Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip
Home » People » onlymeith » The Dancers » Reviews

Reviews for "The Dancers"

The Dancers
by onlymeith
Recommends (18)
Sun, Aug 24, 2008 @ 3:51 PM
 
zikweb
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 24, 2008 @ 11:12 PM
Sounds like a Laurie Anderson track. I love it!
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Aug 26, 2008 @ 2:20 PM
Your comparison is a compliment to me. Thanks
essesq
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 24, 2008 @ 11:56 PM
Amazing onlymeith. I love this mix. I read this poem in a very mechanized way because I was trying to make it easier to fit to different rhythm patterns in a dance mix. I tried to separate the words so they could be easily chopped up.

The thing that got me with this is the tempo choice. Slowing it down even more actually added impact to the words. I love the effects you used on my voice. I think zikweb’s comment is right on (and it makes me smile because I think Laurie Anderson is in my head when I do a lot of this spoken word work). Fantastic atmospherics and a beautiful treatment all around. Thanks so much for this.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Aug 26, 2008 @ 2:25 PM
Your words are music. I only have placed a little.
Thanks for review.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 25, 2008 @ 3:43 AM
Well I think that vocal treatment is great and it fits the backing track just perfect.

Goes to show that a simple piece of spoken prose can be developed into something special. So well done to the insomniac girl for coming up with the magic seed that made this all happen!!
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, Aug 25, 2008 @ 12:05 PM
I am hoping the condition referred to above was brought on by the unscrupulous use of decongestants in the evening .. I don’t wish to be forever known as “insomniac girl” although I have been known to sacrifice sleep for a bit of creativity :-). But thanks RT.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Aug 26, 2008 @ 2:34 PM
Thanks RT for review. I just put a little music in fine words.
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 25, 2008 @ 9:37 AM
mysterious and impelling - as if something is about to happen…I like who the music seems to expand ever outward.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Aug 26, 2008 @ 2:40 PM
Intelligent appreciation. I agree with your diagnosis. I had not thought about it before. Thanks for listen and review.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 25, 2008 @ 9:42 AM
I actually clicked on ‘recommends’ by mistake, before I had a chance to listen to the song. But what a fortunate mistake it was. Great atmosphere and vocal treatment. Compliments!
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Tue, Aug 26, 2008 @ 2:35 PM
Clicking on ‘recommends’ by mistake is in case of onlymeith not such a great risk :-)
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Aug 26, 2008 @ 2:58 PM
It´s nice for me, to read comments like this. Thanks
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Aug 26, 2008 @ 2:52 PM
I´m delighted by the positive surprise. Thaks for listening.
In your next mix I also recommended before hearing the song. I´m a risky man.
Geert Veneklaas
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 26, 2008 @ 2:37 PM
Nothing to add really…..great track !
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Aug 26, 2008 @ 2:56 PM
Thanks for listening and for your nice words.
AT
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 26, 2008 @ 8:46 PM
Very nice onlymeith. I imagine a body being passed from person to person along a never ending line.
I like.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Sun, Aug 31, 2008 @ 3:13 PM
Beautiful an sensual image of dancing bodies. Thanks for listening and review.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 28, 2008 @ 8:40 PM
The word “cinematic” is overused, because it is used so often by people who mean “I wish I could get this on a soundtrack”, when if we had but world and soundtrack enough and time, then this entire music-making would be no crime.

Yet this one is cinematic in the way I prefer the word (which, after all, must mean what I wish it to mean). This one creates its own pictures and images—stadiums and Rudy Vallee with a megaphone, women in raincoats trimmed to look like uniforms, rain following as if it were bliss descending. You’ve given the spoken word piece a different kind of life—in its own self-contained world, which is, after all, what the best movie can be.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Sun, Aug 31, 2008 @ 3:37 PM
I´m grateful for your nice comments about mix. Your perceptions are always subtle and intelligent and you understand perfectly what the songs mean. Congratulations and thanks for that.
Has been a pleasure for me to use your sample. Thanks for listening.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 31, 2008 @ 7:36 AM
Stunning. I feel the vocals are a little loud overall but i love the mix.

I remain a fan :-)
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Sun, Aug 31, 2008 @ 3:44 PM
I don´t want to miss a fan like you. I promise to make more effort in every mix :-)
 
.
permalink   essesq Sun, Aug 31, 2008 @ 8:45 PM
Don’t blame the mixer, everyone tells me I’m too loud ;-)…you did a fine job onlymeith…
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 1, 2008 @ 4:35 PM
beautiful. I am such a sucker for those ominous meith chords that string the whole thing together.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Wed, Sep 10, 2008 @ 1:49 PM
Thanks for listening Kaer.
It´s closing the circle, Ominous hope is an excellent mix with my sample Rainstrings inside. I´m remixed to Gurdonark here. And so on……………