Rise from the Ashes Event
skip
Home » People » duckett » A Deep Sigh » Reviews

Reviews for "A Deep Sigh"

A Deep Sigh
by duckett
Recommends (11)
Mon, Mar 31, 2008 @ 1:08 PM
 
shimoda
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 31, 2008 @ 5:59 PM
Well duckett, I haven’t heard this pella before, so this is pretty cool to me. I like the generally dreamy atmosphere, it feels kinda like a deep sea dive through a ten gallon aquarium ten miles long.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Mar 31, 2008 @ 7:25 PM
Thanks! Many of the other remixes I’ve heard go with a mellow approach; I think that the voice, imagery, and pacing just invite a slower, dreamy sort of feel.
s.c.mixer
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 31, 2008 @ 6:52 PM
Terrific mashup! I like it.
Wish I had time to browse through all used samples, just to see how did you build this.
If you just had used another acappella… :P
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Mar 31, 2008 @ 7:31 PM
Thanks! Well, the sample list isn’t going anywhere, peruse it at your leisure ;-)
I actually started with the pella first, found a BPM for it that seemed to sit well, then went hunting for little-used samples that were in a generally close BPM and pitch neighborhood.
Quantum Theor(y)
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 1, 2008 @ 12:03 AM
Great mix. Everything placed well, fitting in it’s own space. Glad my samples were a part of it! Thanks for making this great track.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Apr 1, 2008 @ 12:17 AM
Thanks! That was a nice piano sample, you’ve given the site some great stuff to remix; glad you liked the track :-)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 1, 2008 @ 10:39 AM
Spoken lyrics always attracted me a lot. I didn_t had a look on all listed samples, so I can_t say what is probably your own part, despite of mixing all these samples. However, you did a good job here putting all these puzzles together on a smart tune.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Apr 1, 2008 @ 11:00 AM
Thanks! Honestly, I didn’t add a thing of my own- I just used what I found, and tried to shift mood/texture according to the words without being too jarring.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Apr 1, 2008 @ 11:05 AM
Remixing is a sort of professional cooking(especially using only samples from others) and I think now, you put all these ingredients together in a big pot and served a good meal! ;-)
radiotimes
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 1, 2008 @ 7:50 PM
Yes this bit of musical cookery certainly deserves a few Mitchelin stars!

Great stuff!!
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Apr 1, 2008 @ 7:58 PM
Thanks! You’ve inspired me to be brave enough to submit a pella that’s not spoken-word for a change- nothing wonderful, but it’s there ;-)
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 2, 2008 @ 4:58 AM
Very nice. Very original approach.
..and no effect (reverb..;-), on the voice..
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Apr 2, 2008 @ 8:23 AM
Thanks! Hmmm… c’est vrai- not a drop of reverb or delay to be found on the vox ;-)
AT
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 6:30 PM
Wow Duckett, I wish I had the patience to put all those samples together, very well put together they were to.
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 9:56 PM
Thanks! Since the vox shifts mental scenery often, I tried to make a backdrop that shifted, too.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 6, 2008 @ 10:05 AM
I wish had the time, patients, and skill to do something like this. Very Impressive.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Apr 6, 2008 @ 1:48 PM
Thanks- but I could say the same about many of your remixes! ;-)
DJ SID-the Apocalypze
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 20, 2008 @ 9:18 AM
Very Cool Work!!!
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Apr 20, 2008 @ 1:36 PM
Thanks, glad you like it!