Secret Mixter Tracks
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Relief » Reviews

Reviews for "Relief"

Relief
by gurdonark
Recommends (28)
Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 4:06 AM
 
Tenny
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 4:53 AM
I am digging this! Good ambient can be very difficult to produce as it can often get too cloudy and convoluted. This however avoids all of that and turned out awesome!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 2:32 PM
Thank you. Lately I like things with “less”, perhaps not quite minimal, but “less”. I’m glad this one did not seem too cloudy.
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 5:03 AM
a truly inspired & creative use of brilliant source material. i really (repeat 5 times) love this track.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 2:33 PM
Dokashiteru do such great music that any remix inevitably falls short. But I am grateful for your praise, and also pleased to show these great samples in a slightly different light.
timberman
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 5:09 AM
Agree with Panu, very inspired. And very beautiful.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 2:34 PM
Thank you! The inspiration was all in the samples, which are really nice.
Speck
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 5:39 AM
I like the space and the quiet pace. Nicely done.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 2:35 PM
Thanks! I wanted to leave lots of space.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 7:19 AM
Yes. Beautiful. I have been carried away on a cloud of embracing sound.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Wed, Mar 31, 2010 @ 3:53 PM
Quote: SackJo22Yes. Beautiful. I have been carried away on a cloud of embracing sound.

Again. As I revisit this track via Snowflake’s podcast.
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 11:01 AM
Mmm.

And also this: yes.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 2:36 PM
Thanks for the right two words.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 12:57 PM
ohm. i needed this. beautiful. soul stirring.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 2:37 PM
Thanks very much. It’s a joy to be able to remix Dokashiteru.
HEKTOR THILLET (coffeeeurope)
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 3:08 PM
Two words—Vanilla Sky.
essesq
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 8:43 PM
Ok so now along with my deep and burning desire to do clubby dance mixes I want to do some real serious ambient stuff. There isn’t enough of it here I don’t think (maybe I don’t listen enough.

A meditative oasis. I might have used a little more punctuation (e.g. the melodic element towards the end) to mark the time a little (parenthood has made me an impatient listener) but other than that a lovely production.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 6, 2009 @ 4:21 AM
Thank you for the review. I agree with you—this one could have used more “punctuation”. I had trouble finding the right “song” on this challenge, and I could imagine doing it a bit differently next time.
lo tag blanco
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 6, 2009 @ 5:46 PM
i fell into this one pretty quickly, but the disappearing guitar bugs me. but then again, not sure if it even belongs there. i can’t tell. damn you and your fancy modern music. i’ll be listening to this all night.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Nov 6, 2009 @ 7:08 PM
That guitar bugs me, too, but I keep thinking that I should have sliced it up more and built it into a fuller melody, somehow. That section started life as a long, chorused set of guitars playing all kinds of melody, mostly dissonant, but the whole thing seemed a bit too stereotypically “post-rock” to me, and an extra echo artifact kept cropping up in the looping. Then I said I wanted something more minimal, but there’s the problematic nature of the three little swigs of guitar.

I love about remix that one can listen and hear all the things one can change—and unlike live performance, one can then actually change those things!
 
.
permalink   lo tag blanco Fri, Nov 6, 2009 @ 8:01 PM
yeah that’s what i was thinking, if you just blew out the guitars it would sound like some post-rock thing, which would take away from the rest. stumper. that which does not fit, but fits. maybe that’s the way it should be after all.
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 5:40 AM
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 5:42 AM
Thank you! I’m clicking now!