Come Together Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "Randy (downtempo mix)"

Randy (downtempo mix)
by gurdonark
Recommends (6)
Fri, Apr 13, 2007 @ 9:11 PM

Samples are used in:

 
oldDog
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 14, 2007 @ 4:41 AM
Beautiful, as always, and moving.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Apr 14, 2007 @ 5:19 PM
Thank you very much. I found the poem compelling, and was glad to have an opportunity to add a backing.
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 14, 2007 @ 9:06 AM
very nice, peaceful!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Apr 14, 2007 @ 5:19 PM
Thanks, cdk. I like for it to sound peaceful.
tacet
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 14, 2007 @ 4:16 PM
There’s a tingle of excitement whenever I notice a new Gurdonark remix.

Always something different, always something compelling.

This is fabulous, the original poem, the accompanying music and the youtube video.

Thank you Gurdonark for sharing, this should have been ed picked in a heartbeat.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Apr 14, 2007 @ 5:21 PM
you are so very kind. I’m pleased that you listen and comment. People have been so kind to me here, and I appreciate it.

The original poem really spoke to me. Perhaps you could take my beginning and add an instrumental break in your style, to move this piece to the next generation.
 
.
permalink   tacet Sat, Apr 14, 2007 @ 5:42 PM
Honesty my friend, your music speaks volumes and deserves much much more attention.

As for me contributing, it’s already downloaded and queued. :)
teru
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 14, 2007 @ 5:02 PM
This is stunning. The instrumental is amazing. The poem, so powerful and the video just perfect. Thanks Gurdonark.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Apr 14, 2007 @ 5:22 PM
I never really appreciated chill sounding songs until I listened to the ones you and shockshadow did. Now I find myself straying over in that direction sometimes. Thanks for the kind words—an amazing poem, I think.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 14, 2007 @ 9:46 PM
Damn “G” this is very deep in many ways. Very well done, VERY WELL DONE.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Apr 15, 2007 @ 8:06 PM
Many thanks. You have such a great touch with song creation and production that I’m quite flattered by the praise.

I still want Jaysun to read one for me in a month or two here, but I hope to choose something other than heroin on the streets for that one :). There’s some things that a child’s voice can do so well, but perhaps not that.
deaddragoncarcass
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 15, 2007 @ 1:26 PM
this is a really good poem and the music complements it so well. its almost like the poem was written to the music and vice versa which is the hardest thing to pull off with this site. as much as im hoping for some serious drum beat to kick in in the middle of this with the tempo slow and lots of echo, its the only thing more i would ask for to bring just a notch of excitement
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Apr 15, 2007 @ 8:04 PM
Thank you for the review. I think your suggestion a good one, because the introduction of beats into the piece in the latter half was something I considered. I think of the piece as more a matter of downtempo electro-beats, similar to the Creative commons artists psonikadia or henri pettersen. But a serious drum sound might work, too. I toyed a bit with a cymbal loop, but ultimately decided to fall back on sleepless’ wonderful little cymbal crescendo and a much more minimal sound. Thanks for the ideas, though, and I appreciate your commenting.
Verian
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 24, 2007 @ 9:37 AM
This really is an excellent track and I very much like the direction your music has been heading in of late.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Apr 28, 2007 @ 3:41 PM
Thanks, Verian. It’s a different thing from the things I used to post on garageband and soundclick, for sure.

Speaking of which, “fields of endless grass” is in the review stage over at garageband.com, and it’s fun to read what people say.
MarcoRaaphorst
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 28, 2007 @ 8:30 AM
a superb piece of art.

I love the video too.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Apr 28, 2007 @ 3:40 PM
Thank you, Marco. I love doing videos that way. I am ready for you to do another classical-type song like “blowing snow” again, as my video of “blowing snow” now has several hundred views on youtube, and I need more similar hits to work with as I have video fun! :)