Dig The Soundtrack 2017 Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "Look to the Stars"

Look to the Stars
by Wave Theory
Recommends (8)
Thu, Nov 10, 2005 @ 7:02 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
EdShift
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 2, 2005 @ 2:49 PM

OK I’ll level here. I’m writing this review because Maurice reviewed my track (very intelligently) and that made me check out his stuff but hey that’s no crime.
I have to say this stands up incerdibly well totally leftfield for this site.
Ambitous as f*ck and that’s what we need more of here.
Funky, jazzy and not aiming at a particular audience. the jazz (fusion) element jumps out at you I really loved the cello. The slightly dissonant notes on the e-piano were exceptional. I really want to know if the drums were MIDI-tracked live on trigger kit(It really sounds like it.
Also combi budhist monk and prayer bowl(ish) sample works well.
This tune seriously brought tomind Jonh McGlauchlin, Shakti and mahavishnu orchestra but without the mad guitar. If you want to do another I’d love to provide that mad guitar;-)
You’ve made a friend and a fan.
Best wishes and get in touch
Ed.
P.S. Free Tibet ;-)
 
.
permalink   Wave Theory Tue, Dec 6, 2005 @ 9:37 AM
Thanks to all for yer kind words in response to my debut efforts. I’ll say it again (they’re already quite tired of hearing me say it down at the local Starbuck’s) ccMixter is evolving into a special and unique place on the web to post music. I know, I know some find only a few morsels that are to their taste, but that’s just the bell curve, man. The important thing is that everybody keeps trying to raise the stakes with their posts in a time when “don’t bother” and “just do it like it’s been done” are becoming the mantra’s in our culture. That alone ensures that we (us remix posters) will be a part of the next “great leap forward” (apologies to any Mao-ists out there).

Special thanks to EdShift (better cut this short, its beginning to sound like an award show speech—sniff, sniff I’m happy to just be nominated, man) and thanks to hepepe for taking a moment to correspond. Hepepe, it took me awhile to figure out what you were talkin’ about man. Thanks for turning me on to disfish. Every time I come across something like disfish and ccMixter (and it’s happening more and more) I feel like the peasants are revoltin’ and we’re on the cusp of a new revolution.
cdk
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 10, 2005 @ 4:16 PM
thats pretty good man…very well mixed
Budapest BluesBoy
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 11, 2005 @ 12:47 AM
I’m out of wordz at 1:26.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 11, 2005 @ 11:28 AM
Very very nice.
MarcoRaaphorst
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 4, 2006 @ 10:48 AM
cool stuff, I like it.
sunbyrn
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 30, 2006 @ 2:13 AM
Ed Shift said it best. This is quite AMBITIOUS, and I love it.

MORE MORE MORE PLEASE
terrific work. My favorite work I have heard so far with this vocal track.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 6, 2011 @ 9:44 PM
This is a great track! Thanks for sharing.