Endurance Secret Mixter--Mix Mode
skip

Reviews for "Elijah Baley's Blues - Caves of Steel theme (ft. Abstract Audio)"

Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 15, 2012 @ 10:10 PM
I like how this starts as gumshoe music. With just a hint of outerspace to it, and then full all-out outer space. :)
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:30 AM
[Looked up Gumshoe…] Ah, OK! Thanks, AB. Techno tracks aren’t my forte. So relied on one of my first love: reading Scifi as inspiration lol
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 15, 2012 @ 10:34 PM
Wow Ivan! I love how you worked with Abstract Audio’s source material. What a creative and fun remix! Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:33 AM
Hey Susan! Thank you. You’re no stranger to AA’s uploads, I’m sure. I kept encountering your stems in his uploads, not that there’s anything wrong with it :)
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 15, 2012 @ 10:39 PM
this is one of my favorite productions from you. love how you utilized the Agent Blues theme. your production is an incredible combination of AA’s wrok — it is a true hybrid of the two of you (is that you on guitar?). great mix dude.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:29 AM
Thanks for saying that! Nope, I didn’t play/ record any original instruments this time. It was one of AA’s MIDI track which I converted to an electric guitar sound. Appreciate the encouragement.
duckett
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 15, 2012 @ 11:16 PM
Daneel and Giskard would love it ;-)
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:35 AM
LOL, alright! An Asimov reader, I presume
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 12:39 AM
Electro film noir synth blues
Uniquely cool, Ivan
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:36 AM
Quote: texasradiofishElectro film noir synth blues AWESOME. I decided to add this label to the tags. Thanks!
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 3:20 AM
gumshoe tastic Ivan - really imaginative
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:04 AM
Thank you! As we say here, “it’s ok. not bad,not bad” heh.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 5:54 AM
Smooth, narrative, full, alive, well-mixed and delightful. I liked the Asimov theme, and the way the song avoided traditional “space music” to bring the stars to life.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:05 AM
That’s a really thoughtful review. Thank you! hmm, now you’ve got me thinking what’s “traditional space music”. :) Cheers!
TheDICE
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 7:21 AM
Great investigative scifi atmosphere! your description of the agent fits perfectly with the track! And this track is really well-done, and pleasant
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:52 AM
Thanks! Actually, now I’m starting to wonder what does “agent” really mean in this round of secret remix. Anyway, glad it all worked out. Credit goes to AA’s jazzy MIDI stems. Without that, it might not have worked so well.
rocavaco
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:03 AM
You know I don’t know about the blues. But this remix starts as a blues, right? :))
Then it turns into cool analog-electro-thing I like very much.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:54 AM
I think it’s more Jazz than Blues. There’s some relation between the two, I believe. Wasn’t it said that Blues is the foundation to many subsequent genres? Hey, glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the comment!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 10:36 AM
Inspired and creative! It’s very easy to imagine the scenario you set up… Of course, I pictured the Pink Panther slinking around! Very enjoyable!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 5:49 AM
Thanks! Aside: do kids nowadays know who the Pink Panther is? Might we be showing our age? lol
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 6:49 AM
lol… I would assume that you are correct. Oh well, it was a it was such a fun cartoon! So was “Inspector Gadget”! :D Thanks for the memories.
CSoul
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 12:48 PM
WOW , silky transitions ,
peace
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 5:51 AM
Thank you!
Vidian
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:30 PM
Whoa.. Trippy.

If this is music for a film Noir, I WANT TO MAKE IT
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 5:52 AM
If you make it, I’d be honoured to have the soundtrack featured. If it makes your cut, that is :) Thanks for the comment!
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:31 PM
More a mash up of jazz. Very creative Ivan :)
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 5:53 AM
Think it’ll pass muster for a Blues Jazz piece? Probably not, heh. Thanks for the listen!
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:41 PM
Wow what a wonderfull coherent chaos this is :D. I’m really glad you’ve used my first ccM song as the backbone for this mashup. Very cool that you’ve wrote this as the soundtrack for a sf detective. Surely one off my wishes would be to make one, but it’s very cool to have one

The most interesting sound for me is that fx/drone sound that first makes its appearance at 0.26 I would love to have that one so could you upload it?? Thanks
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 6:05 AM
Done! I’ve added the drone sample (named “Drone Fx Nasus”) and another short one (named “Dropzoid Fx Nasus”). Both were sampled from an excerpt from your Nasus track. I converted your stem to 170 BPM, then applied a filter/ phaser thingy.

Thanks for the request actually. I always want to make a point to upload some source samples as part of every remix, so that the musical conversation can carry on. Was wondering what I could share this time. Forgot about the Fx samples. I listened to them on a loop and they sound like Dubstep potential lol.
Numeron
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:44 PM
I love tracks like this where I’m surprised by the unexpected - it takes so many twists and turns
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Tue, Sep 18, 2012 @ 6:51 AM
Thanks for saying that!
got
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 23, 2015 @ 1:17 AM
Great music mr Ivan! i have used in my experimental,documental short movie “Machina” about artist MichaƂ Kowalczuk and his incredible drawing machine :) [url=https://vimeo.com/115699888][/url] hope You liked :) Peace tomek