Perfect Harmony Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "In an oriental mood"

In an oriental mood
by TheJoe
Recommends (20)
Fri, Aug 28, 2009 @ 11:54 AM
 
spinmeister
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 28, 2009 @ 12:45 PM
How nice to hear a little new music from you! Beautiful and lush arrangement and production. I’d love to hear that in 16 channel surround sound in a big movie theater! :-)
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Aug 31, 2009 @ 6:15 AM
Thanks Spin!

Indeed, it_s a little new music. I doubt if it_s enough for 16 channel surround sound, but I am glad that you could enjoy it even on a simple stereo rack ;-)!

cheers!
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 28, 2009 @ 1:33 PM
Peaceful and quietly lush. Makes it easy to listen and very satisfying. Nicely done.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Aug 31, 2009 @ 6:18 AM
Thank you Speck!

I was wondering a bit about your nick name here, because in my language it means “jam”.

I am a bit puzzled, that I haven_t reviewed your remixes as I had a first short listen to a few. I am going to write something the next day.

Thanks again!
colab
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 29, 2009 @ 6:33 PM
Very nice. I like this interpretation very, very much - very cool, very laid back.

And I also am glad to see you around these parts again! :)
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Aug 31, 2009 @ 6:20 AM
Thanks you colab!

It was meant as a laid back version, so glad you like it.

Yes I am around and hopefully this week I am going to work on another project that waits for some further development ….;-)
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 30, 2009 @ 1:03 AM
I was thinking that i did not like the boinky plucky synths over the soft pads at the start and then you dropped them for the rest of the piece so a good compromise.

I Like it.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Aug 31, 2009 @ 6:24 AM
Thanks LS!

I had this plucky synth in a first version only for the firt bars and then I extended it. So I know what you mean and your thoughts make me think about to stay on a first idea and not to overwhelm it, just to fill a few bars more with something… .

In this sense: thanks for this review and thoughtful words.

Cheers!
Anchor
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 30, 2009 @ 9:05 AM
J-
I was away this weekend and this is the first time I see this nice surprise.
Its always a pleasure to hear your arrangements of my vocals. This one really captures the whole dream-like aspects of the song’s mood. The absence of percussion is totally innovative…..
Thanks!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Aug 31, 2009 @ 6:27 AM
Anchor!

I was away the weekend too, and so no problem.

I wish I had more time to remix more of your offers, as you have a unique style and I always dig your lyrics.

The next remix for you might be a more “orchestrated” one!

Thanks for the review and till soon!
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 31, 2009 @ 8:18 AM
I really love that. You bring to the voice of Anchor, a more dramatic atmosphere. His voice is floating in a sound space. Really great moment, and very surprising from you..!!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Sep 7, 2009 @ 2:39 PM
Thanks ditto ditto!

I am happy to could have surprised you another time! :-)

cheers
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 2, 2009 @ 2:06 PM
How on earth did I miss this?! It’s absolutely and totally gorgeous. And Anchor sounds wonderful. One of my favourite mixes ever. xx
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Sep 7, 2009 @ 2:41 PM
Thansk a lot Ciggi!

When I was looking for another remix for Anchor I detected this pella and thought immediately that he put a lot of feeling in it and so it was not too difficult to find something to accompaign him.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 4, 2009 @ 9:54 AM
Oh! What a fantastic patient journey unhurried and absolutely lovely — there are certain melodic phrases and sounds that just take my breath away with their beauty.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Sep 7, 2009 @ 2:45 PM
….and thank you very much Miss SackJo22!

I listened to Anchor_s vocals and then pressed the keys in the hope to find the right ones.
Glad that you like it as I loved to play with the pad sound.
Niemandsland
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 9, 2009 @ 11:08 AM
fantastisch - die Stimme ist sehr sensibel eingewoben in diese stimmungsvolle Soundlandschaft.. Respekt — herzlich J├╝rgen
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Nov 10, 2009 @ 10:02 AM
Thanks also for this review Juergen.

When I was playing some chords listening to the vocals of Anchor, I found it might be enough just to have a simple arrangment to accompaign Anchor. I am still content with this decision.

Thanks again!
HaveMercy
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 29, 2009 @ 12:55 AM
Funny contrast, sounded like the vocal was recorded around the 1940’s (because of the way he sings probably) and then embedded in some sort of jazzrock-ish synthpad background. As i said, funny combination but it works.
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 15, 2011 @ 3:18 PM
What More can I Say? great work