Beauty of Perspective Event
skip
Home » People » boomaga » Smoke & Lights » Reviews

Reviews for "Smoke

Smoke & Lights
by boomaga
Recommends (14)
Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:50 AM

Uses samples from:

 
rewired
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 7:05 AM
10 points for the cheesy 8bit sound. Reminds me of the old C64/Amiga-Times. Cool!
Calling Sister Midnight
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 7:09 AM
Takes me back to 15 minutes before closing time in a dance hall in the Pacific Northwest, all of us wearing doomstruck, and basic basic black.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 7:25 AM
OK, just so you know where I’m at: Supermario is racing Luigi to rescue Princess Peach in my head right now. Either that, or I’m Crash Bandicoot. :)
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 7:37 AM
yea baby! you’ve made me dance before 8a (that is a rarity indeed). added it to my hot house playlist. thank you for such a great mix!!
Lars J. Brouwer
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 7:50 AM
To me it just isn’t really there on production as well the content itself. Not really 8-bit nor dance, so I’m a bit stuck in between.
 
.
permalink   Lars J. Brouwer Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 11:51 PM
Quote: Lars J. BrouwerTo me it just isn’t really there on production as well the content itself. Not really 8-bit nor dance, so I’m a bit stuck in between.

Your first reaction that you’ve edited was different though, and shall I say, much more explicit. Just to be honest: isn’t a review about expressing your opinion?
 
.
permalink   boomaga Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 12:43 AM
Yes, the one that said, quote, “get f*cked,” which I deleted because I was immediately embarrassed. My apologies, and of course, the “Honored to be your one negative out of nine reviews” with which I replaced it was not bit more mature, only snide and snarky, another form of f*ck you. In fact, your honesty means a lot to me, as I tend not to believe or internalize blanket praise. I would prefer to know what it’s not “doing for you,” as this was my first track I’ve ever attempted of this style and I’m only catching up to more recent styles. If it’s the timbres, the builds, the rhythm, etc. that you feel could’ve been better, any feedback would be appreciated. Again, my apologies for getting stung and responding childishly, when I have not even thanked all those who have left positive comments.
 
.
permalink   colab Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 11:56 AM
For what it’s worth - I think your explanation was quite good. I’ve had that same immediate impulse many times to reply with something, umm, less thought through - so I get where you’re coming from. :)

That said, I actually like this track. Not because it falls into any particular category but because it’s hell of a fun re-interpretation of the source materials.

Also like the production and mixing. Nice work.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 4:42 PM
I appreciate what you’ve said here. Given this is your first attempt at this “style” of music (which I am not really equipped to comment on critcally), I must say I am quite impressed. Here’s to continued artistic growth!
gurdonark
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 4:48 AM
Old time chiptune meets early house in the place where dubstep is on the welcome mat. Creative use of the underlying sample to achieve something very chiptastic. I think perhaps it would be even more fun with something like a break in the middle with yet another melody, but that’s just a personal choice notion.
djolliej
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 15, 2010 @ 9:07 AM
I really like what you did with with my song. I feel like I should be at a club when I listen to this. The track is always moving and changing and the synths you use are insane. I really like the last 2 minutes. Nice work!