Endurance Secret Mixter--Mix Mode
skip

Reviews for "Treading Water (onlymeith mix)"

Treading Water (onlymeith mix)
by spinningmerkaba
Recommends (29)
Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 7:44 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
simonlittlefield
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 7:55 AM
This is great. Brilliant vocals and guitar.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:56 AM
Thanks!
Tenny
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 7:56 AM
Wow! This is super good! I have been listening to songs all morning while doing some things and just realized I hit reply on this for now a third time.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:57 AM
I’ve been listening to poolside mixes all morning too—I’ve got to pull myself away from the computer. I’ve downloaded a bunch to listen to! have a great day! Thanks for listening to my mix.
Anchor
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 8:11 AM
great energy -
positive and upbeat…
sounds good with the headphones too!
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:59 AM
Thanks Anchor—I wanted to add some of your spoken word that onlymeith mixed into Unicorn—maybe in the extended remix ;-) Loved that track btw!
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 8:50 AM
Crimson on the brain, eh? Great song! The vocals and guitar are definitely reminiscent of the mighty Adrian Belew.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:00 AM
That means a lots FB! Andrian and Fripp are goals to reach for! Thanks for listening.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:37 AM
Yes — definite Adrien Belew tones!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 9:02 AM
i loved hearing this song progress….and love how the dynamic, tone, intensity and guitar work (of course). the trumpet in the middle is my fav part! ‘it is good to be alive’!!
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:03 AM
Thanks for your input and your sweet voice! It helps tremendously to have an extra set of ears, and to have a songbird in the wings for that cherry on top!
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:04 AM
YEAH!!!!!!!!!!! Just love the way this just swirls around in my brain.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:52 PM
Thanks copperhead! My head is swirling too ;-)
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:10 AM
Superb. Top quality feel. Flawless arrangement. Cool with content.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:55 PM
Onlymeith’s work is a great place to start a mix—so many good directions to go in. Glad you liked it!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 10:41 AM
What a powerful mix. There is a heartbreaking intensity to this track — a desperate grasp for hope amid the breaks and edges of life’s challenges, the illumination of breath, and a loving voice.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 2:01 PM
when the “treading water, trying to survive” words came out of my mouth—i was like whoa—this is a bit heavy, and the sounds and smells of summer are all around me? but the juxtaposition of heavy and light—it works. so i went with it.

the review you wrote means a lot. thanks for hearing it.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 11:09 AM
Fabulous merging of serious looping with prog rock and very good song smithing. A delightful generational mix, just like the backup vocals. This has just become my very favorite remix of yours to date!
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 2:06 PM
I try to keep it in the all ages category, which was good in this case as I had all the neighborhood children running around house yesterday while I was listening. There is something in it for all of us I guess, good to know you heard that too in the mix.

And your remarks about the song being well put together—that is the icing on top!
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 12:51 PM
I agree with spin - my favourite of yours. Terrific use of source material, and just outstanding additions. Production is clean as heck and I just love the build-up throughout.

Very very good.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 2:09 PM
Wow, I love this page—it keeps getting better!

This means a lot coming from you colab. I’m trying to hold back a smile, but not too much ;-)
Carosone
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 12:59 PM
Terrific track! On my mp3 portable player immediately, to listen tomorrow in my car when I’ll go to job.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 2:12 PM
I listen to all my mixes in the car before I release them, unless for some reason it is impossible to do so.

I have an old and very loud diesel mercedes, and if I can hear the mix well in that environment—I’m pretty sure it’ll sound good on a nice system too. And for sure I check it there as well.

Have a good drive—glad to know onlymeith and I will be in the mix!
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 20, 2010 @ 1:44 PM
Awesome…. the trumpet and guitar solo are highlights for me. As well as the strange backbeat. And yes, on a beautiful summer day like today, its nice to hear an ode to the season.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 2:16 PM
Thanks admiral! I’m enjoying your poolside mix right now as a matter of fact. Very nicely done bro!

and thanks very much for your kind words. I hope you have a great summer!
urmymuse
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 1:36 PM
I can feel the hard grind of life in the music and hope and joy in the voice.very excellent.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 2:25 PM
Life is a struggle for sure—and there is always hope throughout—though sometimes it seems invisible.

ccMixter is a place where I find the culture of music regenerating, and that gives me tremendous hope. Thanks to mixters like yourself, a new art is being formed!

I’m glad you like treading water. Keep on colaborating and having fun!
onlymeith
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 3:30 PM
First of all, thanks for the compliments on the presentation.
The remix is vigorous and effectively “crimsoniano”. Great guitar “of course” and excellent vocals. Congrats for an special mix.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Mon, Jun 21, 2010 @ 3:35 PM
It´s also remarkable the treatment “a lo Art of Noise” with the samples.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Tue, Jun 22, 2010 @ 11:58 AM
I look forward to a time when I can revisit your work and do another onlymeith remix—i see it in my head—a vast landscape in a dreamy world of sound. Thanks for the thumbs up, and so glad you liked the treatment and sound samples.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 22, 2010 @ 1:43 PM
Positively electrifying - what a great track! xxxx
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Wed, Jun 23, 2010 @ 9:19 AM
awww—thanks ciggi! there was a moment during the remix when i felt like i had been charged by a lightening bolt—love it when that happens!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 24, 2010 @ 2:54 PM
Magical merkaba music. Smokin’ rhythm and solo
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Thu, Jun 24, 2010 @ 8:59 PM
can I have some hot sauce with that?
Anomaly_Jonez
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 7, 2010 @ 11:01 PM
I really like the way you put arrangments together..it’s like a musical collage of rhythm, sounds contrasting order and chasos..such a funky vibe makes me think of a pool full of music notes and i just want to dive in and let them encircle me and take me their wonderland..thanks for the mental trip..great job.