Sign up-Blue Hour Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » Ivan Chew » Day After II » Reviews

Reviews for "Day After II"

Day After II
by Ivan Chew
Recommends (23)
Sat, Oct 2, 2010 @ 9:27 AM
 
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 2, 2010 @ 9:44 AM
Very atmospheric piece Ivan, dark, dark, mysterious and … dark. Psychological thriller, psycho killer type of stuff. The bit where Ciggi “cuts like a knife” is the best moment for me. Very well done!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Oct 3, 2010 @ 3:14 AM
Thanks! Heh, I enjoyed your review :) Though I’ve to give credit to Blake’s remixed piano sample. That’s the backbone.
serenityfrost
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 2, 2010 @ 9:45 AM
I’m not so sure my clunky piano open suits this song all that well. Other than that though it’s really nicely done. I love the velvet vocals.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Oct 3, 2010 @ 3:17 AM
If they didn’t sound like that fitted, my bad! :) I thought they gave a certain moodiness to the track. I was planning to use them for a heavy metal piece but…um, long story. Decided to use them here instead. Thanks for your samples!
Diane_Jessurun
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 2, 2010 @ 10:32 AM
That is interesting! I see you put a lot of work into this. Some of it works, some of it doesn’t quite mix for me, but still, nice job. :)
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Oct 3, 2010 @ 3:19 AM
Thanks for your samples! I’ve to admit I didn’t nearly put enough work. Yes, I know which parts that don’t quite sound right. Appreciate your review. Cheers.
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 2, 2010 @ 10:43 AM
very much like a performance for friends on the small stage in the ballroom. i for one am very impressed & entertained. and ready for the next song.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Oct 3, 2010 @ 3:20 AM
Thanks, friend :)
Blake
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 2, 2010 @ 12:29 PM
Very impressive use of samples! Great job!!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Oct 3, 2010 @ 3:20 AM
Oh no, Thank You. Your sample gave me the inspiration.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 2, 2010 @ 1:31 PM
Nice concept and production, Ivan. Dig the human voices.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Oct 3, 2010 @ 3:21 AM
Thanks! Appreciate the listen and comment.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 3, 2010 @ 6:56 PM
Mysterious sounding electro-pop: film-noir? Perhaps it might be a good accompaniment for a 21st century Mike Hammer.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Oct 4, 2010 @ 8:27 AM
Maybe I should call it “neo-film noir”. Where in doubt, add the “neo” prefix, lol.
debbizo
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 4, 2010 @ 4:09 AM
This is great Ivan. I love it!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Oct 4, 2010 @ 8:29 AM
thanks for the encouragement, Deb :)
Speck
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 5, 2010 @ 3:14 PM
Yeah, those two vocals work well together in this mix. Lots of good to hear. I like the sometimes complex, sometimes simple ebb and flow of the arrangement. Nice.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Wed, Oct 6, 2010 @ 4:43 AM
Thanks Speck! That’s very reassuring to hear.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 16, 2010 @ 8:29 AM
Finally I’ve been able to listen to this! I’ve relocated to Florida and I lost my laptop for 5 days, so no access to ccM. Anyway … this is a fabulous mix, CC, very rich, very emotive, hugely enjoyable. I am absolutely thrilled to be included. Thank you. xxxx
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Oct 16, 2010 @ 9:21 AM
Quote: CiggiBurnsvery rich, very emotive, hugely enjoyableIt’s the pells, I tell ya :)
MiElle
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 28, 2010 @ 4:03 PM
I’m very impressed. Cheers. Ed Pick for me :)
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Oct 28, 2010 @ 7:31 PM
Hello MiElle! Nice of you to drop by and leave a comment. If you think it’s Ed Pick material, that’s good enough for me :) Thank you!