COVID-19 & Us Universe Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Sawmill » Reviews

Reviews for "Sawmill"

Sawmill
by gurdonark
Recommends (25)
Sat, Oct 24, 2009 @ 1:13 PM
 
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 24, 2009 @ 1:28 PM
I could almost smell the sawdust and visualize the blade cutting through the cords — a wonderful representation of what that might sound like, and certainly much more beautiful than the actual sound of a saw cutting through wood.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 6:27 PM
The actual sound of a saw mill captivates in its own way—a high-pitched burr of blade, the whine of blade connecting, the sound of wood flying. The high frequencies are fascinating. Thanks for your kind review on this poetic license take on that experience.
Speck
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 24, 2009 @ 1:43 PM
It’s a chilly rainy fall day here but with the fire and this music it’s cozy inside.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 6:29 PM
I love the smell of wood burning in a fire place, and the smell of milled wood on a chill october days. I used to spend my winter school holidays planting trees, so that when I think of pine trees I think of warm hot chocolate in thermos bottles, and a winter coat and toboggan.
Raymond Martin
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 24, 2009 @ 2:22 PM
Pleasant effects. I see you have sampled my littlebit, just wondering what you did with it. I can’t here anything that sounds like the original to me. Hmm?
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Oct 24, 2009 @ 3:08 PM
I loved your guitar sample. I morphed it quite a bit. I ran it through a bitcrusher effect, so that it’s the reverberating effect that starts very early in the song and and continues throughout.

I’ll also upload an ogg vorbis
track on this one, in keeping with your ogg sample.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 24, 2009 @ 3:36 PM
Just Excellent. My type of tune. Experimental yet melodic. Great .
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 6:29 PM
Thank you! I like the melodic and yet offbeat as well.
Geert Veneklaas
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 24, 2009 @ 3:37 PM
I really hear wood and metal :) Nice one!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 6:30 PM
Thank you! If I had the skills you have, perhaps I’d write a chamber music piece about the milling of the wood, but with my more modest crayon box I must color in the sounds of the mill itself.
 
.
permalink   Geert Veneklaas Wed, Oct 28, 2009 @ 4:40 PM
Your crayon box is big enough in my opinion. As you well know, it’s not about the crayons, it’s about ideas and people who are able to translate them.
colab
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 24, 2009 @ 4:23 PM
I very much appreciate the combination of melody, rhythmic parts and the sort of drone-like sounds. The three together make this a complete musical track instead of an interesting ambient concept piece.

Very enjoyable.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 6:31 PM
Thank you. I worried, a bit, that this one is more a kind of field-recording-imagined construct, so i am pleased to see you write this review.
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 3:55 AM
Very fascinating. I don’t smell sawdust, though. For me, more a close-up on the secret life of insects in a summer pasture. Peacefulness with a certain activity in the vegetation. Very beautiful.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 6:32 PM
Your idea makes sense to me. I saw a lovely blue mud dauber today, and if I had done this mix a day later, perhaps it would be named for it:
http://farm3.static.flickr....
 
.
permalink   timberman Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 10:48 PM
Nice picture. I listened to this music again. It’s very inspiring.
AIR_LOMEG
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 2:26 PM
This is simply beautiful! I second St.Paul and add the soft reverberating sound of a tiny natural spring in the mountains of my youth. It’s a wonderful mind-settling piece, Gurdonark. B.K. with a warm hello from ‘moi’.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 6:34 PM
First of all, let me say how delightful it is to see you here with uploads. I must find a use for those great voices you uploaded.

if I have an ambition in my musical avocation, it is to remind everyone of the mountains of youth.

I hope you and moi are doing well, and that the weather is suitably Autumnal still!
 
.
permalink   AIR_LOMEG Sun, Oct 25, 2009 @ 6:55 PM
it is, Gurdonark, autumn still stills and we’re busy doing well, but everything’s fine. thank you for the warm welcome! thanks to your general avocation our late maturity is not yet verging on decline.