Sign up-Blue Hour Secret Mixter
skip

Reviews for "No Land In Sight"

No Land In Sight
by Ivan Chew
Recommends (13)
Sat, Aug 7, 2010 @ 1:31 AM
 
debbizo
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 7, 2010 @ 4:21 AM
What you’ve done with the guitar loop in the upbeat part is interesting. A nice mix of sounds and I like the way it ends.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Aug 7, 2010 @ 5:11 AM
Thanks Deb. I found it interesting that your guitar loop melody fits Admiralbob’s lead guitar. Were you playing to his tune? Anyway, I was happy to have been able to remix your stems.
 
.
permalink   debbizo Sat, Aug 7, 2010 @ 5:21 AM
Quote: Ivan ChewThanks Deb. I found it interesting that your guitar loop melody fits Admiralbob’s lead guitar. Were you playing to his tune? Anyway, I was happy to have been able to remix your stems.

No, I wasn’t. But this is interesting as I may have picked up the tune subconsciously.
Speck
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 7, 2010 @ 5:49 AM
It comes into being very naturally and becomes quite exciting and hopeful. Great concept, great execution.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Aug 7, 2010 @ 5:56 AM
Hey, thanks so much for the review! Was certainly aiming for the track to end off on a “hopeful” note. Glad you picked that up.
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 7, 2010 @ 10:48 AM
i think your ears are getting bigger.
very good stuff, Ivan Chew.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Aug 7, 2010 @ 11:23 AM
Oh you know, just hearing the right tracks at the right time :) Thanks man.
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 7, 2010 @ 1:21 PM
Fantastic! Very cinematic and suggestive. There’s a little distortion in the second part of the song in my headphones but it’s just effecive and appropriate in this powerful mix.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Aug 8, 2010 @ 1:23 AM
Thank you! Hmm… thanks for letting me know about the distortion. Mixing is tricky.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Tue, Aug 10, 2010 @ 12:27 PM
Quote: St. PaulThere’s a little distortion in the second part of the song in my headphones…Just curious: did your audio/ player setting have a Bass Boost turned on, or something equivalent? EQ setting maybe? I realised those might have nudged the sound level overboard. (btw, it’s cool if you don’t reply to this. As I wrote, I was just curious. Thanks!)
Donnie Drost
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 8, 2010 @ 2:56 AM
Great arrangement with surprising build-up. Very cool!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Aug 8, 2010 @ 4:13 AM
Hi Donnie, thanks for the listen and the review. Cheers!
MiElle
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 28, 2010 @ 5:11 PM
Love it.