skip

Reviews for "Lisa Debenedictis LatinSaint Style"

Lisa Debenedictis LatinSaint ...
by LatinSaint
Recommends (0)
Thu, Jun 23, 2005 @ 8:06 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Monty Arnold
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 24, 2005 @ 1:42 PM
i agree with victor on this one. i’m loving this groove especially the dub bass and bridge . but the the mixof highs and mids makes this an uneven listening.
 
.
permalink   LatinSaint Fri, Jun 24, 2005 @ 5:02 PM
I seem to be getting iffy reviews here. Oh well, lets let the judges decide. I may do another one just for safety sake. Thanks for the Honest Reviews.
latinsaint.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 25, 2005 @ 12:18 AM
Love the drum track but as Victor said i think your mids are to much up front. Nice track.
 
.
permalink   fourstones Sat, Jun 25, 2005 @ 7:02 AM
Quote: I seem to be getting iffy reviews here. Oh well, lets let the judges decide. I may do another one just for safety sake. Thanks for the Honest Reviews.
latinsaint.


actually you’re getting pretty great reviews — with suggestions to make it even better…
Pat Chilla The Beat Gorilla
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 25, 2005 @ 9:14 AM
The track on this mix jams!!! I rated it a 4 due to mix. Everything on top of the bass and drums is really pigeon-holed up front all aiming for the same sonic space. Kinda like 3 or 4 people trying to have a civil discussion, but everyone is talking at the same time and trying to talk over each other as well. The horn part in the hook is the main culprit, but the over reverberized jazz guitar licks are a close second. I do love the track, though. I also like the vocal sample manipulation, too. Its real good…….but it could be great.
 
.
permalink   LatinSaint Sat, Jun 25, 2005 @ 9:38 AM
I made some adjustments, Don’t know if it is better or not.
But thanks for the tips nevertheless.
ls.
 
.
permalink   Pat Chilla The Beat Gorilla Sat, Jun 25, 2005 @ 1:29 PM
Quote: I made some adjustments, Don’t know if it is better or not.
But thanks for the tips nevertheless.
ls.


The one thing that is noticeable is you’ve lowered the horns. Makes a big difference. I cant really hear any other adjustments, but its sounding good. Just to nitpick you for second, if I were the engineer on this I would make a couple of very small adjustments before I went to 2 track. 1) I would add a little compression to the wah-wah instrument in the bridge to tame a few loud transients and to level the overall volume, 2) bring up the vocals in the hook a little bit. They’re still kinda buried in the background a little too far.

This is only my personal taste and it isn’t evidence of a bad song on your part. I just really like this one, so I’m fine tuning it everytime I listen to it.
 
.
permalink   LatinSaint Sat, Jun 25, 2005 @ 2:21 PM
By Request of "BeatGorilla". I added the compession on the wah-wah instrument and slightly peak the vocals in the hook. I really appreciate the help for my remix.
thanks BG.
LatinSaint
 
.
permalink   fourstones Sat, Jun 25, 2005 @ 2:35 PM
the difference from the first upload is marked, a real contender now imo and production is starting to live up the music for sure.

HOWEVER — I’m getting a touch of crackling distortion in the chorus on the ‘AHH’ like around 0:56 and 1:12 Now this could be streaming or MP3 compression — but I guess not.

The rest is strictly a matter of taste:

therei’s still a guitar plunk that’s louder than the rest and it bugs me. (thats me, as in: hey, what do I know?) It’s in that four-note phrase that starts at 2:26 — the first PLUNK is around 2:30.5

I wouldn’t compress it, I would just envelope/fader it down so it’s the same level as the other three notes in the phrase.





Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 23, 2005 @ 3:35 PM
pretty good man… not my kinda music, but you did it well
Budapest BluesBoy
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 24, 2005 @ 4:11 AM
Yes. pretty good.
alberto
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 24, 2005 @ 4:20 AM
yo unsurpassable !!! great tune man much respect cya on the planet !
fourstones
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 24, 2005 @ 7:05 AM
I really like the music but the production is a little squeezed and muddy with lots of middles and little lows and highs — to the point of distraction really. Maybe too much verb, or not the right one… not sure.
EXPIRED MINDS
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 25, 2005 @ 7:19 PM
This is a good bangin hip hop jam..love the effects on the vox…nice and steady with a eal good flow to it……well i must say this is a brill remix..love the additional sax in the mix…a wonderful and enjoyable remix…….cheers.
Z-ROX
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 12, 2005 @ 7:23 PM
Don’t want to repeat what’s been said, but this is one of the few LD remixes that sticks in my head after just one listen.

Very hooky riff.
teru
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 31, 2005 @ 2:08 PM
The smoothist.I love the final mix. : )