Endurance Secret Mixter--Mix Mode
skip

Reviews for "Happy Horsefeathers"

Happy Horsefeathers
by Kara Square
Recommends (22)
Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 5:20 AM
 
Alex
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 8:00 AM
Very well done!!!
Love the transitions and the whole vibe of the mix! Great
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 9:29 AM
Thank you, Alex!
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 8:22 AM
Just how do you gauge when there is enough horse feathers lol? That’s a lot a source material to choose from WOW! Nice job Kara :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 9:36 AM
Rhetorical question, eh? :) I love duckett’s humor with that spoken word… Thanks for the props, cop!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 9:20 AM
Nice production
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 9:36 AM
Thank you, J. Lang!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 10:46 AM
amazing! this mix is like a moving painting, a story and journey. very excellent work Kara. each Duckett element treated and placed with precision. each change enticing. your vocal hook transforms this journey also into a song. very great remix.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 12:48 PM
Thank you kindly, snowflake! The Secret Mixter projects tend to be quite a challenge for me… as I’m not naturally a remixer. I’m glad to hear that I pulled it off. :)
duckett
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 11:29 AM
What a fun listen :D
Thanks for digging through the older stuff and dusting it off; I know I’ve enjoyed doing the same with others on these secret mixter. Wa do, ᎪᏝᎾᏍᎩ!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 12:54 PM
Good, good- I’m glad you found it fun! I had a great time listening through your work… You’ve posted some awesome stuff. Thank YOU for doing what you do, duckett. (BTW, “Wired But Disconnected” is brilliant- your voice is just incredible in it.)
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 12:36 PM
And that reminds me of a story thats so dirty, I’m ashamed to think of it myself.
Groucho Marx in Horse Feathers (Movie)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 12:55 PM
:) How fun- When I first heard duckett’s “Horsefeathers” poem, my search lead to the movie you’re quoting. Thanks for listening!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 3, 2011 @ 10:15 PM
I think the MMT & Duckett energies are very well matched indeed! This mix is beautifully put together. While it’s a fantastic homage to Duckett and his catalogue, the dusting of your inimitable levity makes it shine.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 10:44 AM
Thanks a lot, SackJo- you’re too kind! I agree about it being a good energy-match… it was a pleasant surprise to find Duckett’s humorous pellas to work with…
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 7:49 AM
as always before - I adore your sense of humor and your sense of “play” -
well done sweetness.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 10:47 AM
Awww… well shucks. As always before- you’re too kind, Anchor! (But… I’ll take the ego boost and run!)
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 4, 2011 @ 6:20 PM
The vocal chorus is tight and metric, driving the underlying funky groove, and leaving Duckett to freestyle out front. Everything’s in service to the voices, even though there are lots of quirky tones in it. Experimental and slick all at once!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Jul 6, 2011 @ 7:04 AM
Thanks for your thoughtful review, Admiral. In retrospect, I think this would have been more effective if I had started with the poppy, upbeat section…
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 5, 2011 @ 9:44 PM
Pretty ambitious to tackle so much source but I like what you’ve pulled off here. odd but interesting freestyle arrangement but it’s endearing and actually pretty linear.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Jul 6, 2011 @ 7:09 AM
Thank you, MC Jack.

odd but interesting

I like that. :)
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 27, 2011 @ 11:13 AM
Very Kewl Kara…Sorry I havent been around. I will catch up soon. Keep up the great work!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Aug 27, 2011 @ 2:14 PM
Hey there stranger! Thanks for the review & kind words! It’s good to see you here. :)