inTENtions Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "My Apocalypse Now (scmixer dark clouds mix)"

My Apocalypse Now (scmixer da...
by s.c.mixer
Recommends (12)
Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 3:08 PM

Uses samples from:

 
spinmeister
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 3:24 PM
I love it - almost a little symphonic - who needs categories, when it’s just a great remix!
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 3:29 PM
Wow! Fastest review ever!! — at least for me! :)

Glad you liked it! Yes, kind of symphonic also.
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 10:27 PM
Very lush, great job with the pella; I loved the subtle bass drum- I could almost hear Cyndi Lauper covering this; the doubletime snicketiness was nice too, I was wanting for a big 90-bpm snare “SMACK” at times, but the overall flow was great, good job!
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Thu, Mar 6, 2008 @ 3:04 PM
Cindy Lauper? I only know “Girls just wanna have fun” :P

Glad you liked it!
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 6, 2008 @ 1:49 AM
Very nice atmosphere
nice arp piano sounds!!!
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Thu, Mar 6, 2008 @ 3:05 PM
Thanks for reviewing! And congrats for the pick!!
Mahadin
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 6, 2008 @ 12:05 PM
yes.. nice atmosphere, great piano and excellent arrangement. allthough during the whole song I waited for somekind of badass beat to set in…. the song was almost predestined for it…
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Thu, Mar 6, 2008 @ 3:08 PM
My original idea was to keep the beats to a minimum, to give an ambient or chill effect, and I tried to stick with that. But maybe harder beats could do better, you’re right.

Thanks for your review!
teru
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 6, 2008 @ 11:19 PM
Wow. This one really works for me. : )
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Fri, Mar 7, 2008 @ 2:29 PM
Glad you like, thanks for reviewing.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 7, 2008 @ 5:01 AM
s.c.mixer Thu, Mar 6, 2008 @ 3:04 PM
Cindy Lauper? I only know “Girls just wanna have fun” :P

Glad you liked it!

Cyndi Lauper was big in the 80’s with hits like True Colors and Time After Time.
As far as your mix. VERY Nice Work.
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Fri, Mar 7, 2008 @ 2:37 PM
Thanks for the info. After searching for these tracks I found that I actually knew them… just that I didn’t know they were sang by Cindy Lauper :)

And thanks for the review!
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Mar 7, 2008 @ 10:02 PM
Yeah- sorry about that, I always liked Cyndi; maybe she’s no chart-buster now, but definitely unique! I can’t help but love talented people who refuse to be anything but who they are, popular taste be damned…
kulimu
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 8, 2008 @ 3:00 AM
Loved this! Good ideas and perfect implementation.

I love this version but I agree it would also sound very cool with a more in-your-face beat :)

A lighter beat could also sound good. I think the ‘problem’ here is that the hard and fast hi-hats make you anticipate a bigger beat. But that’s only a problem on the first listen! Then it all really makes sense.
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Sat, Mar 8, 2008 @ 9:04 AM
I could not explain it better, really.
But the original intention was to keep a double tempo feeling (fast and slow)…
So this could also be “dubstep”, but without the big bass drop :)

Thanks for the review!
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 8, 2008 @ 10:20 PM
I fianlly got to hear this- it has been remixed a bunch of times now, and I like this one for it’s sort of Micheal Gondry-esque child-like qualities- you made the voice sound more delicate than the original pella was I think. I love the piano movement and what it lends to the pathos of the lyrics.
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 7:33 AM
Thanks! Your review was the most awaited one (for obvious reasons). I’m glad you could finally hear this :)
About the voice, the only difference with the original is lots of reverb applied; and the final global EQ maybe helped to the “more delicate” effect.
Clarance Boddyker
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 9, 2008 @ 8:47 PM
Yeah, I see the C.L. comparisons from the way you treated the vocal, but it is great work, you give her voice a haunting quality.

Sounds very professional, I can imagine turning on the radio and hearing this, you weave together that tragic piano and all the sound elements nicely.

I like this mix, don’t think you should change it, it works, but I would have like to have heard a harder beat or bassline backing her voice.

Great work.
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Mon, Mar 10, 2008 @ 5:17 PM
To sound professional is a big compliment for me, thanks! :)

Harder beats… yes, seems everyone expected them… but no! It is what it is :P
AT
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 16, 2008 @ 6:31 PM
Wow, this is great. The piano is really nice. Has a very nice subtle build to it and then a perfect ending. Sound quality is lovely.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 30, 2008 @ 6:44 AM
very cool mix. Like Philp Glass with vocals.

Its a touch digitally bright in the eq which is a little painful on the opening section but i like where you are at with it.
slumberlords
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 25, 2008 @ 7:59 PM
Hey SC, Ive just noticed your take on this, I remixed it myself and have a soft spot for the song. I really like this, the piano gives it a light upbeat vibe which is already present in the vocals. I think you gave it the treatment it deserves too as I beleive its supposed to be happy and upbeat. well done.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 10, 2008 @ 9:00 AM
Very cool. Not much more to say than that. It just works….