Listen to Break the Silence Remixes
skip
Home » People » oldDog » Sleep Lightly » Reviews

Reviews for "Sleep Lightly"

Sleep Lightly
by oldDog
Recommends (51)
Wed, Jul 7, 2010 @ 1:48 PM

Uses samples from:

 
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 7, 2010 @ 2:03 PM
Gossamer light, dreamy and mysterious. This will linger long in the mind because it’s so very beautiful. The great Ms DeB, indeed, and the equally great oD. xxxxx
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 5:31 AM
Thanks Ciggi, I appreciate it!
DeBenedictis
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 7, 2010 @ 2:57 PM
Yep, he nailed it.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 5:32 AM
well, you nailed it, I joined up the dots :)
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 7, 2010 @ 3:00 PM
Lisa’s dreamy velvety voice is perfectly couched in your music…
beautiful work!
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 5:32 AM
Thanks for the support Anchor!
urmymuse
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 7, 2010 @ 4:08 PM
The piano comming from another room , just up the hall. Tension .. that invites you in. Perfect with Lisas beautiful paranoia.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 5:33 AM
Good description, thanks for reviewing!
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 7, 2010 @ 6:18 PM
an OD mix as pure & sensitive as the song. a masterful performance by both of you.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 5:34 AM
Thanks P, you know how much I value your opinion.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 7, 2010 @ 6:57 PM
This is such a perfect fit; the music is so earnest, it could break the hardest hearts.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 5:34 AM
I find Lisa’s songs very moving, thanks AB!
Hans Atom
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 2:35 AM
Inredibly well made! The piano is so desperately distant, like urmymuse already said, upper floor or maybe even out of the rear building! And then the voice sets in so close…sigh.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 5:35 AM
Glad you like it, thanks for listening!
debbizo
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 5:46 AM
Exquisite!
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 6:04 AM
thanks!
onlymeith
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 11:52 AM
Smooth, quiet and wonderful mix.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Jul 9, 2010 @ 5:45 AM
thanks a lot!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 8, 2010 @ 10:35 PM
Mmmmm. This track is absolutley delicious. You and Lisa are a formidable duo — enhancing each other’s talent in a very special way.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Jul 9, 2010 @ 5:47 AM
Thanks Susan - it feels like a very good working relationship to me too.
colab
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 9, 2010 @ 5:43 AM
The verse is quite nice - very good chord progression, but the refrain - ah now, the refrain is heartbreakingly beautiful.

The production is top notch. You’ve created a soundscape that’s simultaneously boxed in and wide open.

Terrific track.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Jul 9, 2010 @ 5:51 AM
:)
thanks - maybe the piano line in the refrain is even a touch “colab-y”??!

You got what I was after in the soundscape.
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 9, 2010 @ 6:59 AM
A beautiful clean mix. Perfect mood and instrument choices. This is top quality stuff.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Jul 9, 2010 @ 8:27 AM
Thanks Speck!
Darkroom
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 9, 2010 @ 4:32 PM
Masterful! There must be something in Great Britain’s air that makes one produce great music! Can you send me some of it?
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Fri, Jul 9, 2010 @ 5:23 PM
Its called rain and clouds !
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 9, 2010 @ 5:25 PM
Echoes of David Sylvian and the romantics in here.

Would have picked it myself if i had gotten here earlier.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 10, 2010 @ 11:08 AM
Absolutely fabulous, OD
AT
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 10, 2010 @ 2:50 PM
Very well done to the both of you.
DJ_Ruinsalot
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 10, 2010 @ 5:39 PM
I found the a capella for this while looking for stuff to remix, which of course led me to this. Forget remixing it, because this is perfection. Love the sounds, the chord changes, the texture. This is haunting.
wellman
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 11, 2010 @ 9:40 AM
Pretty good! Indeed!
XeroCrossing
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 13, 2010 @ 6:08 PM
Just fantastic!
maajonic
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 9, 2010 @ 6:27 AM
ok I will also say its a very “dreamy” and nice song… bravo!
HaveMercy
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 27, 2010 @ 2:37 PM
This is truly a masters’ backing track, restrained and fully supportive to the great vocals. And beautiful too!