Come Together Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "Gunn Control"

Gunn Control
by Calling Sister Midnight
Recommends (26)
Sat, Feb 16, 2013 @ 10:47 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 1:03 AM
Great video and audio mix, Sister. Like the spin on gun control.

Used to like Henry Mancini music until I heard him on a TV clip say how annoyed he was by musicians playing unworthy renditions of Peter Gunn.
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 9:59 AM
So many queens so few queendoms :).

For the longest time I was under the impression the tune belonged to Lalo Schriffrin. Hulu started carrying the episodes and as I watched I was surprised how much the style and hipster aesthetics of this show defined cool and bohemian for my generation.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 2:20 PM
Lalo Schifrin is name you don’t hear about much in casual conversation these daze.

Think I have one of his albums in my old record pile.
Vidian
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 4:36 AM
This is so great, and dark and gritty. I for sure hear early delirium, like 80’s deep ambient style you have no Idea how awesome it is because I think Delirium is the greatest thing since refrigeration. Haha, I guess you’re not just a beautiful voice ^ ^
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 10:01 AM
So fun to review your work. I had nabbed “Pistolero” for a podcast I do weekly on blogtalk radio and I wanted so much to come to you for stem material but didn’t want to reveal the secret part of the secret mixter. I’d love to do some more collaborations with you.
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 6:07 AM
Sinister. Nice use of the Prelinger archives.
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 10:02 AM
mmmm love all things left-handed. Thank you!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 8:36 AM
Cool as a cucumber. Awesome video, too.
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 10:02 AM
Thank you! And thanks for the comment over on youtube! I appreciate it!
TheDICE
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 9:58 AM
This beat is catchy, and that bell-ish synth is very clear in my speakers, great mixing
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 10:03 AM
oh yeah. I love that synth. Almost like a siren. Almost like a horn. It pierces through the murk like a wake-up call.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 12:33 PM
compelling musical statement and brilliant use of source. so there are other sources to include in the remix tree (abstract audio, etc)? it would be great if you’d include them as sources too if you don’t mind (let me know if you need help)! this track speaks to me on many levels — very Kubrick of you ;) the video is fan-f!ckin*g-tastic. your creative is compelling and expansive.
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 1:18 PM
Hi snowflake - thanks for your kind review!

All resources in the tree are accounted for that I can tell.

The only reason I mentioned Abstract Audio is that I found the “we are going to control you” clip in the Prelinger Archive because he had used it before in his track “Control You.”

But I went to the source, the Prelinger Archive trailer “Destroy All Monsters,” downloaded the trailer myself, isolated the audio clip and did the conditioning myself. I thought I was clear on that, but perhaps not. I did think it important to mention him as an inspiration source, but technically, he is not a remix source.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 1:59 PM
oh got it! thanks for clarifying. i love this creation from concept to execution!!
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 4:21 PM
Gracias!!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 17, 2013 @ 11:20 PM
Absolutely BRILLIANT!!!! Ed picked.
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Mon, Feb 18, 2013 @ 2:32 AM
Wow. Thanks! What a wonderful surprise this morning! This will be the first time one of my own productions has made it to Ed-ville!
 
.
permalink   Vidian Mon, Feb 18, 2013 @ 4:37 AM
Likes this
Rey Izain
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 18, 2013 @ 4:37 AM
Really dark and sinister vibe with a touch of hipster counter culture in there. Like it and recommend it!

Also I saw your previous comments on Lalo Schifrin…love him…his jazzy version of Mission Impossible is a prized possession in my vinyl collection ;)
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Mon, Feb 18, 2013 @ 10:43 AM
Thank you. I love listening to classic television and movie soundtrack music. Sometimes the music will keep me watching longer than the script will.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 18, 2013 @ 6:30 AM
Cooler than the other side of the pillow.
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Mon, Feb 18, 2013 @ 10:43 AM
Coming from the J>Lang, that is high praise :)
My Free Mickey
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 18, 2013 @ 9:54 AM
Wow, such a creepy gun. It reminds me to negativeland a little. It sure is a killer track
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Mon, Feb 18, 2013 @ 10:44 AM
Muchas gracias! I love letting my creep flag fly.
Donnie Drost
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 1, 2013 @ 1:24 AM
Dark, vibrant, exciting - awesome…