Ocean Dreams Music Event
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » New Growth » Reviews

Reviews for "New Growth"

New Growth
by gurdonark
Recommends (16)
Sun, Feb 27, 2022 @ 7:19 AM
 
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 27, 2022 @ 7:57 AM
Chill downtempo homage to Duckett. Very enjoyable listen.

Yes… a time of new growth is desperately needed…
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Mar 1, 2022 @ 6:06 AM
Thank you, Kara!
Calling Sister Midnight
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 27, 2022 @ 8:05 AM
Very chill. It absolutely sounded like its title. The color of spring green and the quickening heart of the mother.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Mar 1, 2022 @ 6:06 AM
I like those images. Thank you!
MalreDeszik
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 27, 2022 @ 8:48 AM
Goodmix
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Mar 1, 2022 @ 6:06 AM
Many thanks!
duckett
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 27, 2022 @ 9:03 AM
I was admittedly surprised when I realized the approach you’d taken (instead of the smaller manipulated snippets that is more your trademark), but it works very nicely.. still 100% gurdonark, just a different facet
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Mar 1, 2022 @ 6:08 AM
As you know, I often take sounds and transmogrify them into things more like what I can do. But this time I wanted to try a more conventional remix, with the samples intact but for some tempo and pitch-shifting. I was able to find lots of great stuff in your catalog with which to work. Thank you for listening!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 27, 2022 @ 12:41 PM
a train ride through different scenes in the countryside, looking through windows of history and pains of the present, with hope for the future. your combination of sound and song inspires New Growth in my heart.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Mar 1, 2022 @ 6:08 AM
Thank you, Emily!
Siobhan Dakay
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 27, 2022 @ 12:57 PM
Very interesting listen….
I made myself confortable with the ping pong percussion when all the sudden the track took a different direction.
I personally liked the first half better…maybe I need to do a re-listen and not settle in the bed of the first half of the track.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Mar 1, 2022 @ 6:10 AM
I think you may have a good point. If I had stuck with the first melodic section, and merely revised it to create a second and a third melodic section, this one may have been stronger. I am pleased with how it came out as is, but I think your suggestion may have made a stronger work.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 27, 2022 @ 1:45 PM
Thanks for taking me on this enjoyable ride.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Mar 1, 2022 @ 6:11 AM
Thank you for riding this particular train!
PorchCat
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 28, 2022 @ 4:50 AM
I love the strange montage or focus change element of this track. The image in my mind is somewhere in a strange valley between a documentary about greenery taken over turned earth, an inspirational video about collaboration, and this sort of “jazz wisdom” vibe. I entirely dig it. On a second listen because there’s parts I wanna listen closer to.

*meow*
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Mar 1, 2022 @ 6:11 AM
That’s a good visualizaton—the different sections could easily be different scenes illustrating a single concepts. Thank you!
Rewob
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 28, 2022 @ 6:02 AM
Loads of textures to fill the senses. Great movement throughout the piece. What a journey.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Mar 1, 2022 @ 6:12 AM
Thank you for journeying along with me!