divine treat for the ears.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:11 PM
you are so completely kind. thank you so much!
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:21 AM
Love your intro! Great song to put on and dream away. Maybe it’s my dance background but I somehow feel that the drums could kick a bit harder. But all in all a great remix
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:12 PM
yes, i had some difficulty with the loop EQs and sound. the bass and kick were real boomy and when I EQ’d it out to help reduce the muddiness of the overall track, i think it lost a bit of the punch. i messed with it for a while, even doubled with a new kick pattern and secondary bass track ducked below the first, but it didnt seem to help. any ideas?
 
.
permalink   Abstract Audio Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 3:11 AM
You’ve got mail
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:49 AM
Builds a great energy and excitement ….. really like the ethereal vocal touches also. Excellent track
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:13 PM
thank you!!
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 4:12 AM
Gentle house. The usually loud and aggressive 4/4 thump sounds more natural, like a heartbeat, in this. Which I like. A very good mix.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:13 PM
thanks Speck. means a lot coming from you - i really respect your ears. i had a bit of trouble trying to make this track thump more, but perhaps it was meant to take this form after all. thanks for finding a way to see my glass half full instead of half empty on that element!
Calling Sister Midnight
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:25 AM
I am speechless. All I can say is, it’s an honor.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:14 PM
i so truly enjoyed working with your source tracks. i feel like we’ve spent the past two weeks together and I’ve really enjoyed getting to your know the depth of your work.
mykleanthony
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 7:04 AM
A great combination and a well thought out piece of music. Nicely done.

Peace! ;)~
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:14 PM
thank you mykle. means a lot from you.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 8:48 AM
Incredible. I love the dreamy flow…
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:15 PM
thank you! :)
KCentric
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:13 PM
Fantasy meets funky. You ROCK SF!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:15 PM
thank you K! you’re the best.
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:27 PM
Bloody hell - you’ve got some mixing chops. I love it. Very nicely balanced, and just a kick-ass take on CSM.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:40 PM
You are too kind. I’ve been trying to stretch. Thanks to ccM!
AT
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 5:11 PM
I like how you’ve managed to keep the emotion but still create a cool dance track—great mixing and sounds excellent on my headphones.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 5:22 PM
many thanks. that means a lot from you :)
Clarence Simpson
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 8:21 PM
For someone who says they’re just “learning” mixing you’re sure pulling it off like it’s old hat. :)

I particularly enjoyed both the intro and outro. There’s great emotion tied up in both of them. Excellent work snowflake!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 8:01 AM
i did spend many years next to the mixing consoles and pro tools rigs of john jones (grammy winning producer, trained by george martin in air studios) and sean halley (digidesign) and the many things they taught me have helped me incredibly.

however, i’ve found watching someone track/mix and tracking/mixing myself, well, to be very different. i am very uncertain how to EQ, how to compress properly, how to master, and certainly how to program.

that being said, i would still be staring at my software, paralyzed by intimidation, if it weren’t for ccM. ccM has given me the courage to try, and the motivation to keep working on a mix until it is as good as i can possibly get it.

thanks for your encouragement.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 4:32 AM
I love the groove on this SF.
This is what i call 100% in the pocket. Great mix!!!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 8:15 AM
many thanks. i had a pretty difficult time getting the pocket tight because the track has three different BPMs. the transitions kicked my butt!
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 9:24 AM
Snowflake, you’re creating a definite style with your mixes—very original sounding. Drawing from lots of varied influences—all of your mixes are journeys in sound. GetUp is no exception, and pushes forward into new territory.

Great mix!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 9:51 AM
thank you! this is the beauty of ccM. it becomes a place without boundaries - on the input and output. :)
vo1k1
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:39 PM
Awesome. The song, sounds, and production are great. But, the overall melodic movement and arrangement really make it, IMHO. Super catchy sound candy sprinkled about also. Bookmarking for ipod - Kudos!
i2b
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 9, 2010 @ 6:54 PM
Beautiful production. Immersive and surreal. I really enjoyed the breakdown where the piano and the vocals follow each other and smooth transition back to the thick atmosphere. Bravo!
Vidian
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 3:44 PM
Omg, This kicks ass!

“I actually tore the LCL in my knee July 28, 2010, dancing.”

lol

I almost tore my LCL?? dancing to this :D
Subliminal
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 10:10 PM
Those edit screens look pretty impressive. Makes mine look rather minimal and also makes the fact that this remix sounds so coherent even more impressive. A most splendid tune.