Shifting Sun Playlist
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Dwarf Planet » Reviews

Reviews for "Dwarf Planet"

Dwarf Planet
by gurdonark
Recommends (19)
Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 5:32 AM
 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 5:40 AM
Lovely. I like that at the start it dials back your usual ambience a little - there’s a few hard piano hits, and the sax gets abruptly uprooted, and there’s that glockenspiel/harpsichord (?) sound later.

But there are still moments you do what you usually do - which is to get me seeing the Aurora Borealis in the sky.

I doubt anyone is living _on_ a dwarf planet (gravity won’t hold an atmosphere down, and the dynamo generating a solar wind protecting magnetosphere would be long gone), but it is entirely possible there’s life inside a dwarf planet, in the oceans heated by the core or gravitational interactions with its moons.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 6:39 AM
Good point on the dwarf planet atmosphere! Thanks for listening and reviewing.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 6:27 AM
Ahhh… you’ve created a beautiful moment… to get lost in spacey thought. Thanks for the head-space.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 6:40 AM
Thanks, Kara!
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 6:27 AM
Very nice selections of stems you made there. I like your interpretation of the Interstellar theme. BTW, at 2:33 the track seem to have skipped abruptly, unless that was intentional.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 6:39 AM
They were great samples. The “skip” into the extro was intentional, but it might be more fun to have done it in a more smooth way.
Quarkstar
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 7:25 AM
This is lovely and certainly illustrates your concept, a place alone and lit dimly from a distant sun.
Very nice use of the samples to create your vision.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Mar 12, 2018 @ 5:57 AM
I like that image. Thank you!
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 9:14 AM
Your remixes are always a great lesson. Maintain a style and a way of doing regardless of the material to be remixed. I love the end.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Mar 12, 2018 @ 5:58 AM
Sometimes I get very destructive with the samples, but this time I wanted to use them close to their original form, but fit them into my way of doing things. Thanks for listening, and for your kind words.
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 11:31 AM
The space between the sound…unnamed….distant…expanse for the imagination. Gurdonark…you are a master of these unknown territories.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Mar 12, 2018 @ 5:59 AM
Thank you—I appreciate you listening and commenting.
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 12:15 PM
Enjoyed the regular beat. Perfect backbone to the soaring pads and pensive piano, not so weirdbent. On repeat…
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Mar 12, 2018 @ 6:00 AM
The original samples had such a good set of instrumentation I just paced them a bit differently, edited them about a bit, and enjoyed hearing them out. Thanks for listening!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 12:52 PM
i’ve always been a fan of Pluto and felt it was unfairly removed from the inner circle LOL. this mix has a new sound based on what i’ve heard from you all of these years — more space, breath and vastness. i really love it. such patience to allow the sound to penetrate the heart and mind, with different chapters like a book of music. one could write a short film based on this piece. beautiful work Robert!!!!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Mar 12, 2018 @ 6:00 AM
I think that Pluto got a raw deal.
Here any virtues in the sound are the gift of the original samples—they were fun to use in this piece.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Mar 12, 2018 @ 9:34 AM
Poor Pluto. You’ll always be a planet to me!!! ;)
Vidian
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 2:54 PM
Very cool trip through different futuristic atmospheres. ^ ^
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Mar 12, 2018 @ 6:01 AM
Thanks! I wanted it to be a trip.
urmymuse
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 13, 2018 @ 1:50 PM
The thing about Pluto being demoted to “dwarf” status is interesting. At the time I too was afronted. Seemed like we had lost something, a whole planet infact.

But when we finally got there, or at least when the new horizons probe got there we found it to be an unexpected complex and amazing place.

Bit like your remix :
robwalkerpoet
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 14, 2018 @ 9:27 AM
Always so much space in your work, gurdonark…
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 24, 2018 @ 12:03 AM
Well done, G