inTENtions Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "Fear Nothing (Relaxation Mix)"

Martijn de Boer (NiGiD)
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 19, 2015 @ 4:31 PM
Exotic coolness
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, Feb 19, 2015 @ 8:35 PM
Thanks bud : )
Snowflake
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 19, 2015 @ 7:53 PM
All of my fears have diminished. All that is left is a peaceful euphoric now. Thank you for this beautiful production. You are a magic-worker.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Feb 19, 2015 @ 7:55 PM
We need an entire album of mixes like this….
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, Feb 19, 2015 @ 8:38 PM
I have an idea for an album. I’m gonna try some stuff this weekend and see how it turns out.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 19, 2015 @ 8:28 PM
sublime. snowflake said it — you are a magic worker. I can’t wait to go to bed tonight. I’m planning on listening again. beautiful, beautiful work Jeris.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, Feb 19, 2015 @ 8:41 PM
Haven’t gotten to the interesting ones yet…like lucid dreaming sequences : )
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 20, 2015 @ 4:07 AM
Wow. But the calmest wow imaginable.

Ya know… as I listen to more and more of this ‘healing’ music I’m having some interesting self-reflective thoughts. Mainly, why does most of it make me feel sadness? (Albeit a calm sadness.) Or nothing at all. Is that the desired effect? Is it supposed to be a strictly physical vibrational healing thing and I shouldn’t involve my thoughts or emotions? I have no major physical ailments to heal, so, maybe it’s just not meant for me? It’s very difficult for me to separate music from thought and emotion, for that I prefer silence and nature. Or is it because sadness is my personal default setting? Or is it connected to a universal sadness? When I listen to a really swingin’ piece of jazz, for instance, I feel euphoric, energized and completely stress-free. Isn’t that more healing?
 
.
permalink   Jeris Fri, Feb 20, 2015 @ 5:13 AM
That’s not surprising at all. I wasn’t quite happy with my two mixes so far because they are still too “musical”…too melodic. My intention was to have the listener not actively listen. For this purpose, I think the waves with just long sustained sounds, or white noise, drone type sounds would work better. Nature sounds like rain or ocean waves on top of the binaural pulses is what works for me. I still have insomnia though because I just don’t want to stop thinking at night and I choose to listen to podcasts instead of brainwave stuff…lol. Although, sometimes I’ll turn the volume way down and the people talking will become a form of white noise…inducing a relaxation response.

As far as music therapy though, I’d be willing to bet that the majority of audio content used to help people work through things is musical and melodic….not drones.

Another example, I used to listen to Mozart when I was in school. It really woke me up and helped me retain a lot of information. I might experiment with classical music and alpha, beta, and gamma waves. I prefer the musical compositions of Bach or Rachmaninoff over Mozart though, and these make me emotional, whereas listening to Mozart isn’t so much an active, thinking, emotional process. I can listen to it…on auto pilot.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Fri, Feb 20, 2015 @ 6:09 AM
I remember I was sitting at the piano one time and my mother came to me with tears in her eyes and said “please don’t play that, it makes me so sad”…I think therapists sometimes will try to use music to deliberately bring people to states of sadness, anxiety, fear, etc…and then try to help them face it and work through it.

I think I’m similar to you with the jazz, even though it’s melodic it’s sometimes random and chaotic, especially more freeform jazz and fusion stuff. That becomes like white noise to me too and induces a relaxation response.
I used to study to jazz or dance music too. Nothing with vocals because I would listen and pay attention to the lyrics. With jazz and dance, like classical…it was passive listening for me. I’m definitely going to try alpha, beta, and gamma waves with jazz music too.

I think the first thing I’m going to do though is add nature sounds to the waves to help people with insomnia.

Going back to that comment about lucid dreaming…that is fun, I sometimes take nootropics too (brain vitamins) to help induce lucid dreaming. But, you don’t ever fall in deep sleep to lucid dream. Your body is asleep and your mind is awake. I think this isn’t so good every day. The body and the mind need deep sleep, recovery, and healing.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Fri, Feb 20, 2015 @ 6:16 AM
I’ll try to get around to making beta and gamma waves tonight and you can start helping me mix it with jazz if you want :) this one is a good candidate

“Gamma (above 40Hz) – The Insight Wave

This range is the most recently discovered and is the fastest frequency at above 40Hz. While little is known about this state of mind, initial research shows Gamma waves are associated with bursts of insight and high-level information processing.”
 
.
permalink   Anchor Fri, Feb 20, 2015 @ 10:46 AM
what Speck said………..


Quote: SpeckWow. But the calmest wow imaginable.

Ya know… as I listen to more and more of this ‘healing’ music I’m having some interesting self-reflective thoughts. Mainly, why does most of it make me feel sadness? (Albeit a calm sadness.) Or nothing at all. Is that the desired effect? Is it supposed to be a strictly physical vibrational healing thing and I shouldn’t involve my thoughts or emotions? I have no major physical ailments to heal, so, maybe it’s just not meant for me? It’s very difficult for me to separate music from thought and emotion, for that I prefer silence and nature. Or is it because sadness is my personal default setting? Or is it connected to a universal sadness? When I listen to a really swingin’ piece of jazz, for instance, I feel euphoric, energized and completely stress-free. Isn’t that more healing?
 
.
permalink   GeeArtriasRose Fri, Feb 20, 2015 @ 11:24 AM
Just my opinion that much of healing involves the release of sadness, I know it does for me anyway, memories and energies stored in the cells, etc. I also notice that my own toning often sounds sad to me, sometimes I wish it were more uplifting, but such is the way it comes out and I trust that’s what I need in that moment anyway.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Fri, Feb 20, 2015 @ 12:15 PM
 
.
permalink   Speck Sat, Feb 21, 2015 @ 1:16 AM
“…much of healing involves the release of sadness…”

And I’m not saying this just to be argumentative, I’m genuinely interested/fascinated, but… I hear that from my partner all the time. She subjects herself to multiple types of ‘alternative’ healing and the immediate (and often lasting) aftereffect is always something that’s not much fun to be around. This has been going on for something like thirty years. Obviously the well of sadness is endless. I don’t really believe anything is being “released” at all. I believe it’s negative energy being brought to the fore, that our well-being would be better served by not giving those cellular memories and energies center stage but by creating new, positive energies which will naturally displace the old negative ones by reinforcing the connection to the ‘universal love’ that we all lost upon being born into a physical being.

Yoda out ;)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Feb 21, 2015 @ 7:45 AM
Whoa. This entire thread is incredible. Amazing to contemplate while listening to Jeris’ mix. I usually go the “release of sadness” route in personal healing, but whew… true words, Yoda… er… umm… Speck. :)
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Feb 21, 2015 @ 7:57 AM
Yeah I hear you. I remember I came across this video one time where these people (apparently it’s a common issue) have to get out of their cars every few blocks and do a walk around because they think they ran over somebody. This therapist decided his treatment would be to have them run over some fake bodies…haha. I was like how can that possibly help? But then you have those people with fears of dogs, dogs with fears of pineapples ….and sometimes when you force them to confront it they can work through it and move on.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Feb 21, 2015 @ 8:02 AM
I think there’s a lot of truth to what you said about cellular memories too. Memories are a sort of probabilistic field. Traces of memories are stored as biophysical and biochemical changes in the brain and neural tissue in response to external stimuli in pathways called engrams. It’s actually a lot like burning music onto a cd. When the stimuli is repeated over and over, the engram trace becomes deeper and the probability of cascades of neurons firing a certain way becomes greater. (creating new, positive energies…as you said) Or, maybe it’s a lot like a scratch on a CD…where if the scratch gets bad enough in a certain area…the chance of it skipping becomes greater. I guess in a few years nobody under a certain age will even get the CD reference anymore…haha. Anyway, It’s still very poorly understood and it’s a lot like trying to understand how a sequence of dominoes fell when they were caused by other falling dominoes…and the falling dominoes cause others to get back up and fall again causing yet another sequence of falling dominoes. The mind and what we call memories and emotions in all likelihood aren’t even localized completely in the body and brain …(Music on the cloud…lol)
I think the body, the mind, emotions, memories…are an almost infinitely complex and incomprehensible matrix of proteins, and chemicals, and neuropeptides, hormones, minerals, etc. What I find really fascinating is that all of that is energy and matter…and sound/vibration does create and shape matter. You can actually use sound for spinal adjustments, exploding kidney stones, sound has been used to treat all kinds of things. I was telling Sackjo yesterday how I heard about sound being used to treat a stuttering speech impediment. Apparently, if you create a slight delay of sound from one ear to the other…that really helps some people and they don’t stutter any more. They think it’s because some people are born with a dominant brain hemisphere on the “wrong side” and this crosswiring causes a delay in processing when they hear their own voice. By delaying the sound input on the other side it balances it out somehow.
GeeArtriasRose
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 20, 2015 @ 11:26 AM
Incredible work, Jeris, a wonderful mix indeed!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Fri, Feb 20, 2015 @ 12:13 PM
Thanks, I’m sure I’ll be using these same samples again. This was still just an experiment. So much work to do! I heard some of the spoken word samples you uploaded and almost threw them in the mix too but I think I’ll make new tracks specifically for them when I get a chance.
So much good content available…already!

I decided to measure my heart rate after listening to this and it was way low…lol
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 21, 2015 @ 7:45 AM
Beautiful. Magical. I like this so much.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Feb 21, 2015 @ 8:10 AM
Thanks, Kara!
Anchor
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 22, 2015 @ 6:38 AM
You did a fabulous job with this Jeris - a clear and excellent mix - and one that achieves it’s end. Thanks for using my chant vox.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Feb 22, 2015 @ 8:40 PM
Thanks! You started this whole thing with your chant. I previewed the bells on top of that and that was it : )
latopa
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 4, 2015 @ 12:11 PM
X deep and honest