Sign up-Blue Hour Secret Mixter
skip

Reviews for "I Want You...Right Now (Winter Wakeneth mix)"

I Want You...Right Now (Winte...
by duckett
Recommends (15)
Thu, Jan 8, 2009 @ 9:58 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Subliminal
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 9, 2009 @ 10:10 AM
I don’t know what “meh” means (I guess I wasn’t paying attention when our english teacher was telling us the meaning of that word), but I’ll go for “love it”. I am not too sure about the drums (and especially the kick) though. For me it is a bit too present in the mix.
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Jan 9, 2009 @ 11:23 AM
I was wondering if the kick was a bit too present- my speakers are on the small side, so I sort of have to guess as to how things might sound on a good system; thanks for the feedback.
As for the meaning of “meh”? It’s the equivalent of a verbal shrug; as in “unimpressed”, “unmoved”, etc.
Therefore, your reaction to the drums would be close to “meh” ;-)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Jan 9, 2009 @ 11:55 AM
And there was I thinking that it had something to do with Blackadder. ;-) Anyway, the dutch translation would be “mwah”, which actually isn’t that far off. Anyway 2, I am listening on headphones, so that could explain the presence of the kick. Apart from that, it’s just my opinion, so I doubt if that should count for too much (especially when there is no one confirming it…he he). And don’t let that little remark distract from the fact that overall I love it.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 9, 2009 @ 10:14 AM
Interesting Mix. Nicely done. Love the intro.
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Jan 9, 2009 @ 11:25 AM
Thanks J- you know me, always trying different things ;-)
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 9, 2009 @ 1:23 PM
I have no issue with the kick drum. Its prominent yes, but I interpret it as a major driver of the pace and rhythm (a constant of sorts as the ambience of the music changes and washes around it. Almost as if its the heart beat of the track).

Nice Duckett… Nice
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Jan 9, 2009 @ 2:31 PM
Thanks scott- glad you liked; that was the intent, to have the beat be the anchor of the thing :-)
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 11, 2009 @ 8:03 PM
I think you’ve stepped up your game in 2009. I think both the idea and the production is bang on.

I’m less enamoured by the Enigma-style Gregorian monks, but that’s a taste thing. The early 90s were tough on me. :)

Nice work though. Glad you decided to upload.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Jan 11, 2009 @ 10:01 PM
Heh- I’m actually surprised that the whole “Enigma”-comparison didn’t get mentioned before your review (I actually was never an enormous fan myself)… it’s actually one guy, John Fleagle (RIP). I’d sampled the same track on a Boddyker remix previously, and was very surprised that it fit both time and key without any alteration on this one, after idly dropping it in to see what it sounded like. Anyway, thanks for the encouragement :-)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 10:57 AM
i’m still catching up with this week’s mixes so i’m kind of late on this, but man, this is very cool! really enjoyed the blend and the mood you set here.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 11:24 AM
Thanks man- the remixes doth fly thick and fast, do they not?
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 11:07 AM
For a minute i thought i was on the Realworld site with one of their 16th Century Electro World Music offerings designed to be played when the solstice equinox blady blah, sacrifices of old farmers shoes to the god of real estate and the shopping channels happens around this time in the countryside of Bath.

Its bright i will say that. :-)
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 11:22 AM
“He that made this songe full good,
Came of the north and of sothern blode,
And some-what kyne to Robyn Hode,
Yit all we be nat soo.”

…but not really ;-)
 
.
permalink   essesq Fri, Jan 16, 2009 @ 6:41 PM
Oh man, you are really making me want to upload a Chaucer reading…and as for the comment above .. we don’t need references to the old country … we found somewhere new so let’s just look ahead …besides Duckett’s catalogue is way more interesting than anything ever offered for remixing over there .. I don’t think the comparison is fair at all :-).
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sat, Jan 17, 2009 @ 5:08 AM
Net Nanny :-)
wellman
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 16, 2009 @ 9:29 AM
I was out of my chair when this mix started to play, and I was attracted again to sat down on my chair to hear this a couple of time…. This is a very well done job!!

Congrats!

P.S.: Thanks to Mc Jack for putting this in is weekly show.
essesq
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 16, 2009 @ 6:44 PM
I like this a lot. It’s a nice blend of elements, not quite the sextravaganza I expected ;-).

I liked everything about it. A very pleasant listen and creative combination.
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Jan 16, 2009 @ 7:11 PM
Yeah… I like to keep the sextravaganzas reserved for special occasions ;-)
This is more an exercise in mood, where the listener’s lost in their own personal ozone…