Firefly Secret Mixter Remixes!
skip
Home » People » oldDog » How soon (mix) » Reviews

Reviews for "How soon (mix)"

How soon (mix)
by oldDog
Recommends (6)
Sat, Sep 1, 2007 @ 2:30 AM
 
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 1, 2007 @ 2:57 AM
Waaoo..not really joyful, but really beautiful. Excellent mix between the voices and the keyboards. Effectively, very “Lynchy ambiance”. Makes me think to the work of Angelo Badalamenti for the soundtrack of “Twin Peaks”…Brrrr..!!!
 
.
permalink   oldDog Wed, Sep 5, 2007 @ 4:10 AM
It could be that some of those samples show up in a Lynch film somewhere - they are amazing!

Thanks for the review.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 1, 2007 @ 3:54 AM
I like the intro, with its neat ambient pad. The harmonic layering of the vocals really works. I might have elected to also break up the first section of vocals from the second with a longer instrumental passage in which the little ambient melody might play out a bit more, as you did later in the piece after the secnod vocal passage. The last passage of the song is really effective.
This ambient-inflected mix really works very well.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Wed, Sep 5, 2007 @ 4:12 AM
Thanks for listening so carefully. I think you could be right about an instrumental section in the middle, I’ll have a think about it.
narva9
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 1, 2007 @ 8:54 AM
It’s creepy-lovely. The build and tension on this is amazing. I kept thinking that this is what a gregorian chant would sound a la Eurythmics.

Great work!

n9
 
.
permalink   oldDog Wed, Sep 5, 2007 @ 4:14 AM
Quote: narva9I kept thinking that this is what a gregorian chant would sound a la Eurythmics.



That’s an intriguing mixture!

Thanks Yvonne
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 1, 2007 @ 10:15 AM
i agree with everyone that the drone pad intro is really effective as a frame for c. layne’s vocals. and when the strings come in and blend, it’s even more effective. very etheral. and simply a great outro. requiem for an old dog. :)

 
.
permalink   oldDog Wed, Sep 5, 2007 @ 4:16 AM
Quote: MC Jack in the Box requiem for an old dog. :)


Not for this old dog yet I hope!

Thanks, and for the marathon idea.
fourstones
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 1, 2007 @ 11:04 AM

killer arrangement for a classic pell.

I like it when fake or treated strings don’t try to sound like real ones.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Wed, Sep 5, 2007 @ 4:18 AM
Thanks - yes, perhaps there should be a Synth Pride Day.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 7, 2007 @ 8:09 PM
Love the chilly but beautiful feel you get on this. Nice mix. OD