Pollinators Secret Mixter Signups
skip
Home » People » Jeris » Swanker Dub » Reviews

Reviews for "Swanker Dub"

Swanker Dub
by Jeris
Recommends (27)
Wed, May 11, 2011 @ 11:02 PM

Uses samples from:

 
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 1:42 AM
Nice reggae grove for a great pella.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 6:50 PM
Thanks, yea that pella was stuck in my head for a while.
Zep Hurme
.
permalink   Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 4:06 AM
Very cool remix. The rhythm of drums and bass are straight, but the bubble organ has swing. It creates odd authenticity to the mix. It’s weird, but it works very well. ;)
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 6:54 PM
Cool, I guess because the drums and bass were done a while ago and I recently added a bunch of other tracks, I wonder if the old ones were quantized or something.
Speck
.
permalink   Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 4:13 AM
Another very cool reggae track. Good way to start my day.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 6:56 PM
Always nice to start the day with a review from Speck too : ) I’m just now able to comment back though, long busy day. Thanks
J.Lang
.
permalink   Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 8:28 AM
You do some really nice work. This is a tight mix my man.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 6:56 PM
Hey thanks!
TST
.
permalink   Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 4:51 PM
killer! :)
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 6:57 PM
Thanks, glad you like it, I like your review of Loveshadow too…Lennox and Morcheeba, got my attention
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 4:58 PM
So where’s the BT :-)
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 6:59 PM
haha, I’m waitin for it too : )
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 7:40 PM
A really good blend of reggae and hip hop sounds, which is a good treatment for the vocals.

Since the vocals don’t have that reggae cadence, the hip hop accents kind of musically “explain” that.

Really good stuff!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 8:17 PM
haha..that’s so funny. I think that thought actually crossed my mind at some point. Like… this doesn’t work, what are you thinking….I think it works…splain yourself : )
ScOmBer
.
permalink   Thu, May 12, 2011 @ 9:49 PM
Keep it up mun!


 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, May 14, 2011 @ 2:23 PM
Hey Scomber, thanks! You’ve chosen the most stable structure of thumbs up. It has a low center of gravity and cannot tip easily. If you put pressure on any thumb it will only increase the tensile strength : )
Hans Atom
.
permalink   Sat, May 14, 2011 @ 12:09 PM
How do you get your sound so natural???!? Sounds like a perfect live recording! Help me understand that! Great remix!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, May 14, 2011 @ 2:29 PM
Hey thank you for the compliment! A lot of this is live recording. I use Ableton Live and I try not to warp or quantize too much, actually I try not to sequence either. A lot of the drums usually are though which is what made this track so odd, the drums did not groove or swing enough, especially when there are so many other tracks that were just played without any groove or quantize at all.

Also helps that I use a lot of analog and vintage stuff. Best way to keep it real is to keep it real…lol

I like to mix it up though, analog and digital; some things you get from one that you can’t from the other.
 
.
permalink   Hans Atom Sun, May 15, 2011 @ 2:13 AM
You´re welcome, Jeris. And thanks very much for explaining in detail. Didn´t know that it was possible!!! I have a lot of respect for that, makes it even much more trickier and difficult!
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Sun, May 15, 2011 @ 5:27 AM
Well what can I add that hasn’t been said yet?? Great mix and some great beats that suit my mood and my smokes ;)

Really dig the fx you used
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, May 15, 2011 @ 3:31 PM
Thanks!!
Zapac
.
permalink   Sun, May 15, 2011 @ 9:15 AM
I’m late, sorry! …but never too late to say, Bravo Jeris!!!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, May 15, 2011 @ 3:32 PM
Hey thanks Zap!
copperhead
.
permalink   Mon, May 16, 2011 @ 6:48 PM
You need to move to Jamaica lol! Smokin’ reggae !
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, May 16, 2011 @ 6:51 PM
Lol..don’t give me any ideas!
Ezra Skull
.
permalink   Sun, May 22, 2011 @ 2:00 AM
Yes! Dig it.
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Fri, May 27, 2011 @ 12:14 PM
Coolest one I’ve heard all day!!! Brilliant!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Fri, May 27, 2011 @ 1:02 PM
Thanks Steve : )