Hidden Treasures Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "A Series of Smooth and Orderly Transitions"

A Series of Smooth and Orderl...
by gurdonark
Recommends (22)
Sun, Nov 18, 2018 @ 5:15 AM

Samples are used in:

 
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 18, 2018 @ 6:22 AM
+
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 8:57 PM
Thanks for giving me a listen and leaving a comment!
robwalkerpoet
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 18, 2018 @ 6:34 AM
There is always something beautiful - yet disquieting - about your work Gurdonark.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 8:58 PM
Thank you. I feel a kinship with the occupants of the island of misfit toys on the animated holiday special.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 18, 2018 @ 8:17 AM
Excellent work Gurdonark. I feel very flattered about your comments above. Thank you very much for telling us about Noiser, I find it very interesting. These days I have found a poem by robwalkerpoet in which I would like to work and I believe that your remix will be a great starting point. It has been an honor to be remixed by you.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:01 PM
I love the way your samples have a great scope—a symphonic flourish here, an incisive keyboard there, a vigorous, rhythmic mix over yonder. Thanks for making your samples available here at the mixter for others like me to use. I’ll look forward to your efforts in spoken word remix. Today I learned that one of my non-mixter songs accompanying a poem will be featured in a film in an Athens film festival, which makes the idea of poems set to music more fun than ever.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 18, 2018 @ 10:32 AM
These smooth and orderly transitions are a soundscape for our time. I think I will try reading all of the morning news with this song running on repeat. Thereby, art and beauty will be added to the chaos of our world.

Thank you for sharing about Noiser — I’d like to try using it. Your work has piqued my interest!

I really enjoy the varying chapters in your track — like stories on the front page. A wonderfully crafted musical piece Robert.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:02 PM
Thanks for your kind review!

I like Noiser because it never sounds the same twice when one continually resets it, and playing with it is almost like a listening experience all its own.
duckett
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 18, 2018 @ 1:55 PM
As always, there’s an intimate quality to your work; combined with the slower, more cinematic and orchestral aspects of Onlymeith you’ve embraced, this makes for a real treat. I hoped you enjoyed creating it as much as I did listening to it!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:04 PM
Thank you! I had great fun making this one. So many times I worry that I alter the source material so much as to make it unrecognizable, but here I could alter the material and yet it is unmistakeably a variation of the sample material from which I started.
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 18, 2018 @ 2:10 PM
So happy you described your process, Ive always been curious to the methods of your musical alchemy!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:05 PM
Sometimes I use a sequencer-and-sampler-and-mix-in more traditional method, but I find myself drawn lately, as at the beginning, to generative and sample altering software used more stand-alone and with an element of the random or generative.
mwic
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 18, 2018 @ 6:52 PM
I remember in 2006 I saw Inland Empire and for the longest time I was unable to sit through a “conventional” narrative film.

Between you, simonlittlefield, and speck, I’m starting to feel the same sort of way about music.

Enough walls. Break them down.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:06 PM
I love traditional music in a broad range of genres, but for some years the abstract and offbeat has appealed to me most.

I like to watch the bricks fly.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 19, 2018 @ 7:49 AM
Entirely gripping… and with enough chaos to keep us on the edge of our seats. Ha! If that isn’t a metaphor for the political atmosphere…
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:07 PM
Chaos may give rise to creative things, but it sure does feel a bit…chaotic sometimes. Thanks for your review!
simonlittlefield
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 19, 2018 @ 8:14 AM
This is the only good thing to come out of Brexit.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:08 PM
I wish there were no Brexit and that the word Brexit referred to a new biscuit with caramel, a bit of graham cracker, and cheap milk chocolate—a kind of Golf bar with a little caramel zip.
 
.
permalink   simonlittlefield Sat, Dec 1, 2018 @ 1:54 AM
And that would be infinitely better than any of the proposed ‘deals’.
Bluemillenium
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 19, 2018 @ 11:11 AM
Côté mélo dramatique toujours présent, l’espace sonore est très bien agencé, l’ambiance crée l’histoire, tout est là pour nous faire naître des émotions.

J’adore votre composition.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 8:57 PM
Je vous remercie pour vos aimables paroles. J’aime essayer de raconter des histoires avec une atmosphère
urmymuse
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 19, 2018 @ 11:13 AM
Lovely subtle track

They laughing in Parliament

I crying
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:09 PM
It’s a difficult time in so many places. I hope that all of us avoid tears in the long run.
Apoxode
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 19, 2018 @ 1:02 PM
620%!! Ay caramba! I like what you did with the reverb on the fast piano track … inspiring!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:10 PM
Thank you! The software I was using did a time stretech and morph better than any I could have done step-by-step in my DAW!
essesq
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 19, 2018 @ 4:29 PM
The boy with the toy piano and music box is all growed up! I love this! It is full of textures and moods. So evocative! I am getting a new computer in a little over a week. Once I am fully up and running my law practice on the new machine, I will be dropping you a note somewhere about this software if it will run on a Mac. It’s been ages but I’d like to do a little music again. You got a little lucky with Onlymeith, but you made something really special here.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:11 PM
I’m pretty sure it comes in a Mac version. Send me a note when you get up and running, and I’ll send you the link. I run the Windows version via WINE on Linux, so WINE on a Mac (or whatever they call it on a Mac) may also work.
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 19, 2018 @ 4:31 PM
My neurons are alight with this brain massage of sound textures combined here. Gurdonark is a style as well as a master mixter!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 30, 2018 @ 9:12 PM
Thanks for the kind review! I like to think of Gurdonark as not only a mixter and a style, but also a small valley somewhere in the great unknown Texas midwest.