Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "Metro Ride (future jazz mix)"

Metro Ride (future jazz mix)
by Uncool Bob
Recommends (12)
Sun, Jan 7, 2007 @ 12:30 PM
 
bombero
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 7, 2007 @ 4:27 PM
Good job Mr Rev.Ken Cabal!!
 
.
permalink   Uncool Bob Mon, Jan 8, 2007 @ 3:55 AM
thanks, glad you like it!

Quote: bomberoGood job Mr Rev.Ken Cabal!!
norelpref
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 12, 2007 @ 4:48 PM
Such a well integrated piece, Rev. I especially liked the guitar swells, the crescendoing. And Melissa fits right in there, perfectly. Cool, reminds me of Zappa’s Jazz from Hell stuff.
 
.
permalink   Uncool Bob Sat, Jan 13, 2007 @ 10:55 AM
thanks for the review norelpref - look forward to listening again with this in mind (and I’ll rent some Zappa next time I’m at the library).
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 13, 2007 @ 5:20 AM
A very insistent mix, with a real driving force. I think it’s a challenge to integrate the vocals into the mix, but you really try to work it in together. It’s cool what you’re able to do with your remix machine. It’s all a bit too insistent for me, in the long run, and I’d like to hear gentler breaks, somehow, but I’m not sure how, so I only mention the notion.
 
.
permalink   Uncool Bob Sat, Jan 13, 2007 @ 10:51 AM
hi gurdonark,
thanks very much for the review
insistent is a good way to describe the sound - I think it comes from stitching together “full” loops (no tracks muted) - if I brought things in (and out) more gradually I think it would have a different sound. This (and my last few remixes) have been stitch jobs due to lack of time and energy (my young lady acapella artist sees to that!). While “doing” the evolutionary remix machine for several hours, it sounds like a stitch job too (check out the evolutionary remix radio to get an idea of this), so I get used to the insistent sound.

I decided to stretch out the vocals rather than repeat them a few times. Any comments?

thanks again for the review!
Morr
.
permalink   Fri, May 18, 2007 @ 8:43 AM
Heavy on da sample tip! This rokz! Has that old MAW feel, with thoze Todd Terry style edits droppin and out!

Like this alot!

EZ

Morr
 
.
permalink   Uncool Bob Sat, May 19, 2007 @ 9:35 AM
thanks Morr - I guess I have listened to a lot of MAW in my time. (You may not have delved into my methods, but it’s all random to start with and then I select what I think sounds good, and the music evolves after several hours. You spotting some of my major influences is quite interesting.)

Now if only we could get India to lay some vocals down for ccMixter… that would really rock
Elias May
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 16, 2007 @ 10:25 AM
Wow, this is great!
 
.
permalink   Uncool Bob Tue, Jul 17, 2007 @ 1:59 AM
glad you liked it
illusivemind
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 12, 2007 @ 10:06 PM
‘Future Jazz’ is right, great stuff.
 
.
permalink   Uncool Bob Thu, Sep 13, 2007 @ 4:03 AM
thanks very much - it’s one of my better/more appropriately named tracks!

I just listened again to it and I still like it, so that must be a good thing :-)
stefsax
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 25, 2007 @ 12:20 AM
Sorry that I react so late.
Had not yet seen the trompetsample was used.
Very nice And very sensible use of the sample,well done.

Peace,
stefsax
 
.
permalink   Uncool Bob Sun, Nov 25, 2007 @ 2:18 AM
always nice to hear feedback from the real musicians involved, whatever the delay…

check out the email notification options in ccMixter, I rarely check the site without first getting a notification email.

peace,
rev ken