Firefly Secret Mixter Remixes!
skip

Reviews for "Freedom Is Me (Rough Mix)"

Freedom Is Me (Rough Mix)
by Scott Altham
Recommends (26)
Sun, Jan 25, 2009 @ 3:11 PM

Uses samples from:

 
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 25, 2009 @ 3:34 PM
yes, sir! a beautiful treatment of this beautiful spoken word piece. at high vol the vocal is slightly indistinct, but still effective. at very low volume (my preference) it is like listening to the ‘voice’ inside. very, very nicely done.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 25, 2009 @ 6:25 PM
Sometimes musicians can spend hours on tracks and not achieve much. At other times what appears to be a throw away piece can end up as something special. I once worked on a film track which included a song where the vocalist was struggling. In the end the producer telephoned a singer he knew who had just arrived from New York. The singer agreed to stop by and give it one take as he was on a promotional tour and had no more time. That one take was enough.

This example of yours goes to prove the point. Simple but nicely effective.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 12:12 AM
totally mesmerizing - I just hope there aren’t any posthypnotic suggestions hidden in there!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 4:04 AM
What a great Idea :-)
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 2:35 AM
I find myself not listening to the vocal but the backing.

In fact its so mesmerising that i wish she would just shut up :-)
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 4:04 AM
Thanks LS. I’m surprised at the response already, this was a total through away track?!?
J.Lang
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 6:13 AM
Beautiful track, but like LS i’m more into the backing track than the vocals.
Job well done Scott.

Before you throw any tracks away, make sure send them all to me. :-)
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 1:30 PM
Hey Thanks man - It makes you think though. The mixes we throw away, are they really that bad?… Maybe other people need to be the judge!
marshpeople
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 10:00 AM
Got to agree in one way about the backing track, right up my street that sound….mind you the vocals do give it a little bit more…

Nice track
wellman
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 1:21 PM
This is a very well done job Scott… as always hehehe..

I think that more musical spaces between some of the verses in the voice could help… but that’s my humble opinion…

Anyways it is a very sweet, and calm mix… good job!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 1:27 PM
Hey man, Did you read my description?… This was never really meant to be an upload, it was a test track that I discarded a while back but I like to keep consistent in my ccMixter postings so I threw this one up. There’s not a chorus here (its spoken word), so the structure is kind of a wierd A B A.

You always stop by and post a few words / express your opinion and I value everyones opinion, so I’m pleased you’ve spent the time to post a review :-)
 
.
permalink   wellman Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 3:16 PM
Ohhh Ok… Sorry… sometimes I dont find the right words to explain my ideas in english… When I say verses I was speaking about certain quantity of words together, not meaning this has a song-like structure.

Anyway I really like ur job, I follow it! Listening to ur tracks I have learned a lot of “tricks” that I have put (in my own and personal way hehe) into my mixes.

To hear ur mixes is always a nice experience…for me.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 3:17 PM
No need to explain dude, I always look forward to a Wellman review
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 3:34 PM
fascinating. Can’t wait to see what else gets excavated from your private trove!
Sometimes its interesting to witness/hear process rather than a finished project. This still stands on it own - regardless.
madskilled
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 27, 2009 @ 8:46 AM
nice job!
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 29, 2009 @ 1:23 PM
because of alterd states I have used this piece here-
http://jobobarikan.devianta...

thank you

jb
Snowflake
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 29, 2010 @ 11:04 AM
not sure how i missed this mix, but i am taken in by it. gorgeous track. honored to be connected to it.